We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #5 of 157 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

First of all, it's a beautiful property. A classic and classy place. Loved the decor, both in common areas and in the rooms. The staff is very friendly and helpful! You can walk everywhere from this great location. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reynaldo Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

714 - 720 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is a grand hotel in every sense of the word from the large, ornate and impressive lobby to the spacious rooms and huge bathrooms. We were most impressed by the staff, however, and particularly the people who work at the front door. I've never met a more helpful, more knowledgeable and friendlier group of people who work anywhere. A special thanks to Steve and Jordan, but thanks generally to everyone who works here. You really made our trip a great one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I will be very surprised if this hotel is able to keep its accolades much longer. Don't get a room on the second floor or you quite possibly could be facing the roof top of the doomed ceiling in the lobby, which is beautiful from the lobby. The rooms are nice but not up to par with any other 5 Star hotel we have stayed in!! Just last month we stayed in another 5 Star /preferred Hotel and it was fabulous in every way. This place didn't have a shower cap available and the toiletries were not replenished until the last nights turn down service. The windows were very dirty on our side- guess they thought so too because on the last day there they began cleaning them.
All in all not up to par so we will not be back to this property!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank wannatraveltexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel is a renovated, historic building. There is a certain "wow" factor when you step into the opulent lobby, which immediately takes you back to another time. Check-in was fast, and all the staff were very friendly and accommodating.

The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. The bathroom had two sinks, a tub, and a shower, if that gives you a sense of the scale (which I would equate to a master bedroom in a modern house.) There was both maid service during the day and turn-down service at night.

We hopped down to the bar and restaurant a few times. The bar has some good menu items for snacks, but the star is its expansive bourbon menu. Watch out, though, prices range from 15 dollars to 90 dollars for the bourbons listed. The bar is dark and serious, and is different from the revelry going on a few blocks away, but the atmosphere definitely fits in with the elegance of the hotel.

We only had breakfast at the restaurant, since it was part of our room deal. It was a nice place to dine, and our server was very friendly. The food was good.

The hotel also features a large lobby, and other adjacent spaces to hang out if you don't want to go out or be in your room. There is a small boutique which sells things like women's dresses and other general things a traveler might need.

The hotel is located in the general downtown area. There are a lot of attractions within a short walking distance. Broadway and the honkeytonks are about a five minute walk away.

This hotel made our trip memorable, and I was glad to share in a part of Nashville's history.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank seamonkeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Hermitage Hotel is very deserving of all of its accolades, from exceptional service to room accommodations. It delivers southern hospitality and quality for which there is no substitute. Thank you for your attention to every detail.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmrmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The lobby has a wonderful old feel without being stuffy. We stayed in a lovely suite with comfortable seating and a great bathtub. It was nice to go downstairs to meet friends for a drink and the bar seems like a popular spot. Lively without being raucous. Staff was most helpful. The shop downstairs was small, but had some wonderful ladies' clothes.

Room Tip: I liked facing the Capitol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank khwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Impress yourself and your friends by staying at this 5 star property in Nashville. It's very intimate and has the 5 star service you would expect in a resort setting. Nothing is really left to chance here and the doorman and valet personnel are exceptional and welcome you as you come and go throughout your stay. The cookies and fresh squeezed lemonade provided in the afternoon are a very nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Capital View. You'll feel like Andrew Jackson himself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 157 in Nashville
5,827 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 157 in Nashville
2,898 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#18 of 157 in Nashville
1,209 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#19 of 157 in Nashville
1,249 reviews
Hutton Hotel
#17 of 157 in Nashville
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 157 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range: $307 - $701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910, The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. At Nashville's oldest and original hotel, come experience true southern hospitality and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Preferred Hotels so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing