We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At night quite the sight...”
Review of The Parthenon

The Parthenon
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Discover Nashville
More Info
$39.00*
and up
Nashville Trolley Tour
More Info
$34.00*
and up
Music City Hop on and Hop Off Tour
Ranked #22 of 253 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Standing as the centerpiece in Nashville's Centennial Park, the Parthenon is a full scale replica of the Parthenon in Athens, Greece. Come inside to see the 42-foot gilded sculpture of Athena, the permanent display of American paintings from the Cowan Collection, the history of the Nashville Parthenon dating back to the 1897 Tennessee Centennial Exposition, and a variety of temporary shows and exhibitions! The entrance is located on the ground level of the East side of the building.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“At night quite the sight...”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We saw the Parthenon at sunrise on the day of the Country Music Marathon and thought how beautiful. Wow! Then we stopped by at night to see it lit up and double wow! Very impressive. We didn't have time to visit inside but will the next time in Nashville.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank diehardjimmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,423
    1,123
    430
    67
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Must see if you are a visitor”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Originally built as an attraction for a turn of the century Tennessee fair using the theme of Nashville as the Athens of the South. The popularity of the original Parthenon plaster structure inspired creation of this permanent exact replica of the original. The art gallery inside houses a 42 foot statue of Athena holding NIke. Wonderful park grounds surround with a train, jet, and small lake/pond for the kids. Take a lunch and a blanket and enjoy being in the shadow of a beautiful Greek architectural marvel. And you thought we only had the best pickers in the world.....

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank tom t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Save a trip to Greece”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

On a cross-country tour a few years ago we were visiting the normal tourist sites in Nashville. Our guidebook mentioned the Parthenon in a local park, and we decided to hunt it up on the spur of the moment, not expecting much. What a GEM! We walked around it outside, amazed at the architecture, and then walked through the museum inside. We wandered further inside and, voila, the gigantic golden statue of Athena just overwhelmed us! We had no idea it was there. They were just finishing a refurbishing of the gold, and it was spectacular! We had never heard of it before, and we were so happy we stopped. I've talked to several people who have visited Nashville, but none had visited the Parthenon or even heard of it. They missed a terrific experience. We've never gotten to the Acropolis, and know it isn't in good shape. This replica shows you how magnificent the original was. We had seen the Elgin Marbles at the British Museum, and seeing the sculptures in place and complete was wonderful. Take your binoculars to see them up close. I hope Nashville gets the word out to the country and the world. It's a must-see, and one of our favorite sites anywhere.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank NorCalBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland City, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Little Athens”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The Parthenon is a great place to visit for the art contained inside, plus the statue of Athena. It is a reminder of a culture long past.

Helpful?
Thank wp327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Highlight of our trip to Nashville. Full of history and an art gallery downstairs to boot. We loved it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Parthenon also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to The Parthenon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing