We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #40 of 152 Hotels in Nashville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Clemmons, NC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This was our first trip to Nashville and we were NOT disappointed. :) The hotel was in a great location...just a short walk to all the Honky Tonks, Printers Alley, Ryman Auditorium, Fort Nashborough, etc. The room was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is one of the oldest buildings and the shortest, so don't expect a great view out the windows. That wasn't a problem for us because we were only in our room to sleep and get ready to head out again. We parked in a deck 2 buildings away for $12/day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

At check-in, we were greeted by a very informative and friendly staff member, She explained that the hotel dates back to 1904 and was once a bank and the city's first skyscraper. (12 floors!) This added to the charm of the building. The hotel is close to all Nashville attractions making it a very convenient choice. Walking distance to Broadway, Ryman Auditorium, Country Music Hall of Fame. Staff is friendly and extremely attentive. We stayed in a King Suite. The room was roomy and clean. The king bed was very comfortable, however, the pull-out sofa mattress was very uncomfortable! Request a roll-away if you are in a room with a pull-out sofa bed. The only other complaint would be the lighting in the room. In particular, the lighting is poor in the bathroom and in the sink area just outside the bathroom. Great choice for easy accessibility to most of the major Nashville attractions.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank menderle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

First off, the location is great, easy walking distance to Broadway, the Hall of Fame, the NHL center and other attractions. Additionally, the service was always helpful and friendly.

However, I was extremely disappointed in the room. We booked through the Hotel's website (as if we booked through a third party I would expect a greater likelihood of a bad room) but our 'King' room was about 10x10' with a short hall way to a bathroom and the best was only slightly larger than a queen at best (did not measure it). I was extremely disappointed in the room and would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EricP24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BNADT, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hello EricP24,

You indicated in your response that the guest room was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit and that future travelers also do as well.

I am excited to announce that our hotel is scheduled to begin a full room’s renovations project in December. After seeing the plans and the sketches of the rooms, one word comes to mind "WOW". I am sure that even the season traveler, such as you, will be pleased. I also wanted to share a little history too. Our building was once Nashville's first high-rise and the tallest building; in 1904. Well we are no longer the tallest, but I believe maybe the oldest and we are registered with the Historic Society. I say that because although we are in an urban market with an amazing skyline, our views in many rooms are limited or blocked. With that thought, keep in mind that our building was originally build as bank, so we do have 30 different floor plans, conformed office space. So yes all the rooms are slightly laid out differently with the average room size about 530 sq. feet. What we do have is southern hospitality, charm, and location. I really appreciate your comments and bid you safe travels.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future when our renovations are completed in the spring of 2015. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very friendly staff, very clean and comfortable room with nice view of bradway street.
Walking distance to multiple eating and entertainmnet places. A little pricey without a
deal, so plan ahead......

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beebe, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We booked this hotel because we wanted to be within walking distance to all the resturants and attractions on broadway. It was perfect for that. Just a short walk. This was a clean hotel and the staff seemed friendly. Comfortable beds were great. I think the price was a little high, but that is the case with all of the downtown hotels. They charge $22 a night for parking which seems like a lot, but once again it's about on par with the area. The valet area seemed under staffed. There are only a few spots in front of the hotel to park for valet and they were full when we arrived. We had to circle the block several times in major traffic before they were able to move a car for us to park. There is not an option for self parking. It also took quite a while (about 15 minutes) for them to get our car when we were ready to leave. Other than the couple small issues with parking, everything was great. We love coming to downtown Nashville and will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel definitely has a great location but the room we were given left much to be desired! I had booked months ahead of time hoping this would ensure a good room but we were assigned to a corner smaller dark room looking out onto a rooftop - not that we spent much time in the room, but a view would have been nice. They also neglect to mention that if you're staying in this hotel, the cover charge for the Wildhorse Saloon is waived and that is definitely a place to visit! Will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coastallife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BNADT, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hello Coastallife,

You indicated in your response that the guest room was somewhat unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest's satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit and that future travelers also do as well.

I am excited to announce that our hotel is scheduled to begin a full room's renovations project in December. After seeing the plans and the sketches of the rooms, one word comes to mind "WOW". I am sure that even the season traveler, such as you, will be pleased. I also wanted to share a little history too. Our building was once Nashville's first high-rise and the tallest building; in 1904. Well we are no longer the tallest, but I believe maybe the oldest and we are registered with the Historic Society. I say that because although we are in an urban market with an amazing skyline, our views in many rooms are limited or blocked. What we do have is southern hospitality, charm, and location. I really appreciate your comments and bid you safe travels.

You're a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future when our renovations are completed in the spring of 2015. If I may be of assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My wife and I took a quick birthday trip and had a wonderful time. I am a platinum member and used points. We were upgraded to a corner suite.

Everything was perfect as I would expect. All staff was prompt and courteous. The location is great if your visiting Nashville. All downtown sites are within walking distance. The exercise facility is bigger and better than most Courtyards.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Nashville Downtown Hotel
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#15 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,865 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#31 of 152 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 stars 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Hyatt Place Nashville Downtown
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#7 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Address: 170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Nashville
#26 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#30 Business Hotel in Nashville
#33 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique among hotels in downtown Nashville, TN, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is a stunning, century-old high-rise set in the heart of the city. Our hotel features a new state-of-the-art lobby with flexible spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi As a top choice among Nashville hotels, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is walking distance from all entertainment, major businesses, music and sports venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Nashville Downtown Hotel Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Nashville Courtyard
Nashville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing