We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belle Meade Plantation

Belle Meade Plantation
Book In Advance
$69.00*
and up
Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents
Ranked #11 of 240 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Belle Meade Plantation is a non-profit historic site located in Nashville, TN. Established in 1807, Belle Meade was revered as the greatest thoroughbred stud farm in the United States. It was home to Iroquois,the first American bred horse to win the Epsom Derby and the great foundation sire,Bonnie Scotland,whose descendants include Secretariat, Seattle Slew, Native Dancer, Big Brown and California Chrome. Belle Meade was owned and operated by the Harding-Jackson family for nearly a century from 1807 until 1906. Today their home is restored to its turn of the century appearance along with several original outbuildings.
Elk River, Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“worth the stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

plan on spending a few hours here. the self guided tour of the out grounds gives you time to really enjoy all that there is to see.. the guided tour of the plantation house was awesome. our tour guide Jesse was great! could answer most question's and honest enough to admit when he could not. Would stop again, history of the usa is always something we love to learn about!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank char m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,320
    704
    159
    32
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
260 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great Mansion Tour, Self Guided Grounds Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The mansion tour is well worth the $16 per person (less for seniors). Very informational and interesting considering they owned a horse who's lineage traces down to every Kentucky Derby winner since I don't know when (a long time ago). The mansion and furnishings are impeccable. The grounds aren't lush with flowers, but well groomed.
The winery was okay, but we didn't care for the wines.
Worh the visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donrosel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh,IN
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A lovely book tour!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Four friends and I toured the mansion and grounds after reading the book 'To Whisper Her Name' by Tamera Alexander. Belle Meade offers tours specific for readers of this book, which is based on Civil War facts based in and around Nashville. All four of us loved this book....and our guide, Margaret, did an outstanding job of answering all of our questions and showing us every nook and cranny related to the book that we wanted to see. After our tour, we visited the winery and the restaurant......and left the plantation agreeing that this was the best girl outing that we have ever had.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JEP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Historical Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My friend and I met someone at a bar and they told us we had to visit the Belle Meade Plantation, so we looked into it. We are both really glad we followed that person's advice because we had an awesome time. The tour was amazing. We had Michael as our tour guide and he was very impressive! He was able to answer everyone's questions and provide great detail about the plantation and its occupants. Outside of the tour, there are several other buildings to see on the grounds that are very interesting. At the end of the tour you can go to the winery for tastings. The employees have a few picked out, but once the tasting is over, you can request to taste any others you had wanted to sample. They also have chocolatiers! We each bought two bottles of wine and some chocolates. We had the best time here! We would recommend it for small children as you are in the mansion for an hour and you can't touch anything, plus, you have to go up and down the staircases. If children are a little older, it seems like a great family place. This is definitely and must see!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hsbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nashville gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Although this attraction is currently only about 25 acres of the original 5000, it is an excellent example of life on a large plantation. The tour guides were well informed and in period costume. The wine-tasting room was my downfall; had to buy some, of course!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belle Meade Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Belle Meade Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing