We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Koszalin, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hermitage is a beautiful hotel located just blocks away from Broadway Street in downtown Nashville. It is the place to be in Nashville. Great bars, restaurants, shopping, and entertainment are just a few blocks away. The rooms are large and very clean and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank papineauSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,192
    157
    39
    31
    20
See reviews for
242
610
42
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel but we had drinks in the Oak Bar which is a great retreat from the action. It's a nice low key place to enjoy conversation and have a drink and or a light bite to eat. It is beautiful Oak panel room with comfortable seating. As a side note don't forget to go see the Art Deco, beautiful restored bathrooms! They are stunning...esp the men's room (I had a man stand guard so I could go look in it) Ladies see my pictures of it if you aren't daring enough to go in ;-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jammiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Outstanding service at every level. Lots of room. If the little things matter this is your hotel. Great location to the new convention center, Broadway, stadium, and downtown country music venues.
Be ready to spent some coin for the room but the restaurant and bar are reasonable. One of the better hotels i've every stayed.

Room Tip: Corner rooms facing the capital building provide nice views. Good breakfast place: Pucketts and 417.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCcruiser999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in many hotels, but the Hermitage has to be the best one we have stayed in. Our suite was really big and the bathroom was huge, with a walkin glass shower and a big sit down tube with a vanity with 2 sinks and all the extras. The place was immaculate not any dust or anything, it was spotless, the cleanest room we have ever stayed in. The bed was comfy and the linens were amazing. The breakfast we had at the Capitol Grill downstairs was really good and the service fast and the place was spotless just like the room. The lobby is something to behold with the marble and high ceilings. This place is really nice. You have to stay here when in Nashville.

Room Tip: "Get a room with a view of the Capitol building"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesfanillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for a girls' getaway weekend at the end of August. Great location, easy walking distance to Broadway.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The bathroom is amazing - perfect for four girls getting ready at the same time.
We had breakfast every morning as part of our package. Food and service excellent. Also enjoyed drinks at the Oak Bar.
The service at the Hermitage is excellent. Everyone is very friendly and professional. Special thanks to Vickie the concierge, Brad and the bellman.
I would LOVE to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wheljenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I just visited the Hermitage and have to say it truly is a remarkable hotel! The staff is top notch in every way and make you feel like you are in the finest hotel in the world. The rooms are extremely comfortable with every amenity from robes and slippers to iPod docks. The bathroom is really where the room gets my top review, it is over the top! Trust me this hotel is a wonderful experience! Don't forget the Resturant ....wonderful food and again, top notch service!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bargerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This classic hotel is not new but the facilities are in perfect shape; elegant and comfortable.

I / we have stayed here three times. This past weekend being the most recent. The first time I was stranded in Nashville due to weather back home. AmEx recommended the Hermitage so I went there. I had no bags or accessories etc. Couldn't have been treated nicer. They even gave me a complimentary massage to help me recover from a long day on a bench at the airport. Needless to say, I won't ever visit Nashville without staying at the Hermitage.

My wife and I have been back twice and simply love this hotel (and we travel extensively and often). The decor, the beds, the TV's, etc. are excellent. And the bathroom is gorgeous. The water pressure and shower heads in the showers are amazing. This facility is top notch in all ways.

The restaurant is excellent but the Oak Bar is even better, extensive whiskey selection in an old clubroom atmosphere.

But what really brings us back is the customer service. I've spent 10 days camped there over the last 3 years and I have not a single complaint. The staff exude warmth and friendliness, always eager to go the extra mile.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWOrtho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#5 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 4,387 reviews
Downtown Nashville
No photo provided
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Inn at Fontanel
#1 of 154 in Nashville
5.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#27 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 stars 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing