We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Preston Hotel March 2013”
Review of Hotel Preston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Preston
Ranked #71 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Marshall, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Preston Hotel March 2013”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel's location is great for travelers using the Interstate. Staff was very friendly and check in was very quick and without incident. Room was spaious, and beds were fantastic for a very good nights sleep. Door to the rooms were noisy, but did not interfere with a good night of rest. Hotel is about 5 miles to Opry Mills and the Grand Olde Opry and is very handy for the Nashville Airport. A small gas station next to the hotel had the cheapest gas around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Br0914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    703
    531
    304
    205
See reviews for
546
680
169
570
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Got it priceline for a decent price. The location is very convenient to the airport, which also makes it a convenient drive to both downtown and the opryland area.The hotel has convemnient store within walking distance but not much more. I got there about an hour before check-in and when i asked if i could check in early, the staff member (who was a trainee) said sure but then said there were no rooms available since he couldn't move me off the floor i was on since i got it on priceline. Never heard that before but guess they keep some of the cheap floors and room for priceline.

Once I was able to check-in, the room was ok. It was decent size, though it looked sparse. Had the standard desk, chair, beds and tv with no other amenities. There was plenty of room for a small fridge but this room didnt have one. With the ice machine broken on the floor i stayed on it would have really come in handy.

On the first night at about 3AM the smoke detector started to chirp (due to low batteries). I give maintenance credit for fixing it quickly but it was still a major annoyance and shouldnt have happened.

The second evening i called for housekeeping due to the inordinate number of dead lady bugs under the chair. I must have used up all of my service calls in the first night since they never cleaned it that day of the next.

The beds were ok. Nothing great but i have had worse in hotels.

The gym is ridiculously small. 1 treadmill, 1 elliptical, a recumbent bike and universal. I had to move the bike from against the wall to use it. Then move it back when i wanted to lift. If someone came in to ride the bike while i was doing the universal it wouldnt be possible to do both at same time.

The walls were pretty thin. I must have been over the bar as i heard the live acts each night. Also heard many conversations in the hall way.

The boutique aspect of the hotel was strange. It wasn't artistic, visual appealing or functional. Just made the place seem dated and kind of dirty.

For the price, it was worth it but definitely not 3.5 star quality. I would have guessed 2.5 stars based on the lack of amenities, maintenance issues and clientele. If you get it on priceline for cheap it isn't bad, but it probably wont meet your expectations based on their pictures on the website.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Yes, the Preston is old and rundown in spots. But when you get the Priceline deal and pay next to nothing, I think it is a very good option. Rundown, but VERY clean. The staff at front desk were helpful and friendly. The beds were comfortable. Kids loved the lava lamp, pillow menu and beta fish. Hotel is very convenient to Opryland and downtown. Would I stay again - yes if I could get the Priceline deal. Unbelievably cheap for a clean, decent room!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippinKYfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
368 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Sorry to be mean, but the person that wrote the "lipstick on a pig" review is right on target.

This place is a half-A attempt to turn a very old hotel into a boutique establishment. First of all, everything was done piecemeal. Cheap, cosmetic cover-ups on a hotel that is obviously worn out and very old, and it wasn't even completely done.

Let's start with the garish, dark hallways that look like they haven't been touched since the 1970's. Going to the rooms, the door had millions of scratch marks on it. Walls in the room were scratched and dirty. Original old furniture and drapes were mixed with modern decor. The carpet is possibly new. but very hideous and garish. The bed had an old, dirty mattress that had holes in it. The bathroom looks like it was done except it had its original ceramic bath tile and was missing a piece of wallpaper. Also, I found a ceiling tile with insulation in the bathtub, stopping it up. It was soaked with water, and I found myself late into the night pulling it out of the tub and getting water all over the place.

The other guests were a little on the slummy looking side too. Definitely not indicative of an upscale establishment.

Odd place for a boutique hotel right on the edge of the airport area and a lower middle class residential area instead of in-town or downtown. However, downtown wasn't far, and the hotel is very convenient to the expressway.

Got a cheap Priceline bid. They said this was a 3.5 star establishment. I whole-heartedly disagree. Even in good shape, it might be a 3-star, but I give it 2.5 based on the condition of the hotel. I would have rather spent more and stayed in a nicer place, so I'm a bit upset. Word of advice: Don't bid on a 3.5 star in the airport area on Priceline because it will likely be this hotel.

Was told at checkout that the hotel was ordering new furniture for the rooms. Still, I'm not sure I would take that chance and stay here again.

Room Tip: Just avoid the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoCleverCreation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Preston09, General Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Fedacct,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at the Hotel Preston. We will continue to work on improving our property for everyone.

Thanks, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hixson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
156 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I checked in on Tuesday March 26th for an overnight stay. We were both pleasantly surprised for the moment we stepped into the lobby.The young lady at the counter during our check in was extremely helpful. She asked if we had ever stayed at the Preston and advised us that if we needed anything to just contact her at the front desk.The room was nice, the bed was comfortable.The walls were thin but all in all we loved our stay here.One feature that we loved was the pillow menu. This is not something that you see everyday.There was plenty of free parking available. We travel to Nashville often and we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Give this hotel a try, you won't be dissapointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laboaks53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The staff was wonderful. They went above and beyond. If we asked a casual question about a tourist attraction, they'd find us a map or a discount coupon. The hotel was immaculate and very trendy, with wonderful and diverse art everywhere. It's convenient to everything and parking is free. The restaurant has excellent service and a delicious breakfast menu.
We could not have been happier!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovingtheemptynest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Preston09, General Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Lovingtheemptynest,
Thanks for your great response on your visit with us at the Hotel Preston. Great to hear that the staff was able to assist you with some tours. Hope to see you back at the Hotel Preston soon.

Thanks, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Preston may be, hands down, the funkiest (not in the bad way) hotel at which I have stayed. Writing a review for it is tricky because despite the flaws such as thin walls, shoddy paint job, creepy hallways, etc...the place is brimming with plus side features.

The beds are super comfortable. The toiletries like soaps and shampoo smell nice, the rooms are spacious and contemporary and clean. But the added features, though odd, exude charm. Ask for a companion at the front desk and you get a fish to keep you company during your visit.

The pillow menu has pillow types for all discerning types.

The staff is attentive and friendly and professional.

This is a boutique hotel with a surreal feel and quirky vibe that I have never quite experienced. It won't be everyone's cup of tea so he sure to read as many reviews as possible. But to skip out on this hotel is to miss a unique stay during your visit to the greater Nashville area.

Cafe Isabella inside the hotel is just as quirky if not more refined. They serve Mediterranean fare at somewhat inflated prices, but for hotel dining I found it to be passable.

I think I found my new favorite boutique hotel in Nashville.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
1.4 mi away
Club-Hotel Nashville Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Music City Hotel
Sheraton Music City Hotel
#50 of 155 in Nashville
1,660 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Nashville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
#52 of 155 in Nashville
236 reviews
4.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel Nashville Downtown - Stadium
2.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Nashville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Preston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Preston

Property: Hotel Preston
Address: 733 Briley Pkwy, Nashville, TN 37217-1301
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Preston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Preston is a delightfully uncommon Nashville hotel. Conveniently located near Nashville International Airport, just minutes from both downtown Nashville and Opryland, Hotel Preston caters to vacationers and business travelers alike with an only-in-Music City combination of creativity and sass. With an eclectic art collection and unique touches like lava lamps, rubber duckies and pet fish delivered upon request, Hotel Preston moves to its own beat.The hotel’s distinctive rooms, designed with custom furniture, eye-catching colors and unimaginably comfortable beds, have attracted worldwide media attention. Each room has a You Want It, You Got It button that caters to guests’ needs or whimsical desires: high-speed wireless Internet access, Aveda bath products, a Pillow Menu and Spiritual Menu.Hotel Preston offers state of the art meeting facilities with 7,408 sq. ft. of space including the 4,400 sq. ft. Gather Ballroom. Café Isabella serves up Italian comfort food with southern roots at Hotel Preston and caters to guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel also boasts The Pink Slip, located off the lobby, where cocktails are served nightly and live music is showcased most nights and an inviting outdoor pool that is open seasonally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Preston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preston Hotel Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing