We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Exceptional experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

My daughter and I came to visit Vanderbilt and decided to stay at the Hermitage hotel. We were so glad we did. The lobby is gorgeous to behold. Pictures do not capture the grandeur of this place.  They keep the hotel impeccably clean, and the staff is incredibly friendly and courteous.  We felt very special there. The top hat doormen Brad and Sam were always smiling and sweet which was very nice after a long day of touring.  Joseph was also very friendly and helpful. The location is great. Just 1 mile to Vanderbilt (about $10 cab fare) and walking distance to the downtown clubs, restaurants, and shops.  

The only negative is they seemed to have trouble getting my name right. Printed documents continued to show me as a male and my last name was persistently misspelled. When I first arrived, they even had me sign the wrong reservation. That said, they were apologetic although it was strange it kept happening. Despite this, it didn't negatively alter our great experience as all other encounters were good.

Rooms... We stayed in a standard room with two queen beds. The room was extremely large.  I had assumed the large, beautiful bath images from the website were for suite rooms. They were not.  Much to our surprise, the standard rooms have gorgeous baths with a flat-screen tv, huge tub, double sinks, and a large closet too.  We took long hot baths each day as a result -- although they didn't provide nice bath salts, we bought some nearby.  The water pressure was fantastic too which is great when you are filling that big tub.  Rooms were serviced twice daily and kept very clean. There is a huge flat panel hdtv in the room, probably about 40"!

Fitness area... I didn't really expect much but again to my surprise, it was not only outfitted with a good selection of cardio and free weights, but it had a heavy bag and smaller bag for boxing! I happen to enjoy kickboxing training, so I ended up using the fitness room every day as a result.  It was a smallish room but very nice and always clean with a view of the Capitol. They also supply lovely mint/cucumber water and bottled water also.

Dining... We had planned to eat in the Capitol Grill but ended up preferring to eat in the Oak Bar instead.  It had a more friendly energy and we were able to order from both menus there for dinner. Plus, the bar has a great happy hour.  The sirloin was amazing but the snapper was even better. We also enjoyed their fried green tomatoes and the wonderful farm fresh veggies.  Amanda was a sweet and attentive server.. Great personality.

What we didn't expect... We were surprised they provide complimentary coffee and mini muffins in the lobby for guests.  In the afternoons, they provide really great cookies and hot apple cider.  Also, complimentary bottled water in the rooms at evening turndown.  The beds were incredibly comfortable, much more than we had expected even for a five star hotel.  I have never slept in a nicer bed.  Felt like heaven.  I was surprised that the restaurant was so busy. If you plan to go, make sure to make reservations well in advance.

If you go, expect to pay a lot, not just for the room and food but for the tipping.  It all adds up, but having said that, it was so worth it for the experience.  

BTW, We also tried some other restaurants... Puckett's was great and we adored Merchant's Bistro. Also there was lots of smoking and very drunk people on Broadway (bar scene) even at an early hour (8 pm-ish).  It was nice to escape back to the serenity of the Hermitage afterward.

If we return, I sincerely hope we can afford to return to the Hermitage. Just lovely!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    166
    43
    31
    20
See reviews for
249
652
43
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Opted to stay here for a two day visit in Nashville. Good decision! This fine old lady hasn't lost a scintilla of her charm. The service was 5-star. Room was spotless, quiet and comfortable. Hotel restaurant also excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeJayKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whidbey island, wa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

It was Christmas and the hotel was beautifully decorated. We enjoyed the Capital Grill and the bar downstairs. Our room was lovely, the bathtub was huge, and a wonderful walkin shower, heavenly bubbles and soaps provided. The bed was very cozy, even a pillow menu with all the different pillows stored in the closet! So over the top was hotel stationary in the room with my name printed at the top! We sepecially appreciated the morning paper delivered each day. The valet guys were great, so many fun suggestions for music venues and restaurants....especially useful since there was no concierge for the time we were there. Room service was an unexpected surprise, cold food~but the coffee was hot.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
319 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

If you like grand historic hotels, look no further. Our corner room was spacious, top rate and had a great view of the Capitol across the street. The lobby is stunning, the restaurant good and the bar atmospheric and fun. Al Gore was there on the day we visited but we just missed seeing him. Centrally located and within walking distance of the honky tonk bars and music scene.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diverdad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

The place to stay in Nashville.We were in the US on holidays and was recommended this excellent hotel. Arrived to a smiling welcoming from the valet who assisted with our heavy luggage. You cannot help but be impressed on entering the lobby of the Hermitage.If this was what the old south was about I wish I was there.The staff were all very happy and helpful, The rooms are large and comfortable and the restaurant is lovely. The food at breakfast and dinner was excellent.If you go to the restaurant you must see the mens restrooms.Since the first visit we have returned and it was just like returning home.A warm felling of comfort provided by the staff and the beautiful building. No complaints here we loved it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I were not able to travel to Mexico or the Caribbean over the holidays, like we normally do, so we decided to head "south" of Indianapolis for a mini-vacation instead. The Hermitage Hotel was the second of three stops on a Louisville-Nashville-Memphis grand tour.
We stayed here several years ago and were so happy with our stay that we decided to stay here again. The staff at the Hermitage make it extremely difficult to find anything wrong with your experience while staying there. The hotel is historic and beautiful, but it is truly the staff that makes guests return again and again. All of our interactions with the staff at the Hermitage were gracious and warm.
Like other reviewers have said, the rooms are very spacious, with bathrooms that are large and well appointed. They provide great toiletries and luxurious towels. The water pressure is outstanding and I just didn't want to leave my room!
However, one must eat and drink, right? The bar located in the lower level is beautiful and very clubby in its feel. We had a drink there after we had finished dinner at Park Cafe (in west end neighborhood). We also had breakfast the next morning in the Capital Grill. We received coffee right away, but it took forever for my husband to get his waffle. I received my breakfast right away (continental). I think it was just an oversight by our waiter who may have not picked up the waffle when it was made and then had to reorder it again? The restaurant was not busy when this happened, but it was delicious when he did receive it. Not a dealbreaker, but it was odd.
The Hermitage is located a short walk from literally everything (restaurants, entertainment and bars).
The Hermitage is a great hotel that is definitely worth the extra dollars to stay here. With the exception of the "waffle incident" the stay was literally perfect, as always.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lchandler4285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

My hubby & I went for a concert at 3rd & Lindsley to see Beth Hart. We arrived and the valet guy was right there and helped us w/ luggage.Once inside, the first thing you notice is the beautiful Lobby w/ Fireplace burning. Our room was extra nice. Large, with lots of surprises; like a weight scale in the bathroom, robes & Slippers, comp bottles of water as well as all you would expect. All the staff is very friendly & helpful . Free complimentary coffee & mini muffins in lobby in the mrning. We had to pay $26.00 for the overnight parking but noticed after ,that there is a nice public parking lot just accross the street . Centrally located for easy walking to everything. When we stayed our view out our window was Occupy Nashville in the park w/ tents everywhere. Ask about a AAA member discount.... We got a really good rate. Also we never had to wait very long for the elevator.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissarunsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,945 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#14 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#23 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#16 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing