We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we love it and go often it is fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Adventure Science Center
Ranked #43 of 253 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore 44,000 square feet of over 175 exciting hands-on science exhibits and activities revealing the wonders of biology, physics, chemistry, medicine, space, earth science, technology, and more. Experience a state-of-the-art planetarium offering spectacular journeys to the stars, laser shows, and amazing full-dome films for children and adults. Enjoy award-winning daily live science demos, labs, and science cafes presented by a talented staff of scientist educators. Adventure Science Center is dedicated to creating learning experiences that open minds to the wonders of science and technology, fostering a better understanding of ourselves and the world around us. Adventure Science Center is an independent, not-for-profit center of science, learning, and exploration.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“we love it and go often it is fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Hands on a lot of fun for kids of all ages I enjoy watching the kids . Kids love the moon walker . They change it enough where it keeps the interest of kids. we have a 6 year old and 13 year . The 6 year old is to small for moon walk but the 13 year old enjoys it and so does my hubby. I love it cause my wheel chair can go almost every where.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    160
    72
    20
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great and Neat Place”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a must go to hands on museum for children and adults alike. You won't be sorry you gave this place a chance.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Noleman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“greatly enjoyed museum, except planetarium not for small children”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great children's science museum - lots of hands on activities and room to run around. We were there on a Saturday, and it wasn't that crowded. Super space exhibit with "Moonwalker" where you are harnessed in and "fly" around, practicing what it is like in space. Google Earth table where you can aim and zoom to find your house anywhere on the planet. We were there with relatives with 2 children, 5 and 7, and it was perfect.

The only disappointment was the planetarium show. Instead of being a regular, age appropriate, planetarium show (we saw "stars" - sounds innocent enough!) where you see the night sky and they explain things, it was an IMAX type show with wild flashing lights, fast moving objects, and gratuitous spinning (even the adults had to look at the horizon of the theater to keep from feeling dizzy). The info was fine, but the visual part wasn't age appropriate for small children. They were scared, the younger one cried, and a family next to us left in the middle with their young one. Also not for those who get motion sickness. Seems that quiet contemplation of the night sky has given way to the over-stimulation world of video games, movies, and IMAX theaters.

Other than that, we all had a great visit!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank turi_dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another fun adventure!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Met up with our friends again, this time here. The kids had a lot of fun! Subway was a bit crowded, but the service was good. Interesting to say the least!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ninabarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickson, Tennessee, United States
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for the grand kids”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Took my grand kids here & we had a blast... a lot of activities to keep them busy from the moment we walked in the door till I had to drag them out.. watched a movie/film in the dome about space & it even kept their attention...will be bring them back on their next visit,, a GREAT place to take children to learn play & just have fun for the whole family :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Science Center also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Adventure Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing