We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Historic Travellers Rest Plantation & Museum
Ranked #57 of 252 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Travellers Rest Plantation & Museum celebrates the history of early Nashville. The home, built by Judge John Overton, was completed in 1799 - just three years after Tennessee became a state. The home is furnished with period and family pieces all dating to the 1830s or earlier.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The plantation and museum are not sign-posted even on neighbouring roads, which is a real shame, as this place is a hidden jewel. The house is not a grand southern mansion, but rather a large farm house with furniture, objects and lots of history. I was personally shown round by two knowledgeable guides in period costume, and loved it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BacanaBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    51
    17
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Another look at plantation life”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We toured Travellers Rest on a Saturday morning as they were setting up for a wedding. The house is preserved as it would have been in the 1880's.
NIce way to spend a Saturday morning.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Romanwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Historic plantation”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This plantation was not on the scale of The Hermitage or Belle Meade, however the grounds are beautiful, the out buildings are well presented. And the historic house is stately. A nice place to visit for a couple of hours.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank acraw42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relative's Wedding Locationq”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

A great historic piece of property that was a wonderful background setting for a wedding. The plantation afforded wedding guests the opportunity to tour the house while there was daylight left. The rehabbed barn where the reception was held was comfortable and nicely redone.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Meri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A secret gem in Nashville with a great guide in John.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We'd done some other Plantation/ Civil War attractions last year so didn't intend to do anymore, but read about this in a magazine while in Nashville so as it was close thought we'd try it ..
Our tour guide John was do informative ..dressed in period costume in 90 degree heat, he kept his composure , walked the house with us with great knowledge and was genuinely interested in the history of the place, telling us that in his family tree he was a distant cousin to the Overton's who built this spot . Usually I drift off on these tours but John was vibrant, enthusiastic and so courteous that he held our attention for almost an hour and a half .. This place deserves to be very busy and I hope gets discovered and loved by many more travellers in the months and years to come. As we are from England, my daughter and I spoke with John about English history too, which he was fully conversant with and seemed to have a similar enthusiasm for . A great tour, a great guide , good luck to them .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Travellers Rest Plantation & Museum also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Historic Travellers Rest Plantation & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing