We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A historical treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Belmont Mansion

Belmont Mansion
Ranked #28 of 245 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Belmont Mansion is the largest house museum in Tennessee and one of a few whose history revolves around the life of a woman: Adelicia Acklen.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A historical treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I've lived in Nashville most of my life but never stepped inside the Belmont Mansion, nor knew anything about its history. I recently became interested in visiting the Mansion after some internet research for a book I'm writing made me aware of the fascinating history of both the Mansion and the University where it is located. The price of admission is a bit steep: $12 for adults, but both of the gentlemen who conducted my tour were knowledgeable and spent over an hour describing the family, the furnishings, and the changes that have occurred over the years. My only complaint, which was also written by other reviewers, is that you have to 1) wait to join an existing tour, and 2) allow other to join your tour midway through. Really though, that's a small inconvenience in an otherwise worthwhile experience. There is also a gift shop you can visit either before or after the tour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ASC19512013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    135
    38
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
173 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful mansion at the University”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Densely surrounded by university buildings with noisy air-condition-blowers is this nice old mansion situated on a hill (Belmont).
It reflexes the old fashion of living with original furniture and wallpaper.
Very enthusiastic guides are leading the tour in the mansion.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank claus007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very interesting history of the mansion.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

The tour was a bit disorganized with people being added to the tour. The guides were informative, it was nice to get into all the rooms and get close to the history of it all! Overall a very good site to visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweens62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful house w/ amazing history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We bought our ticket through the civil war tour. This was our favorite house just by the story of Adelicia. Our tour guide was very informative however the way their tours are set up is a bit of a pain. You have to ring the door bell to get inside, then you have to wait to join an already running tour. Once on the tour you pick up and lose fellow tourists as they complete the portions of the tour they had lacked. It was all a bit strange. The house and the information provided were great. I would like to see a bigger focus on restoring some of the structural integrity- nearly every wall had massive cracks and chipped paint. I wish we had known the proximity to the Pancake Pantry- we hit both on different days and would have been nice to have seen signage near the pancake pantry about how close this attraction was.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Reestakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canisteo, NY
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Personalized Glimpse into the life of Adelicia Acklen & "Belle Monte"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Really enjoyed our visit to "Belle Monte" in large part because of the spirit and passion of out tour guide Taylor Agan. Taylor did a fantastic job of telling the story of the life of Adelicia Acklen, this her summer home and her exploits during the Civil War period.
The Belmont Mansion sits literally inside the beautiful campus of Belmont University. The tour is personalized, low key and an up close look at a home of the wealthiest women in Tennessee if not the United States at the time. Her story is a unique insight into a tumultuous time in our nation's history. Well worth the visit!
Thanks Taylor for making the day special.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belmont Mansion also viewed

 
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Belmont Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing