We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Interesting History”

Cheekwood Botanical Gardens & Museum of Art
Ranked #26 of 252 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience Cheekwood, the 55-acre estate built by the Maxwell House Coffee fortune in Nashville, Tennessee, and one of the finest examples of an American Country Place Era Estate in the United States. The Botanical Garden is a spectacular showcase of color and horticultural diversity with eleven specialty display gardens and stunning natural landscape. The Museum of Art has collections of Painting, Sculpture and Decorative Arts. Visitors can enjoy year-round family-friendly activities with four distinct festivals held during the year. From Cheekwood in Bloom with more than 50,000 tulips in the Spring, to a children’s wonderland of Christmas trees, Trains, Santa, live reindeer, and more during Holiday at Cheekwood, Cheekwood celebrates the seasons in style with something for everyone!
Starkville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Interesting History”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I took my inlaws here Mid April and tulips were really pretty. It was fairly crowded but a beautiful day and spring is here, so people were everywhere. Worth the visit. $12/person. Enjoyed learning about the Cheek family and exploring the mansion and gardens. Not a fan of the art, but it made for an enjoyable afternoon. Missed the sculpture trail. Might have been nice to do that.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mrjasongill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    257
    79
    27
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
154 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very nice gardens”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We visited on a Sunday and we're glad we did. The gardens are good size and it's very organized.

The Japanese Garden was my favorite since the cherry trees were blossoming. The sculpture trail was very interesting and provided a good hiking experience.

The only negative was that they were advertising that weekend that their tulips were already in bloom, but most of them had not opened up yet.

Definitely would visit again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful but not as peaceful as I expected”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I visit gardens in almost every city we visit. This was certainly on the bigger side, and had some unique features like the Japanese garden. I had never seen a bamboo forest before. The cascading pond feature with the singing bullfrogs was also a highlight. The downside was that I visited during the week, and there was pretty much a steady stream of school children on field trips. Nothing against children exploring the outdoors, but "outside voices" of dozens of little ones did take away from the tranquility one expects at a botanical garden.

One added bonus was that I actually really enjoyed driving around the neighborhood around the gardens. Beautiful homes, tree canopies, lovely manicured lawns. Take time to enjoy that.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bikemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middle tenn
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Little Early”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We visited in early April 2013. Lovely grounds and very helpful staff as we needed the shuttle to go to and from the parking area. It was the first nice weekend of the spring so was very busy. It's a perfect place for spending a nice weather day outside.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mspurple55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Historic”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The entry price is well worth it. The gardens, the sculpture garden and the mansion/art museum are certainly worth your time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sldufhglviuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheekwood Botanical Gardens & Museum of Art also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Cheekwood Botanical Gardens & Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing