We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is such a thing as TOO BIG!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #51 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
242 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“There is such a thing as TOO BIG!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My son and I stayed here for Memorial Day Weekend 2013. The place is great. The staff is attentive and friendly. There are still some noticeable hiccups in the Marriott/Gaylord conversion.

The Good:

Great Staff. Easy going people with a "can-do" attitude. I am glad that I I was a member of the "Gold Elite Level" of the Marriott Rewards program. It easily saved me 45 min at check-in. The standard line for check in was HUGE. I would have never expected such a long line at check in. However, this was first symptom that I noticed that this place is too big.

After checking in, I tried to follow the map to our room. Fourth Floor of the Delta Island. I had to navigate past the first atrium, past a few shops until I found the "red" carpet. I then had to walk about a third of a mile down the halls of the hotel to the third elevator set. This was no easy task for my six year old son, and I got lost a couple of times. I rarely get lost, and I know how to read a map. This was when I determined that this place was just too large.

We finally arrive at a room, about an hour after we valeted the car. The room was small for my standard. This is when I figured out that this is a business travelers hotel, and not a family resort. This is where I viewed my stay in a very different way. If I would have only viewed it through my "parent" lenses, I would have been dissatisfied with my stay.

There wasn't much on location at this property that was truly fun for kids to freely do, though my son did enjoy hearing Shrek's voice on the phone during the "wake-up" call. However, a business traveler or convention goer would love this place. Great food options for foodies and very few for kids. Moderately suitable spa, that is free for use by Marriott Rewards Elite Members. Lots to see and explore.

I would not consider this a "romantic" place. It's bathroom and rooms are just not equipped or appointed in a fashion that would inspire the word "romance". This hotel is "business class" on a very large scale.

The bad:

This place is too large to get in and out of efficiently. If you want to go downtown, or out and about, there is no easy way to do it. This place is so large that it's impossible to get anything you want in a quick time frame. Whether it be room service or just going down to pick something up, everything just takes "too long".

Room Tip: Stay as close to the front as you can. Rooms near an elevator would likely be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConstanTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,396
    2,524
    1,383
    780
    644
See reviews for
2,051
1,921
169
3,140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had stayed at the Opryland Hotel 15 years ago and it seemed magical to me. My husband and I had to travel through Nashville and decided to stay here.

Upon arrival it was confusing as to where you were supposed to go. They must have had complaints about this because at the end of the entrance they had someone asking if we wanted to self-park or valet. We chose to valet for $26 per night. To self park was $29. I didn't get that.

When we went to check in I was appaled to see a line of at least 30 people waiting to check in. They had stantions with two rows completely filled and the line was spilling out into the sitting lobby area. They did not have enough staff to handle the amount of people checking in. Since they know how many people will be checking in I found that ridiculous that a hotel of this stature would not be efficient. There was another check-in area that was only for the "Elite" people and at least 8 stations were empty at that area.

I watched as one woman came on to check people in. As she was typing on the computer, I heard her say to a bellman "I don't know how to do this". They were training at least 3 people so if the trainee had a question the seasoned worker would stop whatever they were doing and help the trainee. The people checking in would just have to wait. It was rude and incomprehensible to me that this was going on. Why not have one person not on the computers available to help trainees??

It took about 25 minutes to get up to the counter. Fortunately we did not have a trainee and we stated that we thought for a hotel like this it was unacceptable to have customers wait that long in line. (By the way, there was no group checking in - these were all couples and families.). He immediately apologized and offered us an upgrade which was nice. But I hope they read this and understand that people want better service from a hotel like this. Especially if they have been traveling all day are tired and a bit crabby (I have to admit, I was!).

The room was very average but had a very nice big bathroom and a nice patio area. The bed was very comfortable and we slept great.

The "grounds" did not disappoint. The gardens are lush with beautiful foliage, rivers, waterfalls, etc. We had a drink in the Library bar and the guy behind the bar was a pompous you-know-what. The snobby attitude he had was inexcusible. The bar itself was comfortable but nothing special.

We ate at the Irish Pub - the food was outstanding and the two guys on guitars were top-notch. They read the room well and were awesome entertainers without being intrusive. Real pros. That was a real treat. Our waitress was not good. It appeared we were the only table in a section that she was taking care of and I think she just forgot about us. We would have had another drink except by the time she came around we wanted to leave. It took her another 5 minutes or so to get our bill to us.

After we went to Fuze - the sports lounge. This was friday night and just a few people - 10 at the most - were in there. It is a huge area. We asked the bartender what he had for dessert and he said he didn't know. Maybe some cheesecake he said. We said okay. He said, you should go over to the Jack Daniels restaurant because they have better desserts. He clearly wanted to close up even though it was supposed to be open for a few more hours. Weird to be basically kicked out of a place because the bartender wanted to go home.

We went to Jack Daniels and ordered dessert. I ordered the chocolate cake with Jack Daniels infused whip cream. It was so rich I could only take 4 bites. My husband ordered the strawberry and rhubarb crisp with ice cream and it was very good. The entertainment was primarily country and the lead guy was so full of himself he couldn't stop talking. He thought he was funny, but he wasn't. The bass player was a fill-in and I know that because I am a musician. The lead guitar player was showing him the chords sometimes before they did the song. Nothing wrong with that - but would have expected better at the Opryland Hotel. Again, we were there on a Friday night - I would have thought there would have been a lot more entertainment and better entertainment than what they had. By the way, I would have preferred the cheesecake.

In the morning we just got up and wanted to hit the road. When my husband called for our car he was told it would be at least 15 minutes. Are you kidding me?!!! They have a real problem with efficiency and customer service.

So, we booked the hotel for $179 for a king room. The total cost was $179 for the room, $26 for valet, $20 for a "resort fee", plus hotel and state taxes. It was more like $250. I realize the taxes, etc. but the "resort fee" got to me. It's like they hide that and then at checkout you see it on your bill. When we booked this, they should have said it is $179 plus a $20 resort fee and there is additional fees for parking.

I would NOT recommend the Opryland hotel to anyone. I think it is a rip off and there are hotels in the area with a better value. If I want to look at the gardens, I can have lunch or dinner and meander through.

I was so disappointed. To management I would say you need to address your check in because people are already upset by the time they get to the counter. It is a beautiful resort but a lot was lacking on this trip.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony overlooking the gardens. I would stay away from a patio room because you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 15degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Enjoyed the wonderful resort facilities available at convenient times, given a balcony upgrade to accommodate our king-sized bed request, ate delicious foods at the in-house restaurants each day, rode the convenient shuttles to all locations, was greeted by the friendly staff at each encounter ... a must-stay for a great Nashville experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank destydarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Staying at the Gaylor Opryland Resort is a great experience. The price was GREAT and we were so surprised to find out before we left for our trip that since we were celebrating our 25th Anniversary will there, that with proof of our wedding date, we would be given one of our 3 nights free. The staff is very friendly - especially the valet guys who work their tail off - and I would say the price of Valet parking is WELL worth it for not having to walk long distances to your car (if you're coming and going a lot). This has to be one of the cleanest large hotels I've ever stayed at. The non-balcony room was plenty nice, comfortable beds and one of the better showers at a hotel I've had. We didn't try any of the restaurants as we had so many places in the city we wanted to visit.
All in all a beautiful facility and wonderful staff!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the bottom floor room due to the convenience to step outside around the corner and being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stopped here on our way back from driving back from Florida. My son had a business meeting here the following day so this worked well for all of us. This resort is very plush with many plants, ponds and waterfalls. There are many restaurants to choose from. We went to the sports bar for dinner.(Sorry I cannot remember the name). Children are welcome. There are many very large TVs. Food was very good there and the atmosphere was nice as were the wait staff. There are also specialty shops throughout the resort. After dinner we opted for gelato which was very good. This resort is very large and we needed to use the maps to navigate where we wanted to go. There are also indoor pools and outdoor pools as well as a spa area. My bed was comfortable and I slept well. For breakfast we just went to a small coffee shop. The coffee was good but my egg cheese biscuit was nothing special. All in all this was a very good experience and I would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsalotIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Decided to stay here at the last minute this holiday weekend. Our usual discounted state employee rate (wife) was unavailable and that stunk, but there were vacancies -- at the full rate. We wanted to stay and did and got a balcony upgrade for free (the front desk clerk felt bad that we missed our initial rate). We did ask for the upgrade, politely, "Hey, we do love and accept upgrades..." and she complied. Good customer service - check.

We've stayed here before and there are some reviews I've read that I don't completely agree with and I want to clarify the points.

Hours of shops and restaurants... Sunday night on a holiday weekend when restaurants all over town were closed, all restaurants at the hotel were open. I've never been turned away from a restaurant for its sporadic hours. Once, we wanted to eat very late (after 11 p.m.) and the nicer places were closed, but we expected that.

Pricey stuff inside the resort ... Yeah, stuff is pricey inside the resort. No disagreement here. But it's a resort. You should know that in advance. As an example, a 20 oz. Sierra Mist (Pepsi products only since the Marriot buy) was about $3.50 after taxes. Once I left my Zyrtec at home and got some at the gift shop. It was about $10 for eight pills. On the other hand, you can eat a decent meal for $12 inside the hotel if you go to the cheaper places. All in all, it's bad, but not THAT bad.

$18 per night resort fee ... True and this is silly. But look at it like this... they don't charge a per day rate for internet use like some upscales do. That doesn't cover the $18, but it does lessen the impact of it. Also, if you're on a budget -- as we often are -- stay somewhere else. This is a pricey place. A decent hotel with clean sheets can be found for $75 in Nashville with a little searching. But it won't be this nice or memorable, for sure.

$20 per day parking fee... either that or pay per day at the gate the same rate. Also expensive and I don't like it, but again, when my budget beckons, I stay at a budget hotel.

Not clean... I have found it immaculate every time I've been there. I'd note that one public bathroom near one of the restaurants was a bit of an exception on this trip. It was several hours past due for a good cleaning, but I've certainly experience worse. Our room was perfectly clean. Not a hair or fiber that didn't belong anywhere in sight any time I've been there. The carpet is clean. The room is always freshly dusted and they run the vacuum every day.

Staff not friendly... I disagree. Last time, my wife had to wait a bit in line for check in, but it wasn't too bad (10 minutes or so). The staff allowed an upgrade that time, too. Every interaction has been positive, with the exception of one grouchy parking lot attendant at the self-parking gate when my card didn't work. Despite her gruffness, she still worked it out. Front desk, cleaning people, room service, restaurant service is always first rate.

We stay here to "treat ourselves." As my wife says, "I feel like a princess every time we stay here." I agree. It's very nice. But if you want a coffee maker in your room, free continental breakfast, free parking and no resort fee, I'd recommend finding another hotel. But if you're in Nashville and you can afford to splurge, this is a first rate place.

Room Tip: Always ask politely if they can upgrade you. Maybe not, but it's worth asking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovemyfishingtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I booked a room for Saturday May 25, 2013. I booked a deluxe atrium view room with king bed. Upon arriving to the hotel, we waited in a long line to park. $26 for valet parking and $20 for self park. We chose valet and waited in the long line. Once they took our cars we waited an additional 20 minutes in the check in line only to find that they had no deluxe atrium rooms available. They gave us a regular room and "gave" us a $65 credit to use anyplace in the hotel. The "credit" was just the room difference. It took us over 30 minutes to get a room after waiting 20 minutes in line. The wait for the room was because a manager had to get involved. He was very busy as it appears many travelers suffered the same fate of not getting what they had pre-paid for. I would not have booked there if I had know they did not have the atrium view room available. This was a special occasion.
As for the stay after the chaos? The room was no different than a holiday inn room with the exception of the noise. It was very, very noisy in that room. We had a great eye level view of the smoking area and he smokers had a great view of us if we opened the drapes. Horrible! We ate at Cascades and the food was OK, just OK., and like everything else - way overpriced for what you get. Walking around was OK and the gardens and such were well manicured and pretty.
In the end, I recommend you stay at another hotel. There is a chance you won't get what is promised to you and you will wait in endless lines. The rooms are nothing special at all and are noisy. The beds are not very comfortable, at least nothing to write about. In all of my travels, I have never had a worse experience. There are some fine hotels in Nashville, this is not one of them. The fact that it is considered a "luxury" hotel is only reflective of the price they charge.
If you go, be prepared to be disappointed, stand in long lines, and pay too much for everything.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else! Rip-off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel
5.9 mi away
Omni Nashville Hotel
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,951 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville @ Opryland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Nashville Vanderbilt
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Music City Hotel
Sheraton Music City Hotel
#49 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hutton Hotel
Hutton Hotel
#19 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#35 Business Hotel in Nashville
#37 Family Hotel in Nashville
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2882
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's iconic Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover 2,882 guest rooms and 700,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Prestigia so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing