We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Southern Hospitality....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We loved our stay last fall for our anniversary, all you would expect from a southern old school hotel, great location, attentive staff providing great service, great restaurant, and walking distance from Broadway honky tonks.

Concierge was able to recommend places to buy authentic cowboy boots, which we enjoyed exploring the city and surrounding area to check out each establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handslol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,593)
There are newer reviews for The Hermitage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

724 - 730 of 1,593 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Visited Nashville with my wife. Thus hotel is outstanding. From the valet to the fine dining at the Capitol Grille. Left a bag in my car after valeting. Called the front desk, ten minutes later the bag was brought up to my room. Through out the visit I was always referred to by my last name. We did have the deluxe suite which was beautifully beautifully appointed. If your budget allows, go for it. Slippers, robes, wonderful towels, two TV 's, a Bose radio, espresso machine, DVD player, umbrella, extra pillows, sofa, love seat, desk, bar, etc. all included. We spent very little time in the room , yet felt totally at home when there. The Oak bar is top shelf and the bartender a pro. 115 whiskeys available, and he was familiar with all of them. Perfectly made drinks. Dinner was quite and also perfect. This hotel was rated in 2014 by Forbes magazine as one on the finest hotels in the WORLD! Sit in the lobby for homemade lemonade or a cappuccino, take in the architecture. Later, walk out and enjoy Nashville ,,,,,,,a wonderful place!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Envie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I have been to this hotel many times over the years. Recently refurbished, this hotel has true old world charm and elegance rarely found in the southeast and is the only Nashville hotel on the AMEX Fine Hotel and Resorts roundup, though others may be added soon. The rooms are a bit pricey but worth it for special occasions. No charge for wireless Internet.

All staff very friendly and will try to accommodate most any special request. Rooms are very nice and larger than you find in most hotels. Bathroom has very large bathtub which my wife always enjoys. Also has large shower and separate toilet area. Housekeeping was able to provide us an oscillating fan which can sometimes be a problem in other establishments.

As part of the AMEX plan we always get a large breakfast via room service which is outstanding and plentiful. I'm not aware of any dollar limit for this perk, though there may be one. This is the only hotel in Tennessee with a AAA Five Diamond rating and easy to understand once you visit.

Located in the heart of Nashville, it is convenient to many popular music and night club venues in addition to the local colleges and universities.

Room Tip: Room 719 is large and comfortable but has no view. There are rooms with outstanding views, so ask i...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark_Thebaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

My mom, sister and good friend checked into the Hermitage with me for a girl's trip to Nashville. We were blown away from the minute we arrived. The lobby was so spectacular we spent time just sitting there in the comfy chairs comparing it to the ceilings we've enjoyed across Europe. Our room was huge and it was a standard room. Two queen beds way up high and fit for a princess - as well as being super comfy. Our room looked out over the State Legislature and was super quiet. The bathroom was so splendid and we had to use a democratic process to decide who "won" the toiletries which were top notch. It was my mom's birthday, and I let the hotel know, and just before we headed out for dinner (I highly recommend Puckett's just around the corner from the Hermitage) a valet showed up with a complimentary bottle of champagne. Delightful. Almost as lovely as the turn-down service with shortbreads and fudge, and the lovely breakfast in the lobby of tea, coffee, fruit and tiny delicious muffins.
We hated leaving it was so divine.

Room Tip: Ask for a Legislature view - gorgeous!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Disneyfan41169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is very special! We stayed here November 2013 for a Indianapolis Colts football trip. we booked our stay with american express platinum travel. The room was great especially the bathroom. Shower and bathtub were awesome. We slept very well beds very comfortable. Hotel was quite staff very accommodating. Workout are was good with plenty of equipment. We had room service breakfast twice and it was very good. This is not a budget hotel but wanted something special and nice and this was the place. Older and very classy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Older, historic hotel but beautiful furnishings and great service. Rooms were large and certainly had been remodeled. Bathroom was expectionally large for a suite.
Bar/Restaurant were good but not great. Fried Green Tomato Sandwich was awesome!

Great location and within walking distance of many of the locations

Room Tip: The spa is really just a couple of treatment rooms but they did a nice job with massages.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolitac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided to spend our wedding night there. We were obviously expecting superb service for absolutely everything. We had to leave early for the airport, and we ordered breakfast a night before. The breakfast was not there on time, and I had to call to remind them. When we told the person at the front desk about the experience, he just said that it was the time in which people changed shifts, so there's nothing they could do. I emailed the hotel, but they never got back to me. Apparently they want to live out of their reputation, and sweep the problems under the carpet.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
8  Thank lafjarivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 157 in Nashville
5,736 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 157 in Nashville
2,863 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#18 of 157 in Nashville
1,178 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#20 of 157 in Nashville
1,233 reviews
Hutton Hotel
#16 of 157 in Nashville
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range: $321 - $811 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910, The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. At Nashville's oldest and original hotel, come experience true southern hospitality and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing