We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back”
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
NM
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Will be back”
Reviewed October 1, 2007

I am always nervous about visiting a new place and wondering if I made the correct choice in lodging. Here, we difinitely did. The hotel is beautiful and clean. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms larger than average. The shower gel really stood out, as did the heavy-duty towels. At first, we were concerned with the parking...you have to pull up in the right lane of the street and leave your vehicle. The parking is valet only. But, it appeared to be a system that worked well. The capital was within walking distance. Driving to Opry Mills, the Grand Ole Opry and other attractions takes ab 15 minutes, but not that big a deal. Every morning, there was coffee and tea in the lobby. However, there was no place to grab a quick roll or donut within the hotel. Traveling with kids, that would have been nice. Breakfast at a sit-down is too big an ordeal. Everyone was so friendly and we really enjoyed ourselves. We definitely want to return to Nashville and will only stay at the Hermitage.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank familyfour65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    175
    51
    34
    20
See reviews for
261
693
44
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

We were in town for business and instead of staying in Brentwood or near the airport--I decided it would be a nice splurge--and IT WAS. Everything about our stay from the friendly doormen, efficient check-in, lovely rooms, great beds, great food--a near perfect stay.

I was upgraded to a Capitol suite which basically is a regular room with a nice view of the Capitol (the only other difference we could detect from the regular room--was that my room had a flat panel TV in the bathroom--everything else--including size was the same).

The beds were great--with a extra stash of fancy pillows in the closet. Nice Molton Brown bath products. Big marble bathrooms. Big whirlpool tub--which I did use.

We had room service breakfast both mornings--very efficient and delicious. We ate lunch at the Capitol Grille. Very nicely done and again, delicious, fresh food.

The lobby is beautiful. On our departure day we had a bottle of wine brought up from the bar to the lobby and we just relaxed on the fluffy couches and admired the exquisite ceilings and great old place of times gone by.

The service was VERY good--by every single employee--we thought the door guys were especially genuine and friendly.

I highly recommend The Hermitage Hotel for anyone who wants a special weekend getaway or even a special treat when traveling on business (as we were). All around it was probably one of the nicest if not the nicest hotel I've stayed in over the last 5 years--and I stay about 100 nights per year in various places including many 5 star places--and the HH is top notch in every way.

  • Liked — The beds
  • Disliked — I liked everything!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank iyhberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2007

This place "gets it." Everything is 5-star, from the staff to the rooms to the extra amenities. Very accommodating in every way. The people from the Madison in Memphis should stay here to understand what a nice hotel experience is about.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunnies88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2007

In town for the night to see Crowded House at the Ryman, decided to stay at the Hermitage based on TA reviews. From the moment we drove up, service was attentive and cheerful. Check-in at the front desk was prompt and friendly. Even the concierge next to the elevator seemed genuinely friendly in wishing us a great stay. When I asked the porter if the gift shop sold NY Times, he said no - but he would be more than happy to pick one up for me down the street at Starbucks. Wow!
The room was simply beautiful with its understated elegance. The bed was extremely comfortable, and there were even 3 different types of pillows in the closet for you to choose from. The robes were marvelous, light and so luxurious. And the bathrooms are everything they claimed to be with double vanities, a large soaking tub and separate walk- in shower.
We had early dinner at the Oak Bar downstairs. Service was excellent, as was the food. The burgers with Pt Reyes blue cheese claimed to have been voted "best in Tennessee" and they really were. Even their wine selection was great. They also provide free refreshments next to the elevator in the evenings and free coffee in the morning.
I must mention though, if you are a light sleeper, be sure to ask for a room away from the elevator. We were in Rm 503, with the elevator and ice machine behind us. I cannot complain about this, since I'm sure if I had requested a room change - they would have gladly done it. By the time we returned from the show, it was late and it was not worth the trouble of moving. But there is no doubt, the elevator definitely rumbles when in use.
I would absolutely stay here again. While it may seem a bit pricier than other hotels in the area, it is well worth it. I would definitely recommend giving it a try. On a side note, if you are able to see a concert at the Ryman, do not pass it up. The acoustics are spectacular.

  • Liked — Wonderful staff and understated elegance.
  • Disliked — Elevator rumbling.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank deardiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

This is a beautiful hotel and we really enjoyed staying here. Nice room with comfortable beds and a great bathroom with a fantastic shower! I would recommend this without hesitation. Very nice staff. The TV did not have pay-per-view movies like many hotels have, however there was a DVD player so we went to Blockbuster nearby and rented movies.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starryrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

From the moment we arrived at The Hermitage, reality far exceeded our expectations. This historic property has an exquisite lobby with a breathtaking stained glass ceiling. From the valet to the front desk manager to the bellman , we were greeted with gracious, helpful and welcoming hospitality. Our incredibly spacious room was beautifully decorated and had an amazing view of the capitol building. The oversized bathroom was marble with a seperate shower, deep bathtub, 2 sinks and a closed off toilet area. The room was kept immaculate by the invisible housekeeping staff who we never saw in the 4 days we were at the hotel but their presence was certainly appreciated. The turn down service in the evening included fresh robes, bottled water and special non- chocolate delights which were so appreciated since I am allergic to chocolate. Every electronic amenity including wireless internet, cable tv, and a dvd player were in the room as was a mini bar/refrigerator.The newspaper of our choice was delivered to our door every morning. Downstairs, right outside the elevators there was complimentary coffee/tea and muffins every morning and in the same spot at teatime, there would be fresh lemonade, sparkling cider and fresh cookies. The 2 on site restaurants are the Capitol Grill and The Oak Bar. I had an informal lunch in the Oak Bar which was delicious. On the 4th of July, when all the downtown restaurants were overcrowded with people, we enjoyed an wonderful dinner in the elegant Capitol Grill.
It was very easy to walk to the local restaurants and tourist bars/attractions that are located in the downtown area from The Hermitage. There is a totally adequate gym on the premises, as well as a full service spa. As a critical New Yorker, I can honestly say that I have nothing negative to say about this hotel and I would return in a heartbeat. The Hermitage was truly a treasure to discover.

  • Liked — The oversized beautiful room which was a calming retreat from the busy city.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mosaicmediator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

My husband and I stayed 3 nights ending December 31. The hotel was decorated beautifully for the holidays. The room was very clean. All staff (valet, bellhop, front desk, restaurant, gift shop, bar) were extremely polite and helpful. We loved the fitness room. The view from the treadmills is great. The only complaint we had is that were charged an additional $9.00 on our credit card. We didn't know what the charge was when our statement arrived so we called the hotel. They told us $9.00 worth of food/snacks had been taken from our room the day we checked out. We told the hotel that we had not consumed any of the in-room snacks during our stay. We told them we wouldn't spend over $1100.00 for 3 nights and then try to rip them off for $9.00. They told us no problem and credited the charge. We received a call later that an employee had removed the items from the room and said that the guests (us) had drank/eaten them. Hope they got rid of the employee responsible.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — None of the staff could tell us much about the hotel's history, no books in gift shop
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GinaPhxBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#7 of 155 in Nashville
5,586 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 155 in Nashville
2,809 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#21 of 155 in Nashville
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#18 of 155 in Nashville
1,133 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Hutton Hotel
#14 of 155 in Nashville
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910, The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. At Nashville's oldest and original hotel, come experience true southern hospitality and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing