We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“3,000 Room megahotel under a glass roof” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 NIGHTLY RESORT CREDIT
Ranked #56 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“3,000 Room megahotel under a glass roof”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

The sheer scale of this hotel is mind boggling but the novelty value of this undercover tropical paradise will entertain most for a couple of days. The place is beautifully kept and clean and the service is excellent.
Although 9kms from downtown the hotel operates a shuttle that is reasonable value although not always punctual. There are plenty of eating options but they are expensive and dishes can be on the large and stodgy side. I don't know that we'd use it again but we're glad we tried it.
By the way the wireless upgrade for $7 isn't worth it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tedsowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,950
    2,206
    1,232
    700
    561
See reviews for
1,718
1,656
151
2,808
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,556)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We come here every year. The two big drawbacks are the price of the food, and the limited wifi access. Supposedely, you can get faster wifi for a fee. I can't imagine there are many willing to pay the extra fees. Most have learned to bring their own food or walk next door to the mall.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank kismet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurley, Alabama
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My husband spent 2 nights at the Gaylord Opryland Hotel attending the 2014 AAAA Convention. After we arrived and parked at the designated parking lot, we had a difficult time finding the lobby.
Once we found the lobby, we asked for a inside room and were given a room on the 3rd floor of the Magnolia part of the hotel. We were told it had one of the best views. After getting there we found our selves on the third floor but looking out we were actually on the first floor with a view not so good. What we saw was a walk way, plants, and the front of a restaurant. We called the front desk and were put on hold twice, waiting more than 5 minutes. We hung up and went back to the lobby. And if you ever have been at this hotel you know how far of a walk it is. We told them of our problem and the young man took the additional $59 for the inside view off of the bill. The hotel was pretty much sold out so we were not able to get a better room, only one which was similar to the one we had. The room was nice, not any different from any other hotel room while the cost is much higher. It was quiet though and we got a good night sleep. The room was not cleaned until late in the afternoon. We also noticed tables and left overs from guests who ordered breakfast were left in the hall way pretty much all day. Even though most of the staff was very nice one of the housekeeping employees did not see it fit to hold the elevator for us. Our remote control to the tv was not working and after being promised someone would check it out, no one came. The grounds of the hotel are absolutely beautiful but can be visited without having to stay at the hotel. Restaurants are pricy and you'll get a much better deal leaving the hotel grounds. All in all we still had a good time.

Room Tip: Don't take the word of a receptionist, you might end up having to change the room. Not all insid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GiselaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

What a place!
Where do I start, I cannot say enough about the staff at this hotel, we were treated perfect every minute we were there from the valets, reception, housekeeping all the staff were fantastic.

The hotel is enormous and you're given a map at check in and you'll need it at first. Then there is the interior areas of the place...... Beautiful simply beautiful.
The different areas have different names but each area throughout the hotel are beautiful. I know the prices of things have been mentioned in other reviews but I feel the quality of the whole place supports the prices asked.
Take a walk through the different areas, past water falls, pools during the day and enjoy them and then again at dark the same areas give a different experience with coloured lights in the pools dancing fountains, all simply delightful so as an old saying goes ... You pay your money and you take your choice ... You will love it or not and we loved it here!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enigmaman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We are thrilled that you had such a great stay at Gaylord Opryland - thank you for sharing. Providing flawless service is a priority for our staff, and it is wonderful to hear that our STARS (employees) helped make your experience more enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, with gardens, shops, restaurants, and a quaint overall look. I was there for a business conference, so staying at the hotel and walking to the events was convenient. The rooms were comfortable, nothing out of the ordinary. The hotel is massive, and you do need a map, at least at first, to get around. There is a lot of walking, so for those who may not be inclined to do so, it may be a bit much for you to get around. The gardens are amazing, and walking through them with the waterfalls, flowers, and artwork is very peaceful. It is a visual delight, and worth a few hours to experience, even if you do not stay here.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. I experienced a few minor problems : I had an issue with my reservation, and it took a while to get it figured out (problem on the hotel end) and my key cards stopped working during my stay, which required me to go all the way to the main lobby to remedy. The food is overpriced and a cup of regular coffee coming in at over $4.00 is taking advantage of the guests, in my opinion.

The hotel is outside of downtown, so you need to find transportation. Our conference offered a free pass for the hotel shuttles, so I do not have any idea of cost. There was a long line and wait for the shuttle, and we ended up just paying for a cab on the way back from downtown. Overall it was still not bad, and we were able to get around just fine.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Entry is beautiful and the gardens are quite a sight. Unfortunately, rooms were what you would expect at a 3 star hotel. Nothing fancy. Beds felt older and not comfortable. Only 3 pillows with little fill for 2 people did not make a good night's sleep. The room was clean and the halls were quiet. Convention set up was very nice. Also, only one main restaurant was open for breakfast. Would be nice if there were more options to avoid a wait, particularly when you need to get to an airport. Overall, seemed overpriced for the plain accommodations once you get to your room.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice facility and very convenient to the Opry. However, there are so many hidden fees and charges! Valet parking is 28 dollars a day. Self park is 20. A cup of coffee is 3.50. The shuttle to downtown is 20 dollars per person. Because the resort is so massive, they made tons of errors including "accidentally" checking us out a day early, giving me the wrong bill, etc. When I pointed out the errors I was given a perfunctory apology without a smile. Room was clean and the atrium is nice, but I would not stay here again; it's jut not worth it. Oh, and the valet took a half an hour to retrieve our car, despite costing 28 bucks a day. The staff are really overworked and tired. Don't be suckered in.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank LeonaHtheQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville @ Opryland
5.9 mi away
Omni Nashville Hotel
Omni Nashville Hotel
#4 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 4,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Nashville Vanderbilt
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Music City Hotel
Sheraton Music City Hotel
#41 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Nashville/Opryland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#35 Business Hotel in Nashville
#37 Family Hotel in Nashville
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2882
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's iconic Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover 2,882 guest rooms and 700,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing