We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic plantation”

Historic Travellers Rest Plantation & Museum
Ranked #60 of 253 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Travellers Rest Plantation & Museum celebrates the history of early Nashville. The home, built by Judge John Overton, was completed in 1799 - just three years after Tennessee became a state. The home is furnished with period and family pieces all dating to the 1830s or earlier.
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Historic plantation”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This plantation was not on the scale of The Hermitage or Belle Meade, however the grounds are beautiful, the out buildings are well presented. And the historic house is stately. A nice place to visit for a couple of hours.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank acraw42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    52
    19
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homewood, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relative's Wedding Locationq”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

A great historic piece of property that was a wonderful background setting for a wedding. The plantation afforded wedding guests the opportunity to tour the house while there was daylight left. The rehabbed barn where the reception was held was comfortable and nicely redone.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Meri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A secret gem in Nashville with a great guide in John.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We'd done some other Plantation/ Civil War attractions last year so didn't intend to do anymore, but read about this in a magazine while in Nashville so as it was close thought we'd try it ..
Our tour guide John was do informative ..dressed in period costume in 90 degree heat, he kept his composure , walked the house with us with great knowledge and was genuinely interested in the history of the place, telling us that in his family tree he was a distant cousin to the Overton's who built this spot . Usually I drift off on these tours but John was vibrant, enthusiastic and so courteous that he held our attention for almost an hour and a half .. This place deserves to be very busy and I hope gets discovered and loved by many more travellers in the months and years to come. As we are from England, my daughter and I spoke with John about English history too, which he was fully conversant with and seemed to have a similar enthusiasm for . A great tour, a great guide , good luck to them .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haddam, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The history of the house is rather interesting. The profiled family entertained interesting guests, and some great stories were told on this tour. The house includes lots of original furnishings and decor. The guide was very well informed, she gave a great tour and answered lots of questions. I wish I could remember her name. The grounds are pretty, and were set up for a wedding while we were there! We truly enjoyed our visit here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Plantation to Visit”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was one of my favorite plantations to visit on our weekend trip to Nashville. Our tour guide was dressed in time period clothing and knew detailed information about this place in history. The house was amazing and held so much history. We used our "all access" passes for admission and thought it was well worth it! They suggested you walk around the grounds to explore before the tour started to kill a 1/2 hour wait time. Only negative was a "bridezilla" who informed us while taking a few last shots of the house that she "rented the entire place at noon for a wedding" that weekend so basically telling us to scram. The tour guide didn't mention a thing about leaving the propery nor did the cashier selling us the tickets! Thought the bride was very rude but no fault of Travellers Rest. I would call before going to assure that there isn't another "bridezilla" taking over the property the day you want to visit! So much for "southern hospitality"!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank slynn4colts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Travellers Rest Plantation & Museum also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Historic Travellers Rest Plantation & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing