We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a hotel!”
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“what a hotel!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

this is old school - beyond gorgeous - HUGE rooms and lovely people
the doormen were super helpful and people could not do enough to help us - we were here on business and our whole group stayed here and no one had a bad thing to say about anything

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequenttravelusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,277
    173
    48
    32
    20
See reviews for
253
673
43
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Have been staying here whenever I am in Nashville for over six yeas now and have never been disappointed, stay here every opportunity I can. I really like the personal service and especially the attentive and friendly staff. The Hermitage is a First Class luxury experience from the minute you walk in! On site there is an excellent restaurant and if you want to go out Morton's is a 5 minute walk around the corner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stayed for four days at the Hermitage hotel in Nashville during a business trip and would rate this as one of the best hotels I have stayed in combining historic atmosphere with faultless service and a prime location. The lobby of the hotel makes a huge impression and the attention to detail apPlies to everything else in the hotel. The service was excellent and the hotel certainly justifies the southern states reputation for hospitality. The food in restaurant was excellent - for breakfast I can recommend the signature dish of Jack Daniels infused toast. The bar is also recommended and has a superb selection of bourbon whiskey. The location is very central and so a short walk from the music venues on Broadway and many restaurants. it also offers some good running routes nearby as well as An attractive gym. I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarekFilipiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Older hotel but very clean and nicely maintained. The staff is excellent and we will definitely return when back in Nashville. The only negative was the Capitol restaurant was not as good as we had expected.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wigout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed only one night and I regret that it was only one night at this fabulous hotel. Everyone from doormen to concierge and desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was so comfortable and beautifully appointed. The bathroom was immaculate and very roomy We had breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel where we had requested some gluten free items for my husband the day before and the pancakes with fresh berries were delicious. Also loved the spiced tea and Christmas cookies in the late afternoon. Following our checkout we asked about keeping our car in the hotel garage and were able to do so while we continued to sight see with no further charge. This experience will make it very difficult to stay in lesser hotels in the future!

Room Tip: Our room faced in and did not have much of a view but it did not matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have had two recent visits to Nashville, Tennessee, where I stayed at the Hermitage Hotel. On both occasions I was swept away by the quality of the experiences and the level of service. The hotel's staff was simply tremendous, along every dimension of my stay! Moreover, the food, both room-service and in the restaurant was fantastic! I recommend it highly!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I just loved this hotel. Everything from the staff to the cleanliness to the rooms... We usually stay at Four Seasons whenever there is one because of how perfect they do things. The Hermitage has brought it to the next level. Maybe the Four Seasons should come in for a visit. They may learn a couple things. I would be questioning any bad reviews of this hotel. Cant wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b1paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 154 in Nashville
5,353 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 154 in Nashville
2,736 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#22 of 154 in Nashville
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Thompson Nashville
#7 of 154 in Nashville
661 reviews
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#20 of 154 in Nashville
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910, The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. At Nashville's oldest and original hotel, come experience true southern hospitality and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing