We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Exceptional Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, TN
1 review
“Exceptional Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

Second stay at The Hermitage Hotel and was not disappointed! Wonderful staff and service - arrived just in time for afternoon cookies. Front desk service was particularly nice. The Junior Suite room was exceptional with views of the state capitol. Of course the Capitol Grille restaurant was excellent, both for dinner and breakfast. To top it all off we received a historical tour of the building. If you're planning on being in Nashville you must stay at this hotel - if you're not planning on going then The Hermitage Hotel is worth the trip!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    165
    43
    31
    20
See reviews for
249
648
43
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

The Hermitage Hotel is one of the most elegant and beautiful hotels I've ever seen. (The grand lobby reminded me a lot of the Palmer House in Chicago, actually.) I was assigned a wheelchair-accessible guestroom, allowing ample space to move around. The decor of the guestroom was traditional but tasteful. Although room service anywhere is going to be pricey, I had a high-quality in-room meal here. One tip: since the hotel automatically adds a surcharge to your bill to raise money for a local environmental group, be sure to decline the surcharge when you check out if you want to save a few bucks. Overall, the Hermitage Hotel is sure to impress and is a splurge for guests who are not worried about their travel budgets.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FollowThisBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hermitage in Nashville. I just wish we could have stayed longer. The rooms are amazing - big, clean, comfy. Every morning in the lobby there is coffee and muffins. Every evening, fresh lemonade and homemade cookies. The macaroons are the best I ever ate. Every night we returned to a room with cookies by the bed and soft music on the cd player.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjthecruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

I'm a modernist, a minimalist, and always on the lookout for "what's NEW." Imagine my finding my piece of Heaven in the 100-year old Beaux Arts hotel, The Hermitage! The exceptional experience started with the genuinely warm and welcoming doorman -- no attitude, no pretention, just genuine hospitality. The lobby of the Hermitage is glorious -- not gawdy, not tacky, but beautifully gilded and tastefully furnished. Check in was swift and personable. Best of all was our room: huge, spotless, well-appointed...a lush cocoon! We received a special discount for Vanderbilt vistors, but there was nothing cut-rate about our room on the 7th floor. I particularly appreciated the huge flat screen TV with DVD player and the palatial bathroom with soaking tub -- and it's own flat screen TV. The Oak Bar makes a mean martini and breakfast at the Capitol Grill was quite good. I have to admit that Nashville didn't do much for me...a little too honky tonk... but I was more than content being a hermit at the Hermitage.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amateurhistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

Great small hotel.I made reservations through AMEX fine hotels program and we got a great deal.The rooms were large and over looked the Capital,we had a regular room on the 8th floor and a junior suite on the 6th.There is no need to upgrade( make sure you get a Capital view), both rooms were large and had nice bath rooms .I contacted the concierge twice and she got back in touch quickly.She made dinner reservations for 8 for my parents 50th anniversary and added flowers to their room and to the dinner table.The table was set very pretty,nice waiter,special menu for theatre ,good food and price.Our AMEX deal included breakfast and a nice lunch.This hotel is 100 years old and has the feeling of a home.Since it is old you can hear some noise from other guest,we had a wedding party on our floor but when they got a little loud after 1am the hotel security was great about calming them down and we did not hear anything else from them.
The hotel is within walking distance to most everything in downtown Nashville and directly across the street from the performing arts center(TPAC).Other restaurants are a close drive,we like Valentino's (Italian).
The Hermitage is by far the best hotel in Nashville and not a tourist trap like some of the larger hotels.Everyone was very nice and security seems good.With the ammenities we got I thought the price was really good for a 5 star hotel.The regular room was low $200 and the jr.suite was around $300,the hotel was full so our rooms could not be upgraded through our AMEX anmmenity,but we were very happy with our rooms.
This hotel would be a great place for a weekend celebration .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fltn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

Here for one night for a business meeting-if I'd known how wonderful this hotel was, I'd have arranged to stay for two nights. It's a gorgeous and luxurious historic hotel, with rich wood and marble everywhere. Wonderful touches --like lemonade and cookies in the afternoon, turndown service where they lay out a robe and slippers, choice of pillows (including buckwheat and memory foam) in the closet, enormous bathroom with soaking tub, large glass shower, high-end toiletries, and lots of thick, thick towels, --even a flat screen tv in the bathroom! A small business center had complementary faxing, stationary, printing, and there was free wireless internet in the rooms. Service was impeccable. I'd come back here in a heartbeat, and recommend it to anyone visiting Nashville.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, KY
Level Contributor
219 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Hermitage Hotel and most likely would return if we had reason to stay in the downtown area but there were a few instances where it makes you wonder why this is the No. 1 hotel in Nashville, especially since service is being touted as immpecable.

Upon check in, there were some communication issues with the foregin staff. Also, we were only given the option for a king bed though we had three people sharing the room. When we entered the room, we decided tthe bedding situation wouldn't work and called down to guest services to request a rollaway bed for our daughter. This should have been offered to us at check in. The bed was comfortable and the room large but you could hear everything in the hallway. The only way to drown out the noise was to turn the air conditioner fan on high (and the only way to do that was to put the temperature on 64 degrees).

Also, we were traveling with another family and had a total of three rooms -- all booked under our friend's name. Upon arriving, we gave our name, credit card information, address etc. and made sure they knew we were occupying the room. Still, they kept calling us by our friend's name. We also received personalized stationery in our friend's name. If we called to the front desk, we were called by the wrong name.

At check-out, we were charged for valet parking twice though we only had car parked. Also, we were the first from our group to ask for the valet to bring our ca at checkout. Fifteen minutes later, we were still waiting. The others traveling with us asked for their car after we did but all received before us. No one else was waiting for their vehicles so they weren't busy.

Liked the cookies. The breakfast muffins offered were a nice gesture but very dry. The hotel is a beautifully restored historic property but that is about it.. Decided to walk around the hotel to check it out but there really wasn't that much to it and ended up going back to our room.

Probably the one reason I would return here is the because of the food and service at the Capitol Grille. To correct a previous review, this is not part of the national chain (that is spelled with an "a" in Capital, not with an "o"). Wonderful food (filet, sweet onion bisque, fried green tomatoes and truffled mac and cheese were outstanding) and service. You may also bring in your own bottles of wine for a $25 corkage fee. Everything is procured from local sources and it is delicious. We had a variety of items and everything was superb including the highly touted hamburger (named one of the top five in Nashville). The gentlemen in our group enjoyed the Oak Room. Also check out the art deco men's bathroom that has been in several Nashville music videos and I believe some movie scenes.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdvmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,858 reviews
Thompson Nashville
#2 of 154 in Nashville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#14 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#23 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Nashville Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing