We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local Zoo”
Review of Nashville Zoo

Nashville Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.00*
and up
Nashville Zoo Admission Pass
Ranked #41 of 253 things to do in Nashville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Add some exotic to the everyday with Nashville Zoo at Grassmere. Wander through a lush canopy of bamboo, come face to face with a clouded leopard, feed some Australian parrots, and delve into the far reaches of the Amazon. Nashville Zoo is your ticket to African giraffes, poison arrow frogs, zebras, red pandas, kangaroos, gibbons, meerkats and much more! Children of all ages will be fascinated with the zoo’s Highlighted Habitats. Find out why a baby giraffe likes warm temperatures. Walk the winding path through 4,500 square feet of naturalistic Australian landscape in the Kangaroo Kickabout. In the Kickabout, you will be in the home of a troop of red kangaroos. Keep your eyes and ears open for the cockatoos that also live in Kangaroo Kickabout. In between your animal adventures, be sure to take a spin on our Wild Animal Carousel, get a new view of the Zoo from Soaring Eagle zip line, monkey around our 66,000-square-foot Jungle Gym, or even step back in time on the walking tour at our Grassmere Historic Home and Farm. When you visit the 1810 historic home, you will learn about the name “Grassmere” and how the zoo came to be located there.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great local Zoo”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Visited with family,first as the weather was not good, they advised us that not all animals would be out, and as such the entrance fee was halved. This was up front so it was a delight to see so many out. The number and variety of animals is very good for a local amenity with limited resources, the layout and facilities are very good, ie the walks are mostly on the level so no climbing or steps to climb. So for the cost of a hamburger you get a good day out which I reckon is very good value. To be highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annon999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    401
    191
    83
    39
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful zoo... not many animals.”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I've been three times since getting my membership in June. Since then I've been to nine other zoos. Sadly Nashville falls on the low end of the list. On it's own it's a beautiful zoo. Everything seems new and well taken care, but there really aren't many animals. The zoo is growing every year, in fact they have have a new walk threw kangaroo area coming in 2013. But right now, when its time to renew my membership, I'm switching to Knoxville.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matthew0027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Great place to take the kids. The historical animals in the old farm are a neat addition. The walkways are nice, there is shade in many areas (appreciated in the summer), and the water mist to help cool rambunctious kids off in the summer is great. We can never leave without a ride on the carousel. Go for the season pass... it's worth it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Meerkats!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

You can view the meerkats at ground level through an observation tube that comes up in the middle of their exhibit. It's awesome when they come over and look back at you. Lots of beautiful exhibit spaces and a fun playground. Go when its cooler outside to see the most animals. check out all the monkeys, you can usually hear them calling each other, before you see them!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank nanatbrdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbs, New Mexico, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun for kids”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a fun visit here. I was glad I had Grandma to take turns pushing the stroller for my 1 year old and twin 3 year olds. There are lots of hills, and the maps of how to get between exhibits are confusing. But a little one definitely wouldn't be able to walk the whole way either.

The food selections aren't great, but if you take your lunch, there's lots of open seating options. Lots of great animal viewing spots. The giraffes and the farm areas were my kids favorites.

My son still talks about their dinosaur exhibit (a temporary exhibit I think).

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nashville Zoo also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Nashville Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing