We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost feels like you're on a cruise ship”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #52 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
310 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Almost feels like you're on a cruise ship”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

You will either love this hotel or hate it. It's very large and touristy...think Las Vegas or even a cruise ship. We normally don't like hotels like this and I'm not sure I'd stay again but there are plenty of positive things you can't overlook.
1. Service is really good. Everyone is very helpful and friendly
2. When we checked in the line was huge! They had plenty of people to help and we only waited 15 minutes which was impressive.
3. Restaurant food is really good. We ate at the Italian restaurant and it had large portions and was very gourmet. It is very expensive but we felt like it was worth the cost. The breakfast restaurant in the Cascades wing was amazing! Try a side of grits...yummy!
4. The bus service from the hotel and to/from the Wildhorse was always on time and very convenient. We purchased the 3 day unlimited pass for $30 pp which was great. I also have to mention the bus drivers. WOW! I'm not sure I've ever met more friendly people.
5. Rooms were comfortable and quiet. Also the gardens around the hotel are so beautiful. The garden staff are like little elves-you never see them but they really know their stuff.
6. I read complaints that the hotel was hot. We found it cold. Maybe they fixed whatever issue they had.

Overall, don't discount this hotel when staying in Nashville. They are almost always 80%+ full but crowds are not an issue. Personally I'd rather stay closer to downtown next time but I'm glad we stayed here at least once.

Room Tip: Location is key at this hotel. If you are a leisure travelers, ask for a room in the Cascades. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylGlendaleAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,448
    2,549
    1,401
    791
    652
See reviews for
2,082
1,936
172
3,189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,866)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

This place is Disneyland with rooms. Awesome service, awesome grounds, awesome eats, awesome shops, awesome bars, awesome location. But you pay for all of it. I'm glad we did it once, and we may do it again, budget willing.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azguy602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We are thrilled that you had such a great experience at Gaylord Opryland, and that you were able to enjoy all of our on-site amenities. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Where do I begin...I can't understand why anyone would stay here unless they were attending a conference here, and even then it might be more enjoyable and less hassle to stay across the street and drive here every morning so you can park next to a door. The hotel is mammoth and as a result it is literally a 15 to 20 minute walk from some rooms to the convention facility. the amount of meeting space is so huge that they often have several meetings of 1000 attendees or more at the same time which puts a massive drain on their restaurants and bars which are either jammed at key times or closed for private functions due to these meetings. The hotel itself is cold and cookie cutter which comes across as Vegas meets Orlando without a casino or an amusement park. I loathed it. Catering was mediocre and every meal I had was bland and unimaginative In order to get from rooms to facilities there are long walks through faux waterfall filled atriums without much rhyme or reason Limited food outlets for the number of guests and overall nothing from a facility or food or atmosphere point to warrant staying here. Rooms are nice once you actually get to one but overall this place is just not comfortable and wait till you visit one of the public toilets. It's just bizarre the stall doors are slightly above eye level so anyone over 5'8 gets a view of people attending to their business in the stalls when you walk to the urinals. It's really really odd
I do want to say that the staff is excellent , attentive and sincere special shout out to Carolina the fantastic housekeeper who kept my room in perfect shape and saved me from a 30 minute walk to check in and back when I locked myself out of my room. Her friendliness and willingness to help me out reflected the general high level of staff the hotel has. But all the great staff and attentive service can't make up for the fact that the size and scale of the place makes you feel like your staying in an airplane hanger. Definitely won't be back

Room Tip: Settle for a broom closet before they exile you to the garden section
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donojames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Came for a business meeting for three days. Everything was excellent. I can only say good things about this hotel. It is huge and you can get lost. Love the atriums. I definitely will return again for visits. Next time I come I'm being the wife and kids.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank HENRY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing; we are so glad you had a great experience at Gaylord Opryland. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next business or leisure trip to Nashville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-town, Ky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Attended a convention here mostly paid by employer. Very nice but everything is extremely expensive even to paying to park. Would be a very entertaining tour through the different parts just to see the sights. Very impressive.

Room Tip: 5th floor above arboretum is good, especially the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank js67583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walt Disney World, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was our second stay at the Gaylord Hotel in Nashville.
This time it was not as nice as the first, perhaps because we had problems with the pools of resort.All pools were out of order.
However, the property is beautiful and elegant definitely worth spend a few days of vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norvegiasara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centereach, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We actually travelled to Nashville in April of 2011 (I'm a little late catching up on my reviews) and were told we HAD to visit the resort. Skeptical since we didn't get any specifics, we decided to avoid the $20 parking fee and park across the street at the restaurants. It's a bit of a walk, but not terrible. Once we found our way in (signs aren't too clear), we wandered about for a while until we found something to see. It must have been a slow day because the place was fairly empty. We walked around the atrium, took in the beauty of the gardens and river (the boat tours were closed), and popped into a few shops. Again, it was fine. It was around lunchtime so we decided we'd sit for a nice lunch to get more out of our day. We found a sign listing all of the restaurants and we visited at least four before we found one that was actually open. We tried The Falls, Ravello, the pizza place, Solario - all closed. Finally we found Fuse Sports Club was open (wouldn't ever be our first choice) and went in. The service was good, our waiter was friendly, and the burger was fine. After we finished, we walked around some more and realized we were going in circles. We left with a feeling that we must have missed something. The "that's all?" sort of feeling. It is a nice place to visit, but I'd rather have spent the time exploring the city some more. The resort just seemed to lack the wonderful character that you find everywhere else in Nashville.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kellsbells7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#7 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Music City Hotel
#49 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#35 Business Hotel in Nashville
#37 Family Hotel in Nashville
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2882
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's iconic Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover 2,882 guest rooms and 700,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing