We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Andrew Jackson's Plantation was a great place to visit”

Andrew Jackson's Hermitage
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents
Ranked #6 of 252 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Hermitage, Home of President Andrew Jackson, is one of the largest and most visited presidential homes in the United States, and recently named the #1 historic house in Tennessee. Today, The Hermitage is a 1,120-acre National Historic Landmark with over 30 historic buildings,that welcomes some 190,000 annual visitors, including 30,000 schoolchildren, from all 50 states and many foreign countries.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Andrew Jackson's Plantation was a great place to visit”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I have been on other plantation tours and have been disappointed a few times, but not at this place. We paid $45 for the family of four rate. The price included a audio tour headphone deal, a mansion guided tour, a film on the president, and the museum. The guides and people working around the grounds were all very friendly and enjoyed answering questions and being helpful. We were there about two hours and saw it all. My kids 9 and 13 enjoyed the plantation as well.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank explorer1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,425
    1,122
    208
    32
    9
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Grandiose Historic Property with Many Buildings to Explore”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

My visit to the Hermitage was interesting from the moment I started driving down the road to the visitor center and museum. There is a long country road that passes through fields with horses and picket fences before you reach the parking lot. The museum has a film screening room and a few rooms with artifacts from Andrew Jackson's working life. Imo, the most interesting object in the museum was a book hand written by Jackson detailing his daily farm chores; he was an incredibly busy man before becoming President! At Jackson's home you are guided through hallways and told stories about how the President lived and entertained. His burial monument and garden is to the right of the home. There are also several slave cabins to explore. I learned a great deal about President Jackson's life and times and would highly recommend visiting if you are a fan of history. I would have given the Hermitage 5/5 if visitors were allowed to enter the rooms in the home and if there were more guided tours rather than headset tours. Also, the women checking out the headsets for the audio tour were very nice and willing to talk about anything in Tennessee!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank InnocentDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudoun County,Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Andrew Jackson's Glassed In Mansion”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

I enjoy visiting historical houses, and I appreciate the need to preserve everything and create a "no touch" environment, but what they have done here at The Hermitage - is simply wrong. Why bother giving an inside door of the house!!! Your mansion tour involves walkng into the hallways of both the1st and 2nsd floors, BUT that is as far as you will go! All of the rooms are shielded with a clear plastic door, so it is very difficult to even peer into the room especially if there are a large number of people on the tour. I have been to Mount Vernon and Monticello, and at least you can walk into the rooms which are cordoned off. But here is the ultimate - walk in and take a peek if you can.
The 1000 acre grounds are delightful including the tombs of Rachel and Andrew Jackson; there are the gardensand the museum. Unforyunately, the Mansion tour is really a flop because there is so little to see. Having a movie of the mansion would be better than seeing so little. For the $17 admission, I would expect better. If your time is constrained in the Nashville area, other hiostoric pursuits might be better!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank hunterbridge0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Historical Attraction”
Reviewed April 24, 2011

I love history and I love old homes and I loved this attraction. The home is in excellent authentic condition and the grounds and outbuildings are beautiful. They truly take you back in time and educate you on the period in which Jackson lived. I also appreciated the respect and attention they gave to the slaves who were so much a part of The Hermitage.
Plan accordingly. If you don't allow enough time to take advantage of all The Hermitage has to offer, you'll be missing out! I thought I would be there a couple of hours and spent all afternoon soaking in the history :)

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BSU82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Ontario
Level Contributor
185 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

The gardens and grounds are lovely, but the interior of the house is very special (unfortunately you cannot take pictures inside).

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andrew Jackson's Hermitage also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Andrew Jackson's Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing