We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect Place to Spend Your Wedding Night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Spend Your Wedding Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

My son was married on 8/13 and I booked he and his bride a room at the Hermitage Hotel for their wedding night. This is the perfect hotel. The lobby is spectacular with its stained glass ceiling and ornamentation of a bygone era. Elegance at its best. The door man in his top hat and tails sets the mood. When they arrived they were upgraded from a Junior Suite to a full one bedroom suite which was a very nice surprise! The suite had views of the Tennessee State Capital. The accommodations were lovely and the gift of champagne and chocolates was over the top. The Bride and Groom felt very special on a very special day.
This hotel is not just for newly weds. It is for anyone who wants a fabulous hotel with superior service and a staff who thinks of everything.....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trvlstrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,245
    165
    43
    31
    20
See reviews for
249
648
43
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

If you are looking for a low key place to enjoy conversation and a fantastic mixed drink, head to the Oak Bar at the Hermitage. It is beautifully redone, lovely Oak paneling and classy comfortable seating. We sampled fried green tomatoes, "Sin Dip" and other treats while sipping drinks from heavy crystal glasses. Service was impeccable. And yes, my boyfriend took pictures of the rather impressive men's room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahmoonflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
165 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed for two days at the Hermitage. We were all very impressed and about all I can say is that this is one of the few 5 star rated hotels that actually earns the rating.

This is an old historic hotel which usually means small rooms and even smaller bathrooms. However, our room on the 9th floor was quite large and the bathroom was very nice with a walk in shower seperate from the bathtub. It was much larger than I was expecting. The rooms have obviously been upgraded in the recent past and are very clean and the furniture is in great shape and comfortable. My only complaint on the room is that the windows do not open and I prefer fresh air when possible.

We used the AAA rate for our stay, and the value for the money was excellent. The only prices I would consider even the least bit high are for the valet parking and the mini-bar, but that is common with every hotel.

The lobby staff was friendly and efficient without being pushy. I also really liked how the front desk staff asked what would be the optimum time for housekeeping to service our room during our stay. This is actually the first place that has ever asked me that, and I like it!

The lobby had coffee, ice water and some cookies or muffins most of the day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drwokla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Absolutely wonderful place to stay once again in Nashville!

The professional staff, the beautiful relaxing rooms, food, you name it, it was the best place that you must at when you visit Nashville-they will take care of you.

Thank you for making my stay wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AirCharterTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

The rooms are very spacious. The bathroom was luxurious. We have a beautiful view of the capitol. We also liked that it was within walking distance to entertainment and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babsobeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

There is really nothing negative, and plenty positive to say about this fine histotic luxury hotel. Rooms are extremely nice and well-appointed. The amenities are of high quality and houskeeping never misses an opportunity to "straighten-up" the room. Friendly and accomodating staff. Room service meal was excellent. Ambience is marvelous. One can leave his shoes outside the door, and they will be polished and back at your room early the next morning.
Two cons. My wife and I met at the room and we both had to pay for parking. For the life of me I do not understand why these luxury hotels, given the price of the room, feel they have to make a exorbitant separate charge for the parking. Also, I received a separate charge on my bill for an expense I did not incur. However, this was easily and pleasantly resolved.
There is an exercise room but no pool. In the "basement" you can find a wonderful bar and one of, if not the best restaurants in Nashville. Be sure and check-out the men's art-deco bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akagr446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

What a wonderful treat! Everything from the hot apple cider and cookies in the lobby to the robes is just wonderful. We have stayed at the Hermitage on numerous occassions and have never been disappointed. The staff is always very courteous and helpful. The beds are beyond comfortable. The location is very convenient if you are attending any downtown event. You also have numerous restaurants options within walking distance including the Capitol Grille located within the Hotel. I wouldn't change a thing!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madison411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,856 reviews
Thompson Nashville
#2 of 154 in Nashville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#14 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#23 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Nashville Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing