We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History Revealed with Architectural Resurrection”
Review of Belmont Mansion

Belmont Mansion
Ranked #23 of 252 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Belmont Mansion is the largest house museum in Tennessee and one of a few whose history revolves around the life of a woman: Adelicia Acklen.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“History Revealed with Architectural Resurrection”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

On a cool and drizzly day, my husband and I thought it perfect for a tour of the Belmont Mansion. Nestled among the buildings on the campus of Belmont University sets a superb example of architectural resurrection. High on a hill surrounded by walkways and flowers, once inside we were greeted by a volunteer tour guide. He provided preliminary history about the house. Then handed us over to a young lady with extensive knowledge of family history, and contents of the mansion. It is a marriage among individuals, families, local history, education, and international trade relations. The history of an era is exposed in this family home. Not far from the Vanderbilt University campus, it is well worth your time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelFool_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    152
    41
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The mansion and grounds are beautiful”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We did not have the time to take the docent led tour, but spent at least 45 minutes soaking in the beauty of the grounds. There is a small rose garden, statuary, gazebos, and informative bronze plaques which explain much of the history and relevance of the Mansion. The College grounds are idyllic. We did have a difficult time locating the Mansion as it does not front onto a street and there was much construction taking place on the campus. We eventually found the visitors parking lot, but only with persistence. I would definitely plan to take the Mansion tour next time!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A great lesson in history”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I wasn't quite sure what to expect from our visit to Belmont Mansion. I had visitors and wanted to show them some of Nashville's history, and Belmont Mansion turned out to be a great start. It's set on what today is the campus of Belmont University but back when the house was built belonged to the extensive grounds. What's nice about this tour is that you don't have to plan it ahead of time. You just show up at the house during their opening hours, ring the bell, and buy your ticket. You are given a quick introduction by a very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide, you wait briefly, and then you join an already ongoing tour through the mansion. In this way you are led through all the rooms, with some people leaving the group when they are finished and new people joining as they enter. I loved doing the tour in this unconventional way, because it meant you didn't have to wait long to get started, the whole thing seemed more fluid, and you got to benefit from two different guides when one took over from the other about half way through. Both of our guides were very knowledgeable and brought to life the the story of the once wealthiest woman in Tennessee, Adelicia Acklen, as if they had personally known her. We even got a glimpse of one of her descendants who had dropped in to talk to the guides.

The tour was a good introduction to a little bit of Nashville history and its place in the Civil War, and the house itself with all the period artifacts and creaky floors was stunning.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely Southern Mansion”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Belmont Mansion sits on the campus of Belmont University once the beautiful grounds and "hill" built and owned by the prominent and wealthy woman, Adelicia Acklen, in 1853. I had the pleasure of touring this beautifully preserved 2-story house museum with my family recently. The curator has gone through painstaking care to tell the story of Adelicia accurately (and all the others who lived in the house) and he has done an excellent job in catching the spirit of Adelicia and the time period. Some of the elaborate gardens, fountains and original water tower (now a Bell tower) are still on the grounds (making for a gorgeous campus for Belmont students!) The bedroom furniture in Adelicia's room are original pieces that were donated back to the mansion and all of the other furnishings are depicted very accurately to the time period. The house and rooms are filled with marble statues, artwork, pianos, paintings, and other grand pieces and furnishings. The guides do an excellent job of relating the story of this very interesting and innovative woman and are very knowledgeable about the mansion. It is a tour that you can complete in about a hour or two (depending on how you pace yourself) and visitors of any age should enjoy it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ticcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Great Stop”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

While the Mansion was easy to get to for us out-of-towners (AND was well-signed with brown historical markers), we pulled up and weren't quite sure we were in the right place. It is now a college, so you pull into the small parking lot and see a typical campus of students wandering around. You approach the mansion door, and a sign instructs you to ring the doorbell. We were promptly greeted and given a brief overview inside the entryway. The tours are not timed...as the current tour group finished one room and moves to another, you join them. The guide just keeps continuing the loop through the house and you drop off whenever you want. It's inexpensive (cost us $10 each), but the guide was very knowledgeable and showed passion for the house. They knew extensive details and were able to speak about specific 'artifacts' in the home as well as the family history and colorful stories. I also toured Belle Meade, and the Belmont tour was by far more interesting and informative. I can't say enough about the thoroughness of the guides. They were very open to any questions. The entire tour lasted maybe a bit more than an hour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jdawgm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belmont Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Belmont Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing