We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still our all-time favourite!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #49 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still our all-time favourite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Went there for the fourth time, and we still love it! There's no place quite like it, and it will always be special for our family. From the moment we arrived, we felt as if we were home. We were given a complimentary upgrade to an atrium view room in my favourite Cascades. There had been a few changes since our last visit, but all good. Housekeeping was fine, food was good (loved Jack Daniels bar, Fuse sports bar, and Cascades the best), service from all the staff was great. Will never tire of this place, just need to save some money for our next trip there; Oh didn't I say? We will be back Dv.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janiepoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,089
    2,322
    1,280
    720
    586
See reviews for
1,818
1,726
158
2,933
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,640)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Not impressed. Way to spread out. Not a family destination. Built more for conventions not the family vacation. $21 dollars to park is outrageous. Service in dining areas could be better. Small rooms for the price and check in is way to long. Would not recommend for family trip to Nashville!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I swear half the time I stayed I was trying to find my way somewhere. When you are 'inside outside' everything looks very similar, and is very confusing. There need to be more signs located around the atrium areas.

Dining options:
All very pricy (are you really surprised?) expect to pay upwards of $15-20 a meal if you do not venture outside (Opry Mills Mall is about ½ mile through the parking lots of the hotel and mall itself, I highly recommend visiting.) Food is much cheaper there, and much better in some cases.
- We tried Cascades/Wasabi (inside the hotel) see the picture uploaded, the Bento Box was very good, but overall with tip cost about $35!
-We tried Stax burgers (inside the hotel), it was pretty good. Burger/soda combo cost about $15, so on the cheaper end of the hotel.
-Chili's at Opry Mills, just your average Chili's.
-Chuy's in Opry Mills. I HIGHLY recommend this place, had it in Houston and was curious to how it would match up here. Probably the best Tex-Mex you can find in the area. Try the creamy jalapeno dip.
-Gelato place (Can't remember the name) was very good. Also very pricey! Try the 'donutella' if available!

Room:
Pretty nice room, ours had a terrible view. The window at the back end of the room (D2003) was completely covered by a bush, obstructing our 'Atrium View'. Bathroom nice, water here has a horrid chlorine smell, after you shower the bathroom/room smells like a poolhouse. Had an (empty) mini fridge, so that was a very nice addition. TV has most cable channels, and an On Demand section if that is what you are into.

Shuttle services:
Maybe cheaper to take a taxi! Airport shuttle was around $40 round trip! Shuttle to the Wildhorse Saloon (Highly recommended!) / Downtown area was $20 r/t. There are (I believe free!) shuttles that will take you to the Grand Ole Opry (also about ½ mile from the hotel, just on the left side of the mall entrance) and the mall. Unless you are handicapped, you can most likely walk there.

Overall:
You will get lost at least once! If you need to be somewhere at a certain time, be sure to leave your room a bit early because it is a maze to find the correct area/exit.

Room Tip: Pick a room above the second floor to avoid bushes covering the window view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthewmurrayjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had a nice time. The hotel is huge. You literally need a map to find your way around. It can be difficult for people with mobility issues. For those without issues, the atriums are great for evening strolls. The plants and atriums are beautiful and well maintained. The gym has a number of cardio and weight machines and the pools are large, although the outdoor one is very crowded and not conducive to lap swimming. The spa has lots of options, all of them expensive, but relaxing. Nice locker rooms in the spa. The grand ole opry and a shopping mall are walking distance away and there is also a shuttle. A shuttle also goes to the General Jackson boat show and ride (the show is good). There are shuttles to these places too, and there is always a long line for them. The front desk staff was very friendly. The hotel is expensive. There are a number of nice restaurants and shops, but high prices. While many hotels near the airport offer a free shuttle, the Gaylord charges a hefty fee. There is a charge for internet in the room, although the fee is waived if you have a status on the frequent stay card. There is a small river in one of the atriums and a boat ride, again rather expensive (about $10) for the ride. Parking is more than $20 a day and is in addition to the room fee. There is also a resort fee that is in addition to the room. There is a nice light and fountain show some evenings so be sure to seek that out. The conference area is large.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the atriums have nice views. The others overlook parking lots or roof/ other par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGAGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is a very LARGE property. My room was in Magnolia and had to walk through the entire hotel to get to my elevator. The grounds are beautiful, with a great indoor atrium, including rivers, waterfalls, etc.. Grabbed a chair and caught a nighttime lightning storm while under the comfort of the glass ceiling. Many dining and entertainment options. Little shopping village closes early, so no late night ice cream except in the gift shop for an arm and a leg. The staff are very helpful. Both beds in my room squeaked.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveI1302JZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I was there for a Nurse Practitioner conference. The Gaylord bus broke down on the way to the hotel. Check in took over 50 minutes with limited air conditioning in the sweltering lobby. Lines were very long for EVERY SINGLE MEAL. Ugh. And if you don't have your own car you are trapped "under the dome". It is a lovely property outside the rooms. The rooms smell damp and are outdated. Now for the good points: every single wait staff was pleasant and helpful. The Spa was amazing and just what I expected. I will not return to this property or to any other Gaylord property to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, MA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We traveled here with our three kids. The atriums and gardens are truly spectacular. One of them even has a boat ride. I see other people complained about having to walk a lot. I actually enjoyed that about this hotel. You can walk around the hotel at night and feel totally safe. It was 95 degrees when we were there so eating in the restaurants inside the atriums was quite nice. My kids enjoyed the pool although I found it quite small in comparison to the grand scale of everything else. Nothing here is cheap. Expect to pay $21 to park and $18 for the resort fee. The room was nice but we didn't have an interior room with a waterfall view. I slept really well here. Even though it is huge, the rooms are quite quiet. We stayed in the Cascades section.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that your family enjoyed our atrium environments and that our guest rooms met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Gaylord Opryland again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville @ Opryland
5.9 mi away
Omni Nashville Hotel
Omni Nashville Hotel
#5 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 4,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Music City Hotel
Sheraton Music City Hotel
#39 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,508 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Nashville/Opryland
7.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Nashville Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214-1200
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#35 Business Hotel in Nashville
#37 Family Hotel in Nashville
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2882
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's iconic Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover 2,882 guest rooms and 700,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Prestigia, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing