We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, good rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
Ranked #44 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
364 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Awesome location, good rooms”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed at this Courtyard for my first time in Nashville, and I would stay here again. The hotel is very conveniently located. It is walking distance to a variety of restaurants, bars and Vanderbilt. Also staff was very friendly, and the rooms were comfortable enough for the price i payed. I definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for average comfort, awesome location at a normal price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    176
    70
    29
    15
See reviews for
111
111
10
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End hotel in Nashville while Summer NAMM was in town. The room was very average, small with 1 King and a sofa bed. The sofa bed was surprisingly comfortable (as far as sofa beds go).

The sink was outside of the bathroom, but was very small. The tub drain didn't work so well so I was standing in water for the 2nd half of my shower.

The fitness center and pool were nice, though small.

The lounge area was very popular later at night, with a young crowd.

The hotel is within walking distance of a couple of nice (low key) restaurants, which is a plus.

I would possibly stay here again, though it would really depend on the rate I could get.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goose7334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is definitely not the nicest Courtyard I have stayed at.

PROS
Nice lobby
Friendly/helpful staff
Good location

CONS
Rooms are small and a big dated. Bathroom sink has virtually zero counter space
Towels are terribly thin and small.
Rooms felt run down.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Nice rooms. Balcony overlooking city. Great service. Shuttle takes you everywhere. For the price its worth it. There is so much in this area that can take up a day. Make sure you go to winners or losers behind the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thunderous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSJohnston, Director of Sales at Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Many people only think of the well known downtown district of Nashville for places to go and don't realize that some of the best places to get a true feel of the city is in the midtown area. We are the best of both - as the complimentary shuttle can get take you to experience downtown and midtown is in walking distance. There is so much to do and see that it usually takes a few visits to get it all in. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here earlier this week while visiting colleges for our daughter. We are a family of four so we had a king bed and sofa bed. When the sofa was opened the room was definitely tight for 4 people, probably so for more than 2. However, there was good wireless, the location was very convenient and the staff was very accommodating. Their shuttle will drop you and pick you up if you want to go downtown at no charge. Staff was overall very friendly and responsive. We would stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sra225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I have stayed at several Courtyard Marriott hotels mostly for business. One of the things that I have noticed is that when they upgrade the older hotels they put a thermostat in the room to run the window HVAC. Quite often it seems that this thermostat is not doing its job. I mentioned this to the hotel manager. He had an engineer in our room and had the problem fixed in record time. Of course we all want perfect stays in which everything flows seamless but the effectiveness of a hotel staff truly shines when confronting problems. We were in Nashville to house hunt as I recently accepted a position in the area. We were constantly putting the valet through the paces as we were using the hotel room as our wifi base of operations finding properties on line, scheduling appointments and running out to view properties. They always seemed eager to help. The water pressure was great. The bed was comfortable. I used the fitness room every morning and found it adequate for my needs. It was nice to have dumbbells as I don't do well with the usual pulley weight "system" that you find in hotels. My only complaint is that when I finally had some free time to go swimming the pool needed skimming as there were a few too many dead bugs floating in the water for my taste. I know the staff would have taken care of it quick if I had mentioned it but it was a quick impulse. The location is great as there are a multitude of restaurants for every taste.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiamondLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My friend and I had tried to organize a girl's weekend to Nashville. In the end only two of us were going, with hotels downtown being quite costly we opted for the Marriott Courtyard West End. The hotel is your typical hotel: it is clean, the bed is comfy BUT the location is fantastic. The free shuttle will take you anywhere within a three mile radius - this includes downtown, pancake pantry, and Belmont University. On our first night there we heard music while standing on our balcony. It turns out that there are a ton of bars one block behind the hotel on Division street (Winners, Losers, Rebar, Red Door, Tavern which has a great Sunday brunch and a few others). All were just the right amount of crowded on a Friday night, with these bars being where the locals go. Losers was our favorite with a decent cover band. On the first morning of our trip we took a run which looped past the Parthenon and Vanderbilt to the Pancake Pantry. At 8:30 am the line was not too band, about 20 minutes but there is free coffee and water while you wait. The sweet potato pancakes were well worth the wait, the Caribbean were yummy too but the sweet potato are different than anything I have had before with cinnamon syrup. The pantry is a mile from the hotel and a nice walk if you are up to it. We walked the next day to Jackson's, which is across the street from the pantry. The town of Hillsboro has a few unique shops with clothing and jewelry which are a steal compared to New York boutique prices. Our trip included other touristy adventures like the Ryman Auditorium, Country Music Hall of Fame, Belle Meade Plantation, RCA Studio B - we purchased the All Access Pass, a huge savings. If you plan on going to the Grand Ole Opry the cab ride is about $30. The west end is outside the triangle $25 flat rate and you must pay metered fare. Highlights of the trip included the Pedal Tavern and Belmont University (saw on yelp that it was free to get in on the Sunday we were there, usually $10). The grounds are breath taking. All in all I would suggest the West End to anyone.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank crackxkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Nashville at Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Nashville Vanderbilt
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End

Property: Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
Address: 1901 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the vibrant Midtown neighborhood, you are in easy reach of some of the area's best entertainment venues when you stay at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End. Our Nashville, Tennessee hotel also puts you close to Vanderbilt University, the Ryman Auditorium, and Bridgestone Arena. We are less than 1 mile from the Music City Center, Historic 2nd Avenue, Country Music Hall of Fame, Nissan Stadium, Nashville Convention Center and Centennial Sportsplex with complimentary shuttle service to most local venues. Being in the center of Music City USA, you can listen to live music from your guest room balcony here too. Our Vanderbilt hotel's location is perfect for those who want to walk to many fine Nashville restaurants and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End Hotel Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt
Nashville Courtyard
Nashville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing