We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful plantation tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belle Meade Plantation

Belle Meade Plantation
Book In Advance
$69.00*
and up
Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents
Ranked #11 of 241 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Belle Meade Plantation is a non-profit historic site located in Nashville, TN. Established in 1807, Belle Meade was revered as the greatest thoroughbred stud farm in the United States. It was home to Iroquois,the first American bred horse to win the Epsom Derby and the great foundation sire,Bonnie Scotland,whose descendants include Secretariat, Seattle Slew, Native Dancer, Big Brown and California Chrome. Belle Meade was owned and operated by the Harding-Jackson family for nearly a century from 1807 until 1906. Today their home is restored to its turn of the century appearance along with several original outbuildings.
Clear Lake, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful plantation tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Beautiful grounds. Fascinating history of the plantation, the people and the horses that lived there. Our tour guide for the plantation house was excellent. She was able to answer all of our questions. Even our 14 year old granddaughter enjoyed the tour of the house and grounds. This was a great start to our Tennessee vacation.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,416
    752
    177
    32
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Toured the Belle Meade last weekend with my husband and 21 and 23 year old daughters. We all really enjoyed it. Great tour guides, so much history! The wine tasting at the end of the tour is an added bonus :) We brought home some wine for ourselves and as gifts. Would definitely recommend it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jackie9304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordanstown,N Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Good tour of a Greek Revival mansion with informative guides in period costume. The tour starts with the carriages, progresses through the mansion to the winery where samples are available. There is also a restaurant and a substantial gift shop. Would like to have stayed slightly longer than the time allowed by our tour company in order to explore the grounds more.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelkidx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
305 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“WOW - Great History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

What a great step back in time. The home and grounds are so beautiful. There is a nice winery on grounds. All purchases go back to the plantation.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wiscmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“worth the stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

plan on spending a few hours here. the self guided tour of the out grounds gives you time to really enjoy all that there is to see.. the guided tour of the plantation house was awesome. our tour guide Jesse was great! could answer most question's and honest enough to admit when he could not. Would stop again, history of the usa is always something we love to learn about!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank char m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belle Meade Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Belle Meade Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing