We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The difference between ordinary and extraordinary is a little extra”
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #4 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“The difference between ordinary and extraordinary is a little extra”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Why do I stay here? Its got a beautiful lobby? Rooms are nice? People are welcoming?
Yes all of that --- despite no contemporary cable T.V. offerings, absolutely the worst grits / biscuits on the planet and a dicey dinner menu. Its that little extra that will make me disciple.

I'm looking for an alternative that addresses those deficiencies and campaigning for television and culinary reform simultaneously.

Until then; its a very good choice.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Capital and go to happy hour early because the lobbyist and politicians...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FilsProdigue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,293
    174
    50
    33
    20
See reviews for
259
687
43
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Wow. The Hermitage is one of the best hotels I have stayed at in the US. Spacious and beautifully appointed rooms. Just about every amenity you could imagine. Everyone was friendly and very helpful with local information. The service was impeccable. Fresh coffee and muffins in the lobby in the morning, cookies and lemonade in the evening. Turn down service was a treat. Ice cold water bottles by the front door! The only downside is that they do not have a pool but there is so much to do within walking distance, it hardly mattered. We felt totally pampered during our entire stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this Grand Dame of Nashville. The rooms are huge with everything you would expect-double hand basins, separate bath and shower lots of closet space free wifi and the list goes on.
The staff were very professional and helpful especially Vicki Hudson the Concierge she helped us make the most of our short stay in Nashville.
The bar and restaurant are also excellent and staff make you feel so welcome.
The hotel is located within an easy walk to Ryman Theatre and the Country Music Hall of Fame both worth a visit.
The only downside was construction right next door which began at 7.30 am, make sure your room is on the other side.
This hotel is aptly named The Hermitage reminds me of the one in St.Petersberg.

Room Tip: Check on construction work
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a beautiful hotel. Felt like Old South artistocracy. Beautiful, comfortable lobby with a fire going at all times and comfortable couches and armchairs, afternoon tea, cookies and lemonade and a friendly, accomodating staff. Delicious breakfast, spacious room with large bath and comfy bed and linens. Bed turn down each night with slippers and robes on the bed...doesn't get much better than this. Good location, about 5-10 minute walk to downtown, Printer's Alley, Tennessee State Museum. Would definitely return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fantarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was my third stay at the Hermitage Nashville...and again not a complaint. Depending on what you are in town for, its a great downtown location just up the block from Broadway. Rooms are HUGE! Bathroom HUGE! Always super clean, There are plenty are good sized towels double spaced out sinks and there are extra pillows in the closet that are foam if thats an issue for you...so you can certainly ask to have the down removed and get all foam. The air conditioning is just right, doesn't blow on you in bed nor make excessive noise when the fans comes on/off. The shower pressure is amazing and theres also a great soaking tub with a tv (very relaxing at the end of the day). Large windows let in a ton of light. I personally prefer the high floor rooms that face the War Memorial. The lobby is massive and a great place for meeting up with the people. In the afternoon next to the elevators they set out the best soft cookies and lemon (personal favorite are the warm chocolate chip). Valet is quick and polite, its not cheap $26. a night. Worth looking for the area self park lots.
The basement restaurant is good but also expensive. And the room service menu pretty extensive in a working dinner pinch. And the bartenders are great at making suggestions.
Definitely stay here and look for a deal as they come around every so often!

Room Tip: High room facing the War Memorial.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v'nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff was excellent from top to bottom. I arrived past 10pm after being denied my confirmed room at Union Station (they had sold my room because I didn't specify late arrival, although I was told it was maintenance issues). At check-in, they were friendly and fast. I don't say that lightly because I'm from CA and we are used to warp speed. This was my second choice hotel and ended up working out better. The restaurant was excellent for breakfast. 4/5 for being an older hotel and the loud construction noise from across the street. Next time, I would return here for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview Hills, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The rooms were nicely appointed. We had two queens, and they were extremely comfortable! The nightly turn down, water, and sweet treat was something to look forward to after being out all day.
Everyone was extremely courteous and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacher202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#7 of 155 in Nashville
5,475 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#10 of 155 in Nashville
2,786 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#21 of 155 in Nashville
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#19 of 155 in Nashville
1,097 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Hutton Hotel
#18 of 155 in Nashville
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910, The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. At Nashville's oldest and original hotel, come experience true southern hospitality and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Preferred Hotels so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing