We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible check-in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #48 of 159 Hotels in Nashville
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and you could spend days there. Maintenance and housekeeping were awesome! However, check in is horrendous!! We were there early and waited nearly 90 minutes to check in with a 3 year old and a 4 month old. Something needs done to make check in quicker! The refrigerator was not on when we arrived in our room thus making it difficult to place bottles in it. We also specifically asked for a microwave for warming bottles and toddler snacks and we were told this was not option. This forced us to have a converter to plug a car warmer in. With nearly a $300 a night rate, I think a microwave in the room would not be too much to ask. Long, long lines also for breakfast. We ended up buying a cup of fruit loops and a cup of fruit for our toddler for $15. Too high!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tfosdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,910 - 6,916 of 9,565 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I was there for three days, this place is Huge, and beautiful doing Christmas I plan on going back on 2013.everything under one roof. It's close by the mall n many other great places the food was good so much to do,and see so plan your stay you will love it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

As our family was traveling from nv for a business Conference. I personAlly called to question the "negative overbooking" reviews" I was told since Marriott took over the management of the Gaylord property they no longer overbook rooms. The telephone reservations agent was sincere and guaranteed we would all have a room upon arrival. I also requested a king bed for my sons room as he is 6"10 and to be close to the conference facility as my father recently had open heart surgery.. Upon arrival and after waiting 30 minutes in lines that resemble airport security lines iI was told I didn't have a room and therefor would have to share a room with my son and his wife. It was also painfully clear at this time there is a huge disconnect from central reservations and the front desk. the manager was called and I was given a room.. happy to have a room i didnt complain about the double queen beds. The property is very beautiful with water features and glorious gardens. The restaurants selection was above average.. Something for everyone.. Close to opryland and a mall.
We stayed 4 days and my son room D1001 was never serviced. No towels or cleaning, coffee refills or bed service. This was a first in my 25 years of business travels. Also our rooms were as far as you could get from our conference facility ... several city blocks.. This was hard for my father. Two elevators were out of service during our stay(4 days) the waits were always long in the am and at dinner time.

It ironic that our conference focused on Customer Service and building Customer loyality. Marriott corporation may have greatly benefited Had it adopted some of "the customer service bill of rights", "provide an honest service" dont make promises you cant keep. It was painfully clear Marriotts central reservations will tell you anything to book a room.. Once your on the property your trapped... Marriotts is just too big and doesnt really care.

At Check-out we were charged for parking on each room even though we had one car.. The charge was also $10 higher per day than we were quoted when we made our reservations.
This was adjusted by the clerk.. Again a disconnect from the hotel and reservation center.
I have attended 25 conferences in the last few years... I will never stay at another Marriott property.. The experience is similar to viewing a gorgeous pastry and taking a bite, then dissapointment as you discover it doesn't taste very good.

Cherie humphreys, President of Answerwest inc

Room Tip: Be prepared to have the reservation you made and was emailed to you.. Not be the reservation you rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ohminihaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Thankfully my husband was an elite member otherwise we would have been there fir a long time. There are many places to eat but would suggest eating breakfast in your room and saving the money for dinners.

Great pool, rooms, and views.

Room Tip: To be by the pool ask for the cascades
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbaTravels A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

No matter how stunning the atrium is, no one wants to stand in the registration line for over 30 mins. studying the view. When the uniformed clerk explained that this was a busy check in time (3:00pm), she could not explain why the second registration area was not open. 2 hours later, it was opened as the lines continued to grow twofold. Not acceptable!

At the Cascade Restaurant, our waiter's personality was top notch...but the service was poor. We never received our appetizer and a steak order was way overdone. Last but not least, be ready for an $18.00 service charge for internet, pool/spa, and 2 bottles of water. Really?? We didn't bring our computer, never wet a toe in the pool... but I did enjoy that water. So, you have to park your car, right? Pay for valet parking, $26.00 or self-park for $20.00 plus TAX.

There are options with-in walking distance. We'll go there next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stopped to the Resort on our road trip from Raleigh, NC back to Minnesota and it was great. We would love to stay next time because the tropical gardens, waterfalls, smell of fresh roasted coffee and the relaxation was in the air. We shopped as well as had an amazing time. People were extremely nice and the atmosphere was so refreshing and absolutely gorgeous.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sunshine_KP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I will start my review by saying it took a long time just to get to the hotel due to traffic from the mall. Once we final made it into the hotel lobby we waited in line over an hour just to get to the front desk.Everyone in line was upset and complaining about the situation. They had a lobby full of people to check in and had only two people working the desk we were in line for. Once we made it to a person I ask the questions if it was always so difficult to get checked in, I got no response at all just ignored and ask what the name was for the reservations. We gave the information more than once the employee was not nice at all and come to find out they lost the reservation that we had booked. The hotel was sold out but they did offer us a room to sleep on a pull out sofa lol for the low rate of $179.00 plus tax and fee's and $20 a day to park. Hell could freeze over before I would pay that to sleep on a pull out sofa or stay at this hotel. After we went out to leave to try and find another place to stay they still wanted to charge us at least $10 for parking. we had to fight with the parking gate guy to keep from paying. Not at all what I would exspect from this caliber of hotel. We never had the first apologize from anyone even regarding the wait in line. We were lucky enough to get a room at Country inn and suites and was given excellent service for less than half the price. It is sad for such a beautiful place to have such terrible service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Evans4Cruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#7 of 159 in Nashville
5,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 159 in Nashville
2,930 reviews
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#12 of 159 in Nashville
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#35 Business Hotel in Nashville
#37 Family Hotel in Nashville
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range: $237 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2888
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our Nashville hotel's climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover 2,888 guest rooms and 700,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. Near our hotel, take in some of the top attractions in the country like the Grand Ole Opry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing