We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Location and Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Hermitage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off for TripAdvisor!
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel was updated in the past few years and it's a pleasure to stay there. It's located close to all in downtown Nashville. Our room was very spacious with a large bath with soaking tub. After a long day of driving and sightseeing, that was a plus.
Very attentive staff at check-in and out. We would definitely recommend this spot and stay there againi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    142
    33
    28
    19
See reviews for
232
579
40
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Only stayed one night bit thoroughly enjoyed our visit.Room was beautifully decorated,bathroom was luxurious.Loved the bar.Staff were very friendly and helpful.We had a bar lunch and breakfast and both were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I swear that room would be at The Hermitage. Perfectly perfect, staff, room and amenities. Gracious and courteous staff, impeccably clean rooms. Worth every nickle. Don't bother staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maude855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
274 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Hermitage epitomizes elegance, sophistication, and Southern charm. Service was absolutely first rate, without exception. The public areas in this historic hotel are magnificent. I almost never use a hotel’s public sitting areas, but my wife and I found the Hermitage’s soaring atrium to be so inviting that we just sat in large, comfortable chairs relaxing for almost an hour without realizing how long we had been there. The rooms also are first rate. Ours was spacious and immaculately maintained, with classically styled furniture and a comfortable sitting area you could actually use. The work space was adequate, but the internet signal was weak (I ended up using my air card instead). The bathrooms are large, with separate tub and shower areas, a large TV, and other upscale amenities. The hotel offered freshly squeezed lemonade and cookies in the afternoon (great on a hot Nashville day) and coffee and teas in the morning. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was absolutely wonderful (try the sock sausage). The Hermitage is located about a block from the Tennessee state capitol, and about six blocks or so from the clubs and stores of Broadway, the Ryman Auditorium, and the Bridgestone Arena. Hotel valet parking was $24 a night. I did not see self-parking (didn’t look) but there are a number of public parking garages in the vicinity. There are less expensive hotels in Nashville, but to me, it was worth every penny. I’ve stayed at a number of hotels in Nashville, and this is my favorite, hands down.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wedgewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a must see while visiting Nashville. Stunning decor. Awesome not terribly expensive little shop. Loved the pimento cheese and fried green tomato sandwich. House Chardonnay was very good. Staff was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamala H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in the upgraded old southern style. Well located to the major attractions. Terrific, professional, courteous, helpful and knowledgable staff. Excellent restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. If you are going to Nashville it is a must stay.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I visit Nashville two to three times a year. So we have stayed almost everywhere in that town. For some reason we had not tried the Hermitage until last month. We will probably always stay at this location if it's available from now on. It is in a good downtown location within walking distance of many attractions. All members of the staff were professional, courteous, and helpful. The hotel is a historic landmark and is well maintained. Our standard king room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The only complaint we had involved something outside the control of the Hermitage. Across the street a building project is underway and appears to be at its beginning. The noise began around 7am and continued to 5pm. Until this project is complete I recommend requesting a room on the opposite of the building.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#4 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 4,116 reviews
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#15 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#12 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 2,177 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hyatt Place Nashville Downtown
The Inn at Fontanel
#1 of 154 in Nashville
5.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing