We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #5 of 157 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We are so pleased we decided to stay at the Hermitage when we visited Nashville last week. Not only is the location fabulous - the hotel itself is wonderful.

The hotel has an old world charm but modern conveniences. The rooms are large, beautifully furnished and well equipped.

The service was outstanding. Absolutely outstanding!

We will definitely return and recommend the hotel to others.



  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

873 - 879 of 1,613 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

very very good hotel, hotel's value is excellent. there are very good good service..hotel's room is very nice and big and very clean.location is perfect..overall i just say is perfect... staff is very honest.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dev4077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very nice old designed hotel in exceptional condition and decor. Personnel are very friendly and helpful. We had a corner King Room which was large. One negative was the room lighting was poor...wife could hardly see the make-up mirror even with it lighted. Actually, the electrical system in general was poor as couple of wall outlets did not work making it necessary to move furniture to get phone chargers plugged up.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very nice hotel, emphasis on nice, there are no t-shirts worn around this hotel. Beautiful hotel rooms and a great restaurant on the bottom floor. Great location; it is right in the heart of Nashville and you can walk just about everywhere from the hotel. Also great service, everyone is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EliizabethWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

First trip to the 'Music City' as it is known. In town for an Iron Maiden concert at the Bridgestone Arena.

Booked the hotel thru AMEX Centurion Fine Hotels & Resorts.

My friend and I were upgraded to a Suite with 2 Queen Beds. The hotel was very easy to find, everyone was very pleasant, helpful and attentive. Doorman actually ran out and picked me up a late night pizza (3am). Valet was exceptional, car was always available immediately and everyone seemed to do everything that they could to make our stay memorable.

Maybe the most memorable part was running into Steven Tyler in the hotel restaurant for lunch, apparently he was there supporting his American Idol buddy Keith Urban and his album debut. Mr Tyler was extremely pleasant and funny to our party and the wait staff. We were the only 2 parties in the restaurant at that time.

The hotel is magnificent, truly remarkable. Really a southern Gem. Some of the architecture is out of this world, many touches that you just don't see at other "5 star" hotels.

Water pressure is awesome in the shower, met some people that raved about the spa and the in room bath butler, television in the bathroom and a private toilet room. Beds were ridiculously comfortable and the housekeeping was very thorough and attentive. Not sure what the white linen laid at the foot of the bed on the floor was about, but the fresh cookies and chocolates were divine.

I struggle to find any complaints but I have a few, that are really not a big deal at all. There were no outlets available anywhere near the desk, none for the computer or charging the phones. there was one "courtesy outlet available in the ipod charging clock, but other than that very few available throughout the room. THis could be easily remedied and honestly other than some iPods/ipads on the floor charging, was not really a big deal.

Concierge was excellent, bellman and valet, doorman all knew the city well. Most guests were of the upper echelon of society, and all were very quick to converse and be really helpful to 2 out of towners.

maybe the weirdest thing was the downstairs restaurant bathroom which is famous apparently. it really is a cool bathroom, and maybe a must see, but it is still a bathroom and quite functional :-) .

The hotel is right next to the state capital so there are a bunch of politicians there during the day and with state business. Much state business is apparently conducted in the hotel bar and restaurant.

minibar was nicely stocked, ice was readily available on each floor, room service was great as well as the house restaurant that was really good. Cocktails in the bar were excellent as well as the staff, even though it closed somewhat early (10pm).

Nashville is a great city, even for those not into country music. I wouldn't hesitate to go back again and again and I am certain this would be the hotel I checked into.

Room Tip: make sure to check out the famous bathroom downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JimWPPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a great hotel ! As a lover of old hotels, this was one of the best . As a photographer it was fun to capture all elegance in the lobby and meeting rooms. The concierge service got us in to the Grand Ole Opry and the General Jackson paddle boat, all with great seats . The rooms were large well furnished, good bed and plenty of tables to hold our things. I didn't find convenient desktop plugs to recharge our iphones and iPads but had to go to the floor plugs. The Capitol Grill and Oak bar downstairs were "way" too dark, in fact we ate a great breakfast two mornings , but had to use a flashlight to see the menu. The stairs going down were also very dark . The downstairs lobby bathroom was apparently quite famous and voted #1 nationally ,whatever that means , but was in fact spectacular w/ green and black tile. Our room bath was also very large w/ lots of water pressure in the shower a shower and a large tub. I'll surely stay there when returning to Nashville !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank semmes1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel has the most fabulous lobby. Service from the minute we pulled up out front was exemplary. Everyone addresses you by name and remembers it during your visit. We were here for three days and they treated us like royalty, in spite of me wearing Iron Maiden shirts everyday (we were there for a concert).

The room was large and well appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable as were the pillows. The bathroom has a separate shower and large marble soaking tub and lots of counterspace for the ladies and their makeup, etc. A/C worked great.

We ate and had cocktails a couple times at the Oak Room Bar downstairs. Meredith and Deb were excellent bartenders and very friendly.

It is pricey, but worth it for the level of service and amenities provided. There were just a few minor issues with the room that needed attention. I let the front desk know about them and they offered to fix it right away, but I told them they could wait until we checked out. Only other minor issue was that they did not re-stock the lovely Molton Brown shampoo, etc. after the first night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 157 in Nashville
5,817 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#12 of 157 in Nashville
2,895 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#19 of 157 in Nashville
1,208 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#20 of 157 in Nashville
1,248 reviews
Hutton Hotel
#18 of 157 in Nashville
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 157 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range: $306 - $711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910, The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. At Nashville's oldest and original hotel, come experience true southern hospitality and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Preferred Hotels so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing