We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown luxury within walking distance of Broadway.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 157 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Fabulous old hotel in Nashville....actually the oldest hotel in Nashville. Beautiful old style and craftsmanship abounds in this great hotel. We had a great room, which was incredibly spacious , with wonderful sweets and bottled water delivered every night to our room. The hotel also had lemonade/tea/cookies every afternoon in the lobby for its guests which was quite nice after being out and about all day. In the morning they had complimentary coffee/cappuccino/muffins/biscotti available for guests as well. The rooms were nice sized, surprising due to its age, and very clean. We were very happy with our hotel choice...we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DayDreamer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,595)
There are newer reviews for The Hermitage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

737 - 743 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel is wonderful from the first step into the lobby. It is so beautiful, and clean. You will not go wrong staying here. It is a short walk to Boardwalk and the bars and restaurants. We were here on business.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmoorenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

If you want to treat yourself to a truly special hotel experience, stay at the Hermitage in Nashville for a few days. It is a beautifully restored 100 year old property right in the heart of Nashville. The Capitol is within easy walking distance as are restaurants, shops, and performing arts centers. The rooms are spacious and kept immaculately. There are three different kinds of pillow in the closet as well as a bed filled with the usual kind. There is turn down service every night and lovely treats such as cookies or chocolates to provide sweet dreams. The bathrooms are very large and very clean. The staff is friendly, kind and efficient. When we had a toilet malfunction fairly late on a Friday night, the engineer was at our door within minutes fixing it and then cleaned up even though that is housekeeping's job. Housekeeping followed right behind to insure the area was clean. The gym on the mezzanine level is open 24 hours a day. It is small but has enough equipment to provide a decent workout. We booked through the American Express Hotels Program and had a lovely breakfast every morning. The biscuits are not to be missed. We wouldn't hesitate to return to the Hermitage anytime we are in Nashville.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sailorsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet K, Public Relations Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you so much for visiting and for taking the time to post today. We truly appreciate it. It is interesting but since we added the pillow menu to our services, our guests have commented on how much they enjoy them and how much it makes them feel right at home. As for the biscuits, we totally agree with you that they should not be missed. They are just the best and we are thrilled that you enjoyed them.

Again, thank you so much for visiting us and for your post. We look forward to having you back with us again soon.
Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on our first visit to Nashville. The service is excellent from the front desk to the valet, door man, etc. We were upgraded to a larger room when we arrived, which was nice (though we did need to wait for an extra hour, but headed down to the Ryman for a tour - just a 2-3 minute walk away). Loved the Molton Brown toiletries, but they could have been replenished more generously by housekeeping (my only complaint during our stay) - however, they have extras at the front desk if you ask (along with shaving cream and anything else you might run out of or forget to pack) - and make sure you don't leave the "do not disturb" sign on your door in the evening and miss the turn-down service with cookies and fresh bottled water. Great music nearby, only a 5 min walk to the main strip - on Broadway, as well as Puckett's for breakfast on the next corner block; or the Frothy Monkey just opened a 3rd location just around the corner - great for casual breakfast. The doorman, Brad, was amazing - if you want to know where to go for food, music, local coffee shop, a different neighborhood to explore, etc., just ask him! Would definitely stay here again - oh, and ladies - you really take take a look in the men's bathroom downstairs - it's worth the look!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet K, Public Relations Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to post your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. (Yes, Brad is truly a wealth of knowledge!) So sorry about the wait for your room but it sounds like you were able to rest, relax, and recharge once you made it there.

Again, thank you so much for visiting us during your visit to Nashville. We can't wait to see you again soon.

Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

This is by far one of the nicest hotels I have EVER visited across a couple continents. Its luxurious lobby and more than attentive staff will leave you speechless. The rooms provide gorgeous views, along with luxurious decor and fine art. The restaurant in the hotel, too, is lovely for brunch, lunch, and dinner. The chefs even, since we're "northerners," made us grits (not on the menu). I HIGHLY recommend this five-star hotel.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank JustinG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet K, Public Relations Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you so much for visiting us! It was a pleasure to have you with us during your time in Nashville. We are also thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy some grits while you were here. (Incidentally, the corn was grown at our very own Double H Farms where we raise our cattle).

Thank you again for taking your time to visit and for posting this review. We truly appreciate it and look back to seeing you again in Nashville.

Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Really enjoyed staying at the Hermitage, very classy, elegant hotel. rooms are very spacious and the bathrooms are huge for a downtown hotel. Really clean, amenities and service were fabulous, great location. Definitely will like to come back here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi and P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The best hotel I have ever been to. Service and facility was fabulous. Lobby and seating area beautiful. Turndown service was great.

1  Thank plincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 157 in Nashville
5,746 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 157 in Nashville
2,863 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#19 of 157 in Nashville
1,181 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#20 of 157 in Nashville
1,232 reviews
Hutton Hotel
#17 of 157 in Nashville
1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 157 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range: $320 - $812 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910, The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. At Nashville's oldest and original hotel, come experience true southern hospitality and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Preferred Hotels so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing