We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 157 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My sister and I just stayed at the Hermitage for three nights. It was wonderful! The hotel has a great location -close to the downtown area - near Broadway, the bars with live music, the Ryman, The CM Hall of Fame, etc. It is about a 10 minute walk downhill to this area (10 minutes uphill!) We reserved a 2-queen bedded room and were very pleased with the room's comfort and cleanliness. Room had great lighting (for readers), choice of pillows, a chair and couch, high quality linens, and all the fittings expected in a luxury hotel. Bathroom was very large with a deep soaker tub, marble and glass shower, Molton Brown products, and large, quality towels. This historic hotel has a gorgeous lobby (as one can see from the pics on TA) and beautiful basement restaurant and bar.
We reserved this hotel and took advantage of a great deal with AmEx Platinum. This deal included "free" breakfast each morning and a gift certificate to spend $100 on food/beverages at the hotel. Our three breakfasts were great (two in restaurant, one delivered to room that included gratuities and tray charge). We spent the $100 on drinks and bar food one evening and all was superb. There is also complimentary coffee/tea and mini muffins in the lobby in the am. They put out lemonade and cookies in the afternoon in the same spot. Hotel also has chilled water bottles as you exit or return from a walk, run or begin your day. We chose to valet park and it was $27 per day for unlimited in/out privileges, out of a garage. (There is a public lot across the street and I believe it was only $10 per day.)
BUT, the best part about this hotel for me, was the superb service. The front desk, concierge, valets, servers in the restaurant/bar, and especially the doormen went above and beyond. Every time we exited/entered the hotel we were always greeted by staff in a warm, friendly, and professional manner. Very well done!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,592)
There are newer reviews for The Hermitage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 1,592 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is a magnificent hotel in an awesome location, easy walking distance to live music and restaurants. Our room was spacious, spotless and beautifully decorated. We had a meal in the hotel bar - delicious food, welcoming and gracious service. The staff at this hotel were all absolutely fantastic. They were full of information about what to do, where to go and what to eat. The doorman, Steve and the valet attendant were especially helpful. This was the first hotel of our three week American holiday and nowhere else came close. If you are in Nashville - stay here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PrincessPenny_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is certainly a very nice, upscale hotel, especially if you like older, restored, historic properties.
Another plus is that it is relatively small (approx. 100 rooms), so you don't get the large tour group or convention crowd.

While we certainly enjoyed our stay here, there were a few minor service issues. Also, some of the furnishings (e.g., carpeting) are showing wear. The hotel is somewhat of a hike (downhill going, uphill returning) from many of the downtown attractions.

Overall, I would rate the Hermitage somewhere between 4 and 5 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FCBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet K, Public Relations Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you so much for visiting us during your time in Nashville. We are disappointed to hear that your visit did not entirely meet your expectations. However, we are delighted that you did, overall, enjoy your visit. We will certainly be sharing the service issues you mentioned with the team so that we can address those immediately.

Again, thank you so much for visiting us and for your post. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Gracious property with large comfortable rooms, good service and central downtown location. The property is a traditional upscale hotel with less of the nightclub bar/restaurant in the lobby and hip/cool vibe of a newer hotel but does an great job of delivering a gracious and distinctly southern hotel experience.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the state capital building.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctyankee20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I have now stayed at the Hermitage 3 or 4 times, and each experience is truly spectacular. The service is top notch without being over the top. The food in the restaurant is great. And, most importantly, the rooms are wonderful. On the last point, the rooms are large and functional, with great bathrooms and insanely comfortable beds. Every room comes stocked with a selection of pillow types, including traditional down, memory foam and buckwheat. The downside of all of this is it will be hard to wake up in the morning!

I suppose if I were to nit pick, the gym could be a bit larger. But I'm stretching to find counterpoints to the overwhelming positives. I look forward to my next stay(s) at this fabulous hotel. One of these times I hope it's for more than just one night!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gadgetfreak98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Our recent stay at the Hermitage was very enjoyable. The hotel staff could not have been more accommodating, although we did have a couple of issues with housekeeping in our room. It is truly a beautiful hotel with much history and is located very convenient to the center of Nashville making it possible to walk to many attractions.

Room Tip: I won this trip while at the Sanctuary in Kiawah Island; The room was comparable to a garden view a...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmoyer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Me and wife stayed there for a business trip. The staff were great and very professional. The room was great and very comfortable. Every staff was more than willing to go out of their way to make us feel welcomed. The only minor knock I would have is the food didn't have much seasoning but that was minor . Beautiful hotel will stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank shame774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 157 in Nashville
5,720 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#12 of 157 in Nashville
2,853 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#18 of 157 in Nashville
1,172 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#21 of 157 in Nashville
1,230 reviews
Hutton Hotel
#15 of 157 in Nashville
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 157 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range: $309 - $806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910, The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. At Nashville's oldest and original hotel, come experience true southern hospitality and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing