We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Classic 5 star hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Central, NJ
Level Contributor
204 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Classic 5 star hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Hermitage is a historic property in Nashville located within walking distance of most of the downtown sites and attractions. It is about a 15 minute drive from the airport. The hotel itself is meticulously maintained - from the beautiful lobby to hallways and the guest rooms. The staff is extremely gracious and responsive. Check in was quick, elevators were fast.

The furnishings are classic and understated, yet updated. The rooms are a very nice size with a king sized bed, nice natural light and plenty of lighting fixtures as well. The only comments I would make is that there could have been some more outlets placed near the bed and desk for charging electronic devices - and the climate control was almost completely silent. It kept the room perfectly comfortable, but I like a little 'white noise' from the fan, and that was not audible. Just a personal preference.

The bathroom was nicely updated with an excellent shower and a luxurious soaking tub. Molton Brown shampoos and lotions were a nice touch as well. Shower head and pressure were excellent as were other fixtures in the bath. Toilet has its own room within the bathroom. There is a flat screen TV in the bathroom as well for those who wish to soak in the tub and watch TV.

Did not try room service but did enjoy hotel catered meals at the business function I was attending and the food was very good.

All in all I would highly recommend the Hermitage as a place to stay on a visit to Nashville.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joylama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,221
    164
    40
    31
    20
See reviews for
247
630
43
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Hermitage Hotel is truly remarkable!! The 5 star and 5 diamond ratings are certainly correct - the hotel far surpassed our expectations. From the magnificent lobby, to the attentive and professional staff, to the luxuriously appointed rooms, The Hermitage is a first class hotel not to be reckoned with!! We felt so welcome every time we walked up to the hotel and were greeted by the helpful and charming bellmen. Just walking up the steps into the lobby made you feel like you were going back to another time. If you are visiting Nashville, you must stay at the Hermitage! We can't wait to go back again - it was so hard to leave!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

My best friend and I we're here over the CMA Fan Fest. We made dinner reservations for Monday at 7:30pm. We were seated right away very nice table for 2 in the middle of the room but also out of the way nice and private. This is a very up scaled restaurant but I must say everyone makes you feel comfortable and just very friendly and NICE!! We enjoyed wine, dinner and a great desert everything was very very good and the presentation was beautiful. Must say William Jones was so nice made us feel very welcoming - because he thought our food was taking a little long and seeing this was our first time in Nashville he gave us another glass of wine what great customer service so thank you again William. Also Lori Gibson waited on us she was excellent explained all the items and how everything was prepared did a good job. This restaurant is beautiful, the food is great and the service is very good!!! Give the Capitol Grill 5stars. If your in Nashville I would defiantly stop you will ENJOY

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Went to see the famous "men's restroom". Staff could not have been more gracious or friendly. They were welcoming and gave us a "tour". Beautiful restoration and great location. Felt like stepping back in time to visit this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kecon26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

This historic hotel reminds me of the gorgeous European hotels of Italy, Germany, Austria.....in other words BREATHTAKING! A multi million dollar restoration a few years ago makes this THE top choice of places to stay in Nashville. Located in downtown you are within walking distance of the original home of the Grand Ole Opry..The Ryman Auditorium, the Skimmerhorn Arts Center, and of course Broadway where all the shops, clubs and eateries any country music fan desires.

The rooms are decorated in beautiful traditional furnishings. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Will definitely be staying here again!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RexSuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel is beautiful and perfectly located. The staff is fabulous and they think of everything. There were four of us ladies on a road trip of the south and this hotel was a highlight for sure. The architecture is breathtaking. I think I took twenty pictures of just the lobby. One of us was celebrating a birthday and they sent champagne to the room. There was turn down service consisting of delicious cookies. In the morning there was mini muffins and coffee in the lobby. Probably the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingMonkeyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We loved our stay last fall for our anniversary, all you would expect from a southern old school hotel, great location, attentive staff providing great service, great restaurant, and walking distance from Broadway honky tonks.

Concierge was able to recommend places to buy authentic cowboy boots, which we enjoyed exploring the city and surrounding area to check out each establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank handslol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 156 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,615 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 156 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#25 of 156 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Inn at Fontanel
#1 of 156 in Nashville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#15 of 156 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing