We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parties shouldn't happen in the lobby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Parties shouldn't happen in the lobby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

It's strange to me as a party planner that a wedding would be allowed to spill out of the ballroom and into the lobby where guests check in. For a five star hotel this doesn't make sense to me. The staff was helpful and our room was amazing... The bathtub was great as were the Molton Brown products. There's a pillow menu ( in the closet) and complimentary fridge! Nespresso machine too! It was a great hotel... Many be better management and planning could've helped?? Also some non tourist trap restaurant recommendations would've been nice too. I'll be back but just with more info on places to go!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jmarsh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    142
    34
    28
    19
See reviews for
234
580
40
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
danville, ca
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Loved everything about the Hermitage! It is a beautiful hotel full of history. Our rooms were spacious and comfortable and my daughter loved soaking in the tub after a night on the town each day. The room service food was oh so tasty. The location was perfect to the great live entertainment downtown. I was especially impressed with the level of service we received. I wish I had written down everyone's name as they all made our stay a great one but sadly, I only remember Evan who anticipated and took care of any need we might have and Noah who came in to help with a small TV problem and treated us to some wonderful stories about the history of this hotel! A small thing that was appreciated were the bedroom slippers that were much nicer than most high end hotels provide. Thank you Hermitage for making our three generation vacation a truly special one! Can't wait to visit again!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for an extended weekend while he was participating in a competition. The room was spacious and clean and the bathroom was well appointed. The door man and service staff were very nice, the only service area lacking was the Concierge . My husband had booked some appointments for me using the Concierge . The massage at the hotel was amazing and I thanked my husband by phone. He then asked me why I was not at my second appointment. I was unaware of another appointment 4 blocks away. When I contacted the Concierge again to question if anything else had been scheduled he told me I was late for the second appointment. I physically ran the four blocks only to find out I was an hour and a half early. The service experience and communication at the front desk and Concierge was 2 stars at best. The other amenities and personnel were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koigirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We had such a lovely stay at the Hermitage Hotel. The customer service is area of detail is noticed over a bigger property. I had a car filled to the max as I was about to move my daughter into college the next day. My friend who travels to Nashville frequently said there was no other place to stay that my things would be so safe. They knew my name quickly at valet. they were professional, helpful and knowledgeable. I would definitely stay again at this hotel. The lobby is one of the prettiest I have ever seen in an American hotel. It felt very old world like a European hotel. Very classy and elegant. It you don't care about the newest and latest and like a hotel with service and charm this is where you want to stay.

Room Tip: I believe it did have wifi free if I am not mistaken. The toiletries were also really good. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Was fortunate to stay here this week. Classically beautiful lobby, great staff, functional rooms. (yeah--real water pressure.) Good location. Definitely felt special staying here and would book again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobwphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Even though this is a Forbes 5 star hotel and the only 5 star hotel in Tennessee I really did not have any expectations when I checked into this hotel. The short and sweet........the hotel is located in great central location in downtown Nashville with some rooms overlooking the state capital. The staff were very polite and responsive. The physical condition of the hotel is excellent including the lobby, restaurant, bar and rooms. Room 312 was nicely configured with entrance foyer, large room and great bathroom with double vanity, soaking tub and separate shower. I will stay at this hotel on my next visit to Nashville without hesitation. No the knit picky items: 1. restaurant and bar are very good but located in the basement - no natural light. 2. beautiful lobby is under utilized - perfect gathering place for drinks and nice music...hint hint management. 3. some noise between room with connecting door. 4. room was not vacuumed daily and room carpet needed to be stretched as there were multiple sizable ripples............small things but it's a Forbes 5 Star.

Room Tip: High floor facing State Capital or 6th Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kecoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The staff was very friendly and efficient, the room was very nice with a view of the capitol. Location is good, with a short walk to Broadway and entertainment. I did not find anything about this hotel that awed me, and the price per room night is certainly in the area of extraordinary.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#4 of 155 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 4,131 reviews
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#14 of 155 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 155 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 2,197 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hyatt Place Nashville Downtown
The Inn at Fontanel
#1 of 155 in Nashville
5.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing