We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy, clean, pretty, and big! But...beware of resort fees and parking.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #52 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Staunton, IL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfy, clean, pretty, and big! But...beware of resort fees and parking.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Beds were comfy, room was clean, and a good size. Resort is like a rain forest with relaxing waterfalls, tropical trees, and fountains. Beautiful to walk through, but be prepared for long walks to view the beauty and to get to your room. This resort reminded me of a Vegas type resort ONLY because of the walk to your room. In Vegas you most likely walk through the casino to get to your room. The same goes for this resort, you walk through some of the trees to get to your room, this might bother those who have a difficult time walking. The price you pay is mostly for the beauty of the interior, the room resembles a Marriott style hotel room. The extra fees associated in the end are the parking, $21.00 per night, and a daily resort fee of $18.00, just prepare yourself for these. I'm sure these fees go toward keeping up the beauty of the resort, but you are surprised by them in the end, as we weren't told about the daily resort fee, just the parking fee was disclosed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruprt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,447
    2,547
    1,400
    791
    652
See reviews for
2,080
1,936
172
3,188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,864)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ft Lauderdale, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We just left this hotel. I was so upset with the 4 nights we spent there. First the good the location was great. The mall with an IMAX theater and 20 other movies. The General Jackson riverboat show was great entertainment. The food was lacking but I would go just for the show. The Grand Ole Opry show also was great and well worth the money.

Now for the hotel. The building is great, the decor and amenities were outstanding.

On my first night the phone rang at 12:15, 1:15, and 2:15 ish. The operator had to put my phone on do not disturb. The first morning after my wife and I showered, she couldn't stop sneezing as she has allergies. I went to the bathroom and the mold was all over the grout. Another call and it was cleaned. Finally one time it took almost an hour and a half to get from the show 3 blocks away to the parking due to the fact that the hotel had so many people checking in at 10:30-11 PM with not enough and all 5 lanes to the parking were blocked. I spoke to the front desk manager who offered without my asking to not charge for parking during our stay. But when I got the room folio it had the taxes on the parking and the last night parking still on it.

Just to finish the great experience on the last morning the couple we were staying with had a roach in their room. They killed it with hair spray.

I can't believe this is part of the Marriott hotel chain. There is no management only excuses. Poor staffing and planning.

But at least for the $18 a night resort fee you would think they could use some of that profit to pay for proper staffing.


  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorA1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went to see the mad scale of the place and because it was near the Opry. Don't stay here if you want to go downtown, it's miles away.
It took us ten minutes in the queue of cars to even get near. Having got in, once parked in the $20 self park (ironically quicker than the valet parking, which had its own traffic jam) I actually stood in line at check-in for 50 minutes. Two banks of check in desks, one side had a queue the size of a busy airport check in queue and only one operative. I had already given up trying to check in at 6pm as it was clear we'd miss the concert, so we tried again at 10pm. So by 11.15pm we finally got to our room. My special requests re accessibility on booking had been ignored. We enquired what was still open for eating and we were told to expect a 45minute wait - at 11.30pm!! By this time most food outlets had closed. Big complaint later, we were given complimentary room service.
Each staff member we spoke to said this was all because they had so many guests, as if that was an acceptable reason for this level of service. They even charge guests an $18 'resort fee' !!!
If you want to enjoy a visit to Nashville, stay downtown or near Vanderbilt. Avoid this place. It doesn't work and is designed to generate cash.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I took my elderly parents to Nashville to see the Grand Ole Opry, and for that reason, we booked a couple of rooms at the Gaylord. It is a short walk to the Opry, and they also have a shuttle service. As a hotel, it is quite lacking. There was a very long line of cars in the afternoon we arrived. It took about 20 minutes for a valet to take the keys. Once inside the hotel, there were long lines for check in. That took another half hour. The staff were friendly and our rooms were comfortable. There are water features throughout the hotel, so that it is very noisy wherever you go. Forget babbling brook, imagine waterfalls. We had a balcony overlooking the interior, but the noise from the water made it uncomfortable to be outside on it. All of the restaurants we visited at the hotel had similar noise issues due to the water. The hotel may be more suitable for families with children than for adults. As far as restaurants, we had a nice dinner at their Italian restaurant, Ravello, but we found breakfast buffet at Cascades to be mediocre and overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I read a lot of the reviews prior to our stay at the Gaylord. Everyone complained about finding their way around and that they got lost. I never had that problem. The place is too big in my opinion - I would have never stayed there if I hadn't gone to a business conference. However, I never got lost and it was easy to find my way around. They have good signage and the maps are everywhere to help you out. i would recommend that all travelers go there feeling confident that they won't have trouble getting around - and I am sure they will do just fine.
Our room was basic, but always very cleaned and well maintained. All the staff at the hotel was very friendly. The restaurants were great - overpriced as others have said, but it is a resort. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars was the check-in process and the airport transfers. Check-in took 35 minutes - I have never waited so long to check-in at a hotel in my life. Then, although our reservation was for a king room, and the girl checking us in said we were getting a king room, we ended up in a 2-queen room. When we called the front desk after discovering this - they said they couldn't move us to a king until the next day. Huh? Also, it costs $25 in a taxi to get to the hotel from Nashville Airport, but the hotel bus charges $30? Huh? That's great that the hotel is letting the cabby's make some money too - but really, most hotels don't charge for airport transfers. This should be a free service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I attended a conference in Nashville and since it was hosted at the Gaylord Opryland with conference rates decided to stay there. This is never a good idea. Since the block of rooms allocated to conference attendees are usually crappy ones. Well ours was the furthest from check-in and overlooked the Freeway. I brought my wife along to sight see while I attended the conference during the day. When I booked my reservation back in July 2013 I had specifically requested a 1 King size bed option. You are given a map to locate your room since this place is huge. Well my room is about 1/2 mile from check-in and we lugged out suitcases and carry on to the room about 15 minutes later, to find a room with 2 beds and Freeway view. This was not what I had requested nor pointed out to me at check-in. We called to voice our displeasure and were told bed options are never guaranteed. We escalated to a team lead Shelley who was initially supposed to be the Manager but was actually a Team Leader, no options given and told to call them at 8am the next day. We asked Shelley to escalate the call to a Manager and Michael came on the line, again beds and location will no change. We said why are we supposed to call YOU at 8am instead of the other way round. He agreed to call the next day with other room options. The call never came and by day 2, too annoyed to bother with the room anymore. We were now settled in. This was in no way a cheap stay and cost us over $1100 in room fees plus the expensive food. A meal at a restaurant inside cost us $100 and this was not an extravagant meal. There is a very large Mall next door called Opry Mills and also the Grand Ole Opry stage as well. A taxi ride to / from the Airport or Downtown Nashville is $25 flat rate plus $1 per passenger. Weather was good and food and live entertainment outside of the Hotel grounds was great.
We have never had to call the Front desk or escalate to Management on any of our trips in North America, this Hotel does not understand when a customer is really annoyed and having spoken to 3 people on the same call that they are losing any future business from me and my company.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor, close to check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mapleleafr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

It has been almost 15 years since we have been to Nashville and decided to come back to visit. I almost didn't book here due to the reviews but am so glad I did! This was a strictly pleasure trip so I can understand the frustration if you are here for a business conference due to the amount of walking.

We were very happy with the level of service that we received. Smooth check in, no waits and staff pleasant throughout. We have stayed at Four Seasons and while this hotel is not at their level it is also NOT the Red Roof Inn, so yes, you will pay a little more. Amazed that people posting wouldn't have researched this before they booked their stay...Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimber0443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#7 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Music City Hotel
#49 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#35 Business Hotel in Nashville
#37 Family Hotel in Nashville
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2882
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's iconic Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover 2,882 guest rooms and 700,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing