We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Mixed feelings about the Hermitage...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about the Hermitage...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to love this hotel - really. However, based upon other reviews and research I had done, my expectations were too high. First, let me say that the bellhop and valet staff are excellent - very cordial and professional and they do a great job. Beyond these dedicated employees, the Hermitage falls a little short. Although this is an older hotel, it has seen better days. Lots of street noise (even on upper floors) and the noise from the hallways is loud. No particular amenities that were spectacular, and no in-room coffee service. There aren't really any wonderfully located hotels in Nashville - you have to travel to most music venues and attractions, and it was sort of a bother to get the car in and out of valet parking a couple of times each day. I wouldn't be opposed to staying at the Hermitage again, but for the cost I'd probably think twice.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LilCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,172
    155
    37
    29
    20
See reviews for
240
598
41
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this grand hotel located a short walk from the Ryman auditorium and honky-tonk bars with live country music. Everyone (doormen, front desk, concierge, and restaurant staff) were incredibly friendly and helpful. The dinner and breakfast we had at the hotel were excellent. Our room was spacious and modern. Although there was no coffee maker in the room, complimentary coffee and muffins are available in the morning on the lobby level by the elevators. Complimentary cookies and lemonade were available in the afternoon. The only problem we had with the room was the lack of sound insulation from the room to the hallway. We could easily hear hallway conversations and the sound of luggage carts. When we were there, we also unfortunately heard a fight at 3am complete with swearing and door slamming.

Room Tip: Try for an upper floor room - ours on the 2nd floor was partially below ground level on the side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is worth every penny you pay. Don't miss the experience. Everything was exceptional. Each employee performed optimally. The only thing that would have been better is if the hotel had a spa. But really, we don't have a single complaint. GO!

Room Tip: Ask for the view of the Capitol. It is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrvineHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We had the opportunity to Ostend one night here at the hermitage. It is a beauty. Service is nice if a little over the top. The one big problem temporarily is at a property adjacent to this one they are doing major construction including enormous jack hammers pounding into the limestone. We are on the other side of the construction and you can hear the pounding easily. They first tried to put us in a room right on the construction site. For 682.00 dollars for a king room I expect quiet and sheer comfort. This visi,t this hotel failed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We booked a 3 night stay for ourselves and two adult daughters on the strength of the Tripadvisor reviews. The hotel itself is very grand, concierge staff are wonderful and the hotel is ideally located to major Nashville attractions in the downtown area however we have to be honest and say we felt it and the Capitol Grille didn't live up to expectations and following an incident on our final evening, we were left with real concerns about hotel security. There is no vetting of guests on entry through the doors and foyer and the hotel elevators are not operated by your room card so in other words, anyone can enter the elevators and make their way to the upper floors. At 4am on our last night someone knocked on our door and told us they could see smoke in the corridor - we assumed this was a staff member but when my husband opened the door, there was a person there who was either drunk or affected by drugs and when my husband shut the door, this person continued to knock, calling out to us and demanding to come into our room. It was quite frightening as we did not know who this person was, how he got there and whether he may become violent. As Australians, our first thought was 'does he have a gun?". Hotel management were called and someone did respond within several minutes however they were unable to provide us with any explanation as to why that had occurred or where that person had come from. Our room was located next to the stairwell so we suspected he had come up the stairwell. Suffice it to say we got very little sleep after that incident as we were all extremely nervous, particularly our two daughers.The next morning, when we raised this incident with the new duty manager, we were told it was a hotel guest who had gone to the wrong room - we were sceptical as this person clearly saw my husband when he opened the door and would have recognised it was the wrong room but he did not go away and continued to harass us and demand we open the door. Management offered us a complimentary lunch to make up for (in their words) "the inconvenience" which we had to decline due to our flight departure time.
This incident cast a pall over what was otherwise a pleasant, but not exceptional stay. We have reviewed the Capitol Grille separately.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaccasOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Unbelievable service! Staff is helpful, thoughtful, and polite- not stuffy either. Everyone goes out of their way to make sure you are having a good experience. Hotel itself is beautiful and rooms are gorgeous. Beds are super comfortable and bathroom is pretty. Location is perfect for Broadway street music experience. Worth the price if you are looking for a first-class hotel. (Construction across the street can be loud in the morn... You may want to check if it is completed if you sleep late.)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelerswife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauldin, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had the fortunate opportunity to stay three nights at this truly historical hotel and to say it was a treat would an understatement! Absolutely beautiful rooms but most importantly a professional staff who seem pleased to help in any way they can! The only drawback at was the near constant noise that comes from the construction project across the street.....it starts precisely at 7:01 am each morning. The food at The Capitol Grill was exceptional and a visit to the historical men's restroom across from the bar is a must! Can't wait until I can return but let's hope the construction project had moved on to a quieter stage.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a room facing the construction, I understand that it is less bothersome on the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlfromSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#4 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 4,235 reviews
The Inn at Fontanel
#1 of 154 in Nashville
5.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 2,247 reviews
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#15 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing