We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Hotel Done Right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #52 of 159 Hotels in Nashville
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Attended a large company meeting here, which can often be chaotic. The staff was friendly, attentive and helpful with navigating such a mammoth property. The rooms were clean and well appointed. Overall it was a very positive experience, especially for large meetings. I felt bad for the few families I saw as they may have felt a bit overrun by our group.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,059 - 7,065 of 9,804 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was our third stay here and must say it is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at but primarily because of the views from the balcony. We always get the rooms with the atrium view, at little more expensive but well worth it. All of the staff members that we came in contact with were friendly and helpful. When we arrived there was a convention going on and the lines to register were unbelievable. One of the staff members saw us coming in and asked if we were on vacation (camera in hand helps), when we told her we were she took us to another check in and we were in our room within 15 minutes. The rooms are very clean and the views from the balcony are fantastic. There is definitely a lot of walking especially if you park yourself and then the hotel is so big there is still a lot of walking just to get to your room. The only complains we had are the rooms are a bit pricey and the restaurants are real expensive. We did get a quick lunch one day at Paisano's, a slice of pizza was $4.75 and an artisan salad was $9.95 but it was fairly large. We checked the one restaurant that served breakfast and a full breakfast with coffee was around $18.00. A good dinner was in the $30-40 range. There are several restaurants nearby but you do have to drive to them but you can get twice the food for half the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duffey3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We just celebrated our 37th anniversary by making a trip to Nashville. We had heard that the Gaylord (now part of the Marriott family) was a destination in itself. It is! We had a great time in Nashville made even more special by staying at the Gaylord. The 3 hugh atriums could take hours to explore and enjoy. There were places to eat at every turn and fun places to shop. We did not have kids with us but the arcade even looked like a lot of fun. The excercise and fitness room was first rate -- as were the pools and hot tub. 3 days wasn't enough to explore Nashville, and 3 days at the Gaylord wasn't enough either. Our room overlooked the Cascade atrium but you don't need a balcony to enjoy yourselves. The room was just a small part of the grand place.

The Gaylord is an easy walk to the Grand Ole Opry and the shops there along with movie theaters. It is only a 15 minute drive into the city or to the Belle Meade plantation and the neat mall on the west side of the city. It is a very nice location.

Room Tip: A room with a view of an atrium is a bonus but you don't need it unless you plan on spending a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Take heed to all reviews about this resort/conference center. It is huge and you will need a map in your pocket every day to successfully navigate it. The signage around the resort is adequate at best and even travelers with the best sense of direction get lost at least once a day. READ ON FOR A PARKING TIME and MONEY SAVER.

Positives:

**The service from every staff member is top notch. From check-in to maintenance to housekeeping you are treated with care and attentiveness. Several 5 star resorts we have visited would not measure up.
**The indoor botanical gardens with their lush foliage and water features are actually quite impressive and a welcome escape from the bustle of the other common areas.
**Rooms are clean and in good repair. Upgraded TVs and a mini fridge in each room were a plus.
**The Opry Mills mall is close enough for most people (not everyone) to walk to and is a welcome break. ***PARKING TIP***: You can easily park in the mall parking lot and avoid the $20 daily resort parking fee. From the movie theather, head straight north and you will see a grouping of cars near a conference center entrance. Follow the walkways to the Delta wing portico entrance. I also cut 4 minutes off of my car-to-room walk with this approach. (This entrance is FAR from check-in, so you will want to take that into consideration.)
**Large and well-equipped fitness facilities.

Negatives:

**The sheer excessiveness and size. I timed a rather brisk walk from the ridiculously priced self-parking lot ($20/day) to our room in Delta wing at 10 minutes. Ladies, leave the heels at home. Nothing is a short walk in this place.
**The food from the restaurants was mediocre. The best food we had was from room service.
**Everything but the room rate is ridiculously expensive. I already mentioned parking. A small bottle of aloe from one of the shops was $18. A top-shelf bloody mary from one of the bars was $14. Be prepared.
**Indoor pool is closed/under renovation as of this writing. This was not indicated on the website or on any other signs.

If you are there for a conference, it is convenient to be in the same building. But honestly, I don't know why anyone would stay here for leisure.

Room Tip: Work with the staff at check-in to look at the resort map and find a room close to the amenities you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had a wonderful 2012 Christmas at the Opryland Resort. The hotel was clean, smoke-free, and everyone was friendlly. I thought it would be way too busy with it being a holiday, but we had no problem walking around enjoying all the beautiful plants, trees, and flowers. Everyone was in the Christmas mood so the atmosphere was pleasant. Everyone must go and see the Christmas lights....very pretty.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Gaylord Opreyland for 6 nights in March. This was our second trip to the hotel and I have to say the standard of service keeps getting better. We have stayed at other Gaylord hotels, however the Nashville hotel is, in our opinion the one to which the rest aspire. Lovely attentive staff, beautiful tranquil setting and quality restaurants. Easy location to shops, airport and night time entertainment.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bellsie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The first impression of this place is the sheer enormity of it all. As we were waiting in line I could see that there was another desk that could have been opened for check-ins but was not (and never noticed that side open once during our stay). The staff on check-in/and check-out seemed very uninformed about certain aspects of their job and each had to reach out to management for assistance. We learned after exploring around that the indoor pool was closed for maintenance. If this was explained to us somewhere during booking it was not explicit.
We had a suite with an adjoining room but only one bathroom which didn't make much sense. The fridge in our room was a little dirty but we weren't planning on using this for anything other than water and beer. Unlike other hotels that put out water bottles, you are paying for these regardless if you drink them or not so you might as well drink up.
The breakfast buffet was decent enough and we did enjoy our dinner at the Jack Daniels restaurant. The spa on-site did their thing very well with my Swedish massage.
As mentioned in other reviews here be prepared for the $20/day parking fee. Overall I thought this place was fine. Next time visiting I think we'll stay somewhere a little closer to downtown.

Room Tip: Be sure you are not overlooking the parking lot or are at least aware and paying less. We felt sorr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northsbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#12 of 159 in Nashville
2,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omni Nashville Hotel
#7 of 159 in Nashville
6,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#29 Family Hotel in Nashville
#35 Business Hotel in Nashville
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range: $231 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2888
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our Nashville hotel's climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover 2,888 guest rooms and 700,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. Near our hotel, take in some of the top attractions in the country like the Grand Ole Opry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing