We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Concert in the lobby under my room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Concert in the lobby under my room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Checked into this establishment on business, company paid around $450 for the room. Having been up for nearly 18 hours as I write this, it may be a bit garbled. Upon settling in and unpacking, connecting, and doing some work, at about 7:30, the concert begins. Banging piano and bluesy singer right now on Rocket Man. A call down to the front, was met with we could look to move you if the "function" bothers you. And it will be over at 10. I am tired I want to go to sleep but do not want to have to pack up all my stuff to move. So my long day will turn into 19 or 20 hours.

I guess it does not seem as if we will recommend this overpriced hotel. Oh, and the stains on the inner liner of the pillow were a nice touch.

Room Tip: Get a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gussohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,221
    164
    40
    31
    20
See reviews for
247
630
43
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is an excellent hotel well deserving of its reputation. From the doorman, to the bellman, to the desk clerk all attentive pleasant and helpful.
The room was impeccable. I frequently find myself asking how a particular room could be improved. The rooms at the Hermitage leave nothing for improvement. A magical stay.
Add a meal at the Capitol Grille and the night cannot get better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jr. Md Thad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We live in Nashville, and it has long been a bucket list item to stay here. The hotel is just gorgeous. We had a room looking out over the Capitol, (you should request this view). Everything was just so luxurious and yummy. The room was a little hot, but a phone call fixed that in under 30 minutes, at 11:00 p.m.! That's service!! I loved everything about this hotel. IF you are in the mood to splurge, don't hesitate!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Capitol, room 412 was pretty nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atriptolove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Hospitality plus! You will not find a nicer hotel in Nashville. Our room was very large , the bed was plush, the bathroom was exquisite. The staff treated us like we were their only guest! The lobby is absolutely beautiful! The location is convenient and in walking distance to many downtown points of interest. The Hermitage will definitely be our home away from home when we're in Nashville!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville fl
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Hotel was elegant yet comfortable, staff was professional, very attentive and helpful. Food at the Capitol Grill was excellent although slow one night. We liked the atmosphere in the Oak Bar better, but either way the steaks and wine list were excellent. Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
358 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Have enjoyed staying here on two different occasions. The rooms are elegant and come with stocked wet bar & Bose Stereo system. We had both our dogs and staff happily walked them outside whenever notified. The bar and lobby areas are awesome places to hang out and possible star sightings occur. The Capital Grille restaurant downstairs is awesome lunch location. The concierge is very knowledgeable and can answer your questions or make suggestions on the Nashville scene. Within easy walking distance to many eating establishment and tourist hotspots. I love this place and so will you.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harryscards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crane Hill, Alabama
Level Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were walking down the street after a play and decided to have a drink in the Oak Bar. It was a great decision. On the way through the Hotel Lobby we viewed one of to most beautiful hotel lobbies in the U.S. The Oak Bar has beautiful decor restored to its historic style. The service was an experience you can only receive in an old line top notch bar. The drinks were excellent as well. It was a bit pricey though, but well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnkautzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 156 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,614 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#12 of 156 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#25 of 156 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Inn at Fontanel
#2 of 156 in Nashville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#15 of 156 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing