We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hermitage Hotel, A Jewel in beautiful Nashville”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #4 of 159 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

From the moment you arrive you are in for an extraordinary experience. The entire staff makes you feel right at home, there's never a gap in superb service, never. This was the finest experience in a magnifcent Hotel with incredible history and kept beautifully. The rooms, the amenities, the food and atmoshere were trully fantastic. I would not hesitate to recommend staying at the Hermitage. It was an incredible experience. My wife's nephew held their wedding reception in the hotel and it went off without a hitch. I would go out of my way to stay here a gain.. Thanks!

Room Tip: Our entire family stayed in a different rooms on different floors and in different locations and all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Top of the line service. This has been one of my favorite hotel stays of all time. It is truly 5 star. We stopped by on a whim on the way to Ohio for an appointment for my husband. This has made a stressful trip very enjoyable for both of us. Thank you, we will be back for a longer stay sometime soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel will treat you like royalty. It was clean, beautiful, wonderfully appointed. Total attention to detail. I will definitely return to this hotel. The restaurant was great too. They have a sustainable garden not far from nashville where the chef trades in his chef white for overalls. They have some livestock, herbs, and vegetables that supply the restaurant. There was a write-up in Southern Living magazine about it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel is always the cleanest, nicest, most spectacular hotel to stay at while in Nashville. My wife and I try to go every couple of months just to stay there and get away from work. Staff is always helpful and rooms are fantastic. We sometimes just sit in the lobby by the fire for hours and enjoy the room. I have never had a bad experience there. You can also eat at Capitol Grille one of my favorite places to eat in the world. This is not the franchise "the capital grille". Capitol Grille is better.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LG P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Hermitage Hotel was awarded AAA's Five Diamond Award in 2012, and voted "one of the Finest Hotels in the World" by Forbes Travel Guide in 2012. After staying there for three nights I can see why. From the time I made reservations, until we checked out, Kimberly at the front desk was helpful, friendly, and professional. The doormen and valets assisted me with my mom's wheelchair and were pleasant each time we requested the car. When we needed a late check out, it was no problem. We rented two rooms that adjoined, and the space was amazing. One room had two queen beds, and a beautiful bathroom. It adjoined a King room with its own full bath also. The view of the Capitol with a lighted Christmas tree was special. Vickie, the concierge, assisted us with obtaining tickets to The Grand Ole Opry, and the ICE exhibit. Perfect service in every way. The rooms were comfortable and spacious--the amenities were the finest, the pillow options were great, the deep tub in the marble bathroom was relaxing.
The lobby of this over 100 year old hotel is breathtaking! The lighted Christmas tree, along with all the other Christmas decorations in the Grand Ballroom and the mirrored tiled hall give extra warmth to your holiday vacation.
We ate breakfast each morning at the Capital Grille, the restaurant on site. We also had lunch there on the day we arrived. Chancey was our waitress and was personable, and knowledgeable. Great sandwiches as well as entrees! Phillip was our waiter for breakfast and he, too, provided exceptional service. The homemade bisquits, along with Vermont's best preserves were delicious. In the afternoon snacks of spiced hot tea and delectable Christmas cookies were offered in the lobby.
The location was perfect for us to take my mom to the "Grand Ole Opry" as it was at the Ryman during this time of year. Also, we walked to church on Sunday only a couple blocks away. It was close to a great deal of action on Broadway also.
Suggestion: this is a "preferred hotel". Therefore, register with "I Prefer" and make your reservation through them to receive free extras. Also be aware of the costly overnight charge to park. It was $26 a night. Although, this hotel is expensive, for a special occasion, save a little more, and stay here. You will be glad you did.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor looking at the Capitol are quieter with a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martyjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a great 3 day weekend in Nashville staying at the Hermitage. Every staff person was EXCEPTIONALLY friendly, from Austin the doorman/valet to Chancey the waitress in the Capitol Grill. The lobby was beautifully decorated for the holiday season, and the rooms were perfect. Very comfortable bed, great water pressure in the shower, and luxurious bath sheets. In a word, Perfection!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2G0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is the only 5 star hotel in Nashville. I just spent 3 nights there. It is a 100+ year hotel and has a grand old world charm to it. You can feel the history in the walls. The hotel has been updated as much as possible but obviously cannot compare to a new hotel in terms of technology and the latest and greatest. Having said that, I enjoyed my stay other than the constant drilling hammering and exploding that is going on a few doors down.

The water pressure is good and the bath amenities and Molton Brown. The Capitol Grille in the basement of the hotel is good food at reasonable prices (dinner for 3 with 4 drinks, apps, entree and desert and tip was $296). One problem I had was that my salmon was raw. I didn't send it back however as my guests would have not been impressed. I mentioned it to the waitress "Chauncey" at breakfast the next day and she said she would take care of it, but nothing was done on my bill (although she was very lovely and sweet and attentive as a server).

I would return to this hotel if I need to come back to Nashville.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 159 in Nashville
2,929 reviews
Omni Nashville Hotel
#7 of 159 in Nashville
5,943 reviews
The Inn at Fontanel
#1 of 159 in Nashville
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#17 of 159 in Nashville
1,273 reviews
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#12 of 159 in Nashville
1,765 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 159 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range: $314 - $799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910, The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. At Nashville's oldest and original hotel, come experience true southern hospitality and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing