We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience Service Beyond Value”
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Experience Service Beyond Value”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

An exquisitely renovated hotel, the real beauty of this hotel experience is in interacting with the people across the workforce, from events and catering managers, to front desk, through housekeeping and other providers of services. Every experience I had with a hotel employee was positive.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte_Preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,278
    173
    48
    32
    20
See reviews for
253
674
43
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The hotel lobby was beautiful! The rooms were also beautiful and spacious and quiet and the windows open! The staff was very helpful and courteous. The bathroom in our room was large. Really a great experience.

We ordered room service one night and the portion was a bit small on the steak salad. I understand the beef was Kobe but a few more greens and or vegetables would have been appreciated.

Room Tip: The rooms were very spacious which is great for families and very quiet. Our room was on the 8th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara77005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I just had the worst experience at the Hermitage Hotel!! We had a small group come into the Oak Bar about 15 mins before last call. The staff was totally rude and not wanting to wait on us in the first place. We had 1 drink, asked to pay our tab so that "the staff"could close out in time. When we got up to leave we were confronted by the bartender in a VERY RUDE manner for NOT PAYING!!! When we had all paid 15 mins prior. Once we informed her that we had already paid, she proceeded to check with other staff members to confirm. FYI … This staff needs to remember the customer service policy and NOT try and judge!! Little does she know one of guest in the party may have been Warren Buffets niece!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EARP1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in March 2014. The hotel is beautiful. The staff is extremely courteous and helpful. They offered great suggestions for sight seeing and restaurants. The room is spacious and the bathroom is very large - two sinks, separate shower and oversized bathtub. From the flowers in the hotel entryway to the turndown service - everything was perfect. We left a small item behind in the room and we promptly received an email, inquiring whether we would like for them to mail the item to us. Really a wonderful hotel and highly recommend it to anyone staying in Nashville.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JICAERCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nolensville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I saw a segment on this hotel on PBS Tennessee Crossroads. I was so intrigued, I went with a friend on a Wednesday evening to have a look for myself. It was stunning. From the sharp dressed doormen to the incredible detail inside, it was all I had anticipated. I was first struck by the quiet and absence of outside noise. I felt as if I had stepped into a classic European building. The stained glass ceiling in the lobby, the lovely veranda, and the cozy bar, outstanding restaurant, and especially, the snazzy art deco men's bathroom were worth taking time to explore. Yes, I did have a look in the men's room...the sign outside the door all but made it ok! While I didn't say the night, I enjoyed dinner in the Oak Bar and the time exploring the hotel. The hotel has it's own farm for the freshest offerings to table.

Afterwards, we walked across the street to TPAC and enjoyed a show.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed here for business in Feb 2014. The hotel is absolutely beautiful. The ceiling in the lobby is magnificent. The staff is super accommodating. Every staff person I interacted with was friendly and helpful in every way. The room is luxurious with a giant tub which I took advantage of daily. The room was large and the bathroom was spacious. The room does not include a refrigerator, but I requested one during reservations and it was in the room at my arrival. Be prepared to lay out some $$$ for your stay, $$ for meals and $$ for taxis to get around this town. There are several eateries within walking distance of the hotel although the weather wasn't very cooperative. There are also several bars and restaurants within walking distance. I loved this hotel and this town. It was fun and all the townspeople were exceptionally friendly. I used the gym in this hotel nearly every day. It was small but had good equipment. I did not use the spa. The bed and bedding in the room was awesome. I slept great. This hotel is spotless from top to bottom.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gigi376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

What a great hotel. I was there for a business conference in the hotel. The welcome was great. The room was beautiful and the level of service was first rate. I look forward to coming back to the Hermitage again. Having the Capitol Grille and the Oak Room on site is a real plus. I cannot say enough nice things about this beautiful and well maintained Nashville gem.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 155 in Nashville
5,369 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 155 in Nashville
2,744 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#22 of 155 in Nashville
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#20 of 155 in Nashville
1,062 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Thompson Nashville
#8 of 155 in Nashville
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910, The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. At Nashville's oldest and original hotel, come experience true southern hospitality and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels and Orbitz so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing