We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay but far from downtown.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #48 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Michigan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place to stay but far from downtown.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful. The fitness center is great and the outdoor pools are also great. The concierge is very knowledgable and helpful and the hotel offers a shuttle downtown for a reasonable rate. The rooms aren't anything special but the grounds of the hotel are beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jencornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,525
    2,609
    1,428
    798
    663
See reviews for
2,122
1,976
177
3,259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,911)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riverton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our third visit to Nashville and third stay at the Gaylord hotel. Always something to do with all the restaurants and shopping. Our room had a balcony overlooking the Cascades atrium. Lovely and relaxing to sit out and enjoy our coffee and cocktails while listening to the waterfalls! Do your homework before booking and be familiar with the extras they charge like parking and the activities fee/person. Opry Mills is within walking distance and has great shopping, and there's a Bass Pro shop attached to it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brernick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I won't waste time giving too much detail. The bottom line is that they don't clean your room UNLESS YOU ASK. No clean towels, made bed, nothing. When I complained about it, I was told, "Sir, we have almost 3000 rooms in the hotel. It would impossible to clean them all every day." REALLY? Seriously? How could the problem of not having enough housekeeping staff be solved. Hmmm.... I dunno. Maybe a bright business major could "decipher than un fer me." Good grief. Hire help. I was treated like I WAS THE ONE with the problem for asking about this. If you go here just know this: All they have is in the showroom and nothing's in the storeroom. In other words, admire what you see but don't expect anything else.

Room Tip: Want a good room? Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed at Gaylord Opryland for a business trip. The hotel was beautiful, the rooms clean and the staff were all very polite and helpful. The resort is HUGE, and sectioned off into different districts with each area having a different design for their rooms and restaurants. The only down side I would say is that the resort is soooooo huge that after 5 days and 4 nights of staying there I still could not find my way around completely. By my last night there, the hotel was rumored to be full with 4 or 5 different conventions but it never felt that way. You could stay here for a week and never have to leave, but it's close enough to downtown Nashville to easily travel back and forth. Being a convention center, the food is good but there are no freebies so make sure to bring some fruit and snacks to keep in your room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The most difficult part of this hotel was finding your way around. The hotel is gorgeous and lush with flowers and trees; the sound of the waterfalls and rivers is very soothing. The staff is extremely helpful although very discreet. The rooms are immaculate and sitting on an indoor balcony overlooking ponds and foliage was like sitting outside at night (and no bugs) I would reccomend this hotel to anyone who is going to Nashville.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are the best and when you shut your doors you do not hear any hotel noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
300 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed three nights while attending a conference. I would recommend it for those that are able to get their company to pay for the stay. Myself I would not pay $300 for the room, daily $18 resort fee, and $20 per day parking for a non-view room. Plus once you are there it's a pain to go get your car to leave. The restaurants on site are expensive and the lines are very very long once lectures let out of the conferences. There can easily be a 30 person wait to get a muffin for breakfast. I loved this hotel but that is because I did not pay for it. The waterfalls and fountains are beautiful. The fitness facility was good though 3 or 4 machines were out of service everyday. The hot tub and main pool area were also very nice and clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone with deep pockets.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelseasly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is very well maintained and in some respects spectacular. (Some of the spectacle verges on the kitschy, I must warn you.)

It is a big place for conventions so has a lot of the Vegas feel (minus the smoke and casinos) and can seem impersonal as a result. That said, the rooms are great and the conference facilities were excellent and well catered to.

Biggest drawback of the place is the sheer size of it. At check in they give you a map (as do many hotels and motels). Don't lose the map. You will definitely need it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 155 in Nashville
5,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 155 in Nashville
2,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#35 Business Hotel in Nashville
#37 Family Hotel in Nashville
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2882
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our Nashville hotel's climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover 2,882 guest rooms and 700,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. Near our hotel, take in some of the top attractions in the country like the Grand Ole Opry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing