We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is it possible to give them 6 stars?”
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Is it possible to give them 6 stars?”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

First off, this wasn't the first hotel I booked for our trip. However, after reading reviews of the other hotel, then realizing the other hotel charges for wifi (my pet peeve) I decided to switch our reservation to the Hermitage. I originally thought it may be a bit stuffy based on the uber-posh interior decor. However, I loved the marketing on their website showing guest rooms merchandised with "casual" props. (Guitar cases, boots, etc). Feeling less intimidated We decided to give them a try. OH MY GOSH...wow. Just wow.
The hotel is breathtakingly historic and beautiful. The rooms are comfy and absolutely immaculate. You get free wifi, they give you a nespresso machine with free coffee pods in your room, the mini bar is stocked with amazing (and local) goodies.
However, without a doubt the staff are the jewel of this establishment. Every single employee made us feel welcome and special. They seemed genuinely gracious, and not overly trained to say the same scripted conversation to guests. They made us feel like VIPs. I've never felt so comfortable in such a grand environment!
Tips: Deb in the bar will make you feel like a local. You won't find a better bartender. Also, pay the extra to get the capital view....it's very special and so beautiful, especially at night.
We can't wait to come back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank fmjmclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,264
    171
    47
    32
    20
See reviews for
252
663
43
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Great staff, beautiful rooms, convenient location. Got great help w directions, reservations, local info. Breakfast was great and filling and was included w the Amex fine hotels program. We even got a room upgrade to a top floor corner room from the program. The waitress/bartender in the Oak room was particularly pleasant and made good drinks.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hamsteak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was our first time in Nashville and I'm so happy that my husband booked us a room at the Hermitage Hotel. We dealt with the concierge a few times before we arrived, and Vickie was beyond helpful. She was a joy to talk to! Our first impressions when we arrrived were very positive. The doorman greeted us warmly and then we were brought into the fabulous lobby. Even the hotel smells amazing -- like lemons or something. Not overpowering but a clean, fresh scent. The girl at the front desk checked us in and answered all our questions. The bellboy was right there after check-in to help us out with our luggage and bring us to our room. Everyone we encountered was professional and friendly and had real southern charm. The room was so spacious and plush, and the bed was like what I imagine sinking into a cloud would be like. We got a great deal booking through AmEx and the platinum card. (Free breakfasts, $100 F&B voucher, room upgrade, early check-in and a late check-out -- plus, the room rate went down $30 a night). Loved the nightly turn down service. I'd easily compare this hotel to a Four Seasons property. We were completely spoiled here and I recommend this hotel very highly. We loved Nashville and I can't wait to return and I will be staying at the Hermitage Hotel, for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LILady11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this wonderful hotel. The lobby and rooms were luxuriously decorated and offered all the comforts one might expect. The staff were incredibly attentive. I enjoyed one of the most restful nights of our travels. One should not miss breakfast at the hotel restaurant, Capital Grill, and be sure to have the grits.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frankb582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Beautiful hotel. They think of every amenity you may need and some you didn't think you did. Large room and bathroom with nice big tub and separate shower. The bar down stairs is very comfortable and had an excellent meal in the Capital grill. A must stay in Nashville!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mkc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was my second stay at The Hermitage. Nashville is not my first choice destination, but I have to visit for my husband's work. As long as I get to stay at The Hermitage, I don't mind coming to Nashville. The hotel is beautiful - especially the lobby. I love all of the history. The rooms are well appointed, the staff is extremely helpful and the hotel restaurant, Capitol Grill, is consistently one of the best hotel restaurants I have ever dined in. The hotel owns a farm about four miles away and most of the produce and much of the meat comes from this farm.

On this visit I did have two complaints, one of which is pretty nit-picky, which is where the fifth star was lost.

On this visit I had the opportunity to take advantage of the Spa at the Hermitage. I emailed the concierge ahead of my arrival and requested a 60 minute Firm Swedish massage with a female therapist. I received a confirmation via email and a letter at check-in from the concierge that I was scheduled for a 60 minute Firm Swedish massage at 2pm on Wednesday. The email even confirmed my request for a female therapist. First of all, the Spa is not what I would consider an actual spa - especially in a hotel of this level. Located inside the fitness center, it seems more like an afterthought. There are two treatment rooms with a very small waiting area. The ladies locker room is directly off the waiting area, but the men's locker room is outside the door to the waiting area and down the hall, closer to the workout facility. The door to the waiting area is a clear glass door, so anyone with a room key can come and stare into the waiting room and see you sitting there in your robe waiting for your massage. Second of all, when I arrived I was greeted by a male therapist. I told him that I had specifically requested a female therapist and showed him my confirmation email. He stepped into the treatment room and called someone. He came back out and apologized for the mix-up and said a female therapist could be there in 10-15 minutes if I wanted to wait. I said I would wait but I felt I should receive some kind of compensation for the inconvenience. I was offered a 60 minute massage for the price of a 30 minute massage. My point, though, is that I shouldn't have had to ask for the compensation. And I feel that the concierge or whomever made the error should have contacted me to apologize for the mistake.

My second complaint, which I know is totally nit-picky: This is a Forbes Five Star/AAA Five Diamond property that brags about its luxury setting - including Frette linens and Molton Brown toiletries. So I was shocked when I went to blow my nose and found that the tissues provided by the hotel are cheap off-brand (Imperial) cardboard-like tissues like I would expect in a hospital. I am a Marriott Platinum Elite Rewards member and even the lowest-end Marriott properties provide Kleenex brand tissues.

The Hermitage is still the only place I will stay in Nashville and one of my favorite all-time hotels. Its a real treat to stay here. I just won't schedule any spa services and will bring my own Kleenex or Puffs in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Luxurious, beautiful and amazing. Service is superior. Enough said, except to let you know that when you step in the door, you are greeted by the most beautiful aroma of fresh flowers-will never forget the Hermitage.

Room Tip: Request a view of the Tennessee State Capitol building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCWAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#5 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,207 reviews
Thompson Nashville
#7 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#22 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910, The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. At Nashville's oldest and original hotel, come experience true southern hospitality and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing