We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never going back!”
Review of Hotel Preston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Preston
Ranked #71 of 157 Hotels in Nashville
Reviewed April 3, 2011

I wasn't impressed when I walked into the hotel. It was very dark and depressing. The decor was strange, especially the elevators. They had red and black cowhide. Not only were they strange, but they both wreaked of cigarette smoke. Also, I woke up to cold showers two of the mornings that I was there. There were only like 13 channel choices. The wireless internet costs $10 a day so I would suggest going somewhere where it is free. The food downstairs was terrible and overpriced. I didn't feel safe. Our elevator opened up to people yelling and fighting and it scared my kids. People were smoking right outside the lobby. The rooms did not have a microwave or refrigerator. Even the Holiday Inn has a microwave and refrigerator! The rooms were clean(only good thing). They never left us enough towels for everyone. Needless to say, I was not pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tncasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay wtih us. I am sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Monique
Facilities Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,456)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Preston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,162 - 2,168 of 2,456 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2011

First off, the hotel over all was good. There were a few things that were frustrating as I spent a week at this property during a seminar held in the hotel convention facilities. Part of the overall disappointment is the there is nothing close to the hotel as far as restaurants or services. There is a gas station, mini-mart about 1/2 mile from the property. It is literally at the end of the runway at Nashville International. Aircraft noise was not a problem though. It is also situated close to the freeways as well which affords easy access. On my "business" trip my employer did not allow a rental vehicle which left us pretty much stranded at the hotel for most of the week. The restaurant and bar has limited hours which made getting food during the day difficult, especially at odd hours. On several occasions we had food catered into the hotel from a pizza delivery joint. The bar typically opened at 5PM daily and was really good. Wed-Sat there is live music and the bar staff was great. The conference facilities were good and the service and support was also good (snacks, refreshments) during class. The rooms were roomy and well furnished. I had a king room and found it the be very comfortable and fairly clean. The knock on the rooms is that there was no refrigerator and the cable TV channels were very limited. The March weather kept us inside most of the time so therefore I either hung out in the bar or caught up on my sleep after the conference hours. Wi-Fi access was $8.00/day which I thought was a bit much. A cab(ask the desk to call Leroy's van, he was awesome))/limo ride into town costs $19.00 one way! The restaurant was very good when we ate there. Lunches (buffet style set up for conference attendees in the restaurant) $16.00 and dinner ran us about $22.00 on the one night we dined there. Service and quality of food were both excellent. The hotel has a really nice business center and an ok exercise room, the pool looked nice but was closed due to time of year. Would like to have had a covered area with seating outside on the property somewhere so I could have enjoyed a cigar. I really liked this hotel but for the lack of a car to get around it felt like I was a prisoner without much to do when I was not in class. We also had a group of rowdy teenagers staying at the hotel which put everyone on edge for the week as well because of several fights and rowdy behavior on some of the floors. But all in all it was a fairly good stay and the staff did a good job.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baseballjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your trip to Nashville for your conference. Thank you for your comments about your week. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you as a guest again.

Sincerely,

Monique
Facilities Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

My family & I were traveling to Texas, we got to Bowling Green, KY but couldn't find anything in my pricerange by either priceline or checking at the hotels/motels that were nearby. I used priceline to search for a hotel in Nashville and my price was accepted. The staff are very courteous, and the hotel room was clean but i have been in better furnished rooms at Super 8's. There is no free internet so if you have something you need to do either pay $10 a day or find a Starbucks. When I checked out I was told a receipt would be emailed to me. We left to eat breakfast and I checked my bank acct info on my phone and discovered a $50 charge had been placed on my card in addition to the priceline charge. So bottom line if you use priceline i would expect hidden charges. This was the first time I used priceline and will probably be the last. :(

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason4972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2011

Thank you for choosing us on your recent visit to Nashville. The $50 is an authorization that gives you charging privileges in the hotel. It is released upon your checkout of the hotel. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

When I walked in, the hotel looked really nice but the decor was sort of random. My room appeared to be remodeled but a closer look showed many signs of the past such as popcorn ceilings. It just had a dark and depressing feel overall. As for as sleeping, it didn't happen. It was very windy outside and it sounded like a tornado in the room all night. There were so many drunk people above us and below us and we could hear everything including their Merle Haggard music. It was so loud all night. There were only 10 or so channels on the tv and the satellite kept going out.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winnie085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2011

Thank you for your feedback on you recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as enjoyable as we would like. We appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

The pictures provided are completely accurate. The room was clean and comfortable. I expected to hear a lot of noise since it is located by the airport, but we slept like babies. It is conveniently located close to the interstate, so getting from point A to B was simple and quick. A very positive experience and I will definitely stay there next time I am in town!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abcnielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2011

Thank you for choosing us on your recent stay in Nashville. Our convenient location is certainly a plus. We are happy to hear that you will come back again. See you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Enjoyable 3 day stay for a fun trip to SEC Women's Basketball Tournament. Cafe Isabella has very tasty food.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrblodgett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are happy to hear that you had a great weekend. I will pass your compliments of Cafe Isabella to our Chef!

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

We received a special price staying 3+ nights and it was definately worth the price. You have basic rooms (bathroom a tad small) that were clean and functional. The location of the hotel is great...not to far from downtown or the airport. The staff was friendly and the room service was prompt and curtious, too. Definitely will stay there again~

p.s. the only thing I was not happy about was that I had to pay for internet service.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sab_whaley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2011

Thank you for your comments. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will come back again!

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Music City Hotel
Sheraton Music City Hotel
#53 of 157 in Nashville
1,708 reviews
1.4 mi away
Club-Hotel Nashville Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Nashville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Nashville - Airport
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Nashville Airport Hotel
1.8 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Nashville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Preston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Preston

Address: 733 Briley Pkwy, Nashville, TN 37217-1301
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 157 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range: $125 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Preston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Preston is a delightfully uncommon Nashville hotel. Conveniently located near Nashville International Airport, just minutes from both downtown Nashville and Opryland, Hotel Preston caters to vacationers and business travelers alike with an only-in-Music City combination of creativity and sass. With an eclectic art collection and unique touches like lava lamps, rubber duckies and pet fish delivered upon request, Hotel Preston moves to its own beat.The hotel’s distinctive rooms, designed with custom furniture, eye-catching colors and unimaginably comfortable beds, have attracted worldwide media attention. Each room has a You Want It, You Got It button that caters to guests’ needs or whimsical desires: high-speed wireless Internet access, Aveda bath products, a Pillow Menu and Spiritual Menu.Hotel Preston offers state of the art meeting facilities with 7,408 sq. ft. of space including the 4,400 sq. ft. Gather Ballroom. Café Isabella serves up Italian comfort food with southern roots at Hotel Preston and caters to guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel also boasts The Pink Slip, located off the lobby, where cocktails are served nightly and live music is showcased most nights and an inviting outdoor pool that is open seasonally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Preston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preston Hotel Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing