We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #51 of 160 Hotels in Nashville
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very convenient for conventions, but is too big and complicated, you get lost all the time, very nice rooms,food is no good,service is not the best, decor is great,beautiful cascades and beautiful gardens

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shragaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,299 - 7,305 of 9,860 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

I attended a 2000+ person annual conference/tradeshow for a few days at the Gaylord Opryland. This conference has been growing quickly each year, and it seems like the Gaylords are the only realistic venues that can accommodate such a large group "under one roof" - we've used the Gaylords in Orlando, Dallas, DC and Nashville in the last 4 years.

The Nashville venue was typical Gaylord - everything you could need for such an event without having to leave the premises. They're always well serviced, with excellent accommodations, good restaurants and networking opportunities, and of course the ability to assemble a good-sized tradeshow in addition to a wide array of meeting rooms of various sizes. Throw in lots of suitably high-end shops for the ladies, and there's little need to venture outside the glass-domed "city" that a Gaylord is.

These facilities are all inter-connected with very attractive gardens, walkways and waterfalls - which create an almost Disney-like environment. Having stayed at the other Gaylord locations, I wasn't surprised by the spectacle of all the above being spread out over an extended area (I think it was something like 60+ acres all up), but I can imagine some first-timers would be completely "wowed".

But here's the thing... this is I believe the largest Gaylord in the group, and it frankly is quite daunting (if not impossible) to find your way around. It seems like various areas have been added over the years, and it is VERY easy to get completely lost with no idea in which direction you should be heading. Sure, there are lots of maps in strategic places, but somehow they just don't help much - the layout is very disjointed with whole sections almost randomly placed in various unrelated directions. Upon check-in, you are presented with a sheet map, but I defy any normal human being to find their room without at least some degree of back-tracking and confusion.

Once you do find your room, it's certain to be located somewhere in a very lengthy (probably curved) corridor with no visual clues to help you work out which way to turn upon leaving your room - so be sure to work this out very early in your stay and always turn the same way after that. If you don't you could easily end up walking for hundreds of yards down a dead-end corridor that you won't have any way to predict until you get there. Thoroughly confusing, and many of the guests engage in frustrated conversation with folks they've never met before - all trying to find their way to something identifiable, a little like a corn-maze.

That said, the Gaylords are always a nice self-contained place to stay with lots of things to keep you busy. Now, maybe if they built a smart-phone GPS app so guests could find their way around, the blood pressure would not be subject to quite such wide fluctuations. Hmmm - there's an idea, maybe I should build one for them. :-)

In summary, the Gaylords are best aimed at conference-type business rather than a family vacation - and they do a good job of catering to such groups, perhaps with the notable exception of dealing with busloads of weary business travelers all trying to check-in simultaneously. You could never call a Gaylord a "small, homely, family-oriented vacation spot", but for large business gatherings there aren't many better options.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phudpucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a waiter name nasty and the room service was nasty but we had a good stay the room was nice the pool and staff was friendly and we had a waiter throw food in our floor. The hotel is gorgeous and a bunch stuff to do wish I could live there it's close to restraunt and attraction

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexsadie21613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This place is massive, and if you like that sort of thing, then you will love it. If you like mediocre rooms with small bathrooms, then you'll really love it. The food is overpriced, and overall, I found this place overwhelming at best. Nonetheless, the service is good and everyone seemed very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Although it was a real experience with the fantastic flowers, fountains and waterfalls in other ways it was really disappointing. Other than the bell men who helped with our luggage and were very nice, most of the staff, even when checking in, were cool and aloof! The food was expensive which we didn't mind given the incredible atmosphere, but the servers were absolutely unfriendly and condescending, which was very surprising. We stayed for 4 nights and it was the same throughout the hotel with the exception at the Spa where they were very nice and helpful too. We would have thought that training personnel would include guest appreciation and a willingness to be both helpful and friendly, guess they feel the atmosphere is enough - I wonder how much better our stay would have been if we felt welcome, bet we would have told everyone to go! One night we attended a Nashville Bash with a live band in one of the atriums, the sound was unbearably bad unless you stood right in front of the band, we had to leave as we couldn't even talk when having dinner. We spoke with one of the musicians and they said the acoustics were a joke and they hated playing there, although again, the atmosphere was spectacular - too bad!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny1hopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I had high expectations, and was rather disappointed. As a large, "upscale" conference facility, the hotel seemed consistently unable to deal with the number of guests. We were already checking in late, and had to wait over an hour for a room to become available.

The rooms were average. I typically stay in Hilton family hotels, and I have stayed in much nicer Hiltons, for example. The bathroom was tiny, and laid out poorly.

Overall, the resort was extremely difficult and frustrating to navigate as a guest. If I were just passing through for a restaurant, it would be beautiful. However, the layout was insane.

The one exception to my stay was the consistently outstanding customer service at valet. They were fantastically nice, helpful, and seemed to really understand how to do their job properly. Every single individual I dealt with in valet was wonderful. Best valet staff I've ever experienced. Thanks!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is so unique, unless you are in Vegas, none compare in the States. You don't have to drive anywhere once you arrive. There are many options for dining, from breakfast in the Cascades area to Fine dining at the Steakhouse and they have a sports bar, a Irish pub, a pizza place, and also barbque with live entertainment. This hotel is huge so location is important! We have enjoyed staying in the Cascades area and also the Delta. The Cascades lobby is where you check in. The Delta has a variety of shops and eateries. The rooms are super clean, updated, and nicely furnished. You will have a single cup coffee maker ( it takes the pods) a small refrigerator but no microwave. We found the service to be exceptional both at the front desk, over the phone and at concierge .if you valet, and the hotel is full, expect to wait about 20 minutes. There is a button with a yellow smiley face on the phone in your room and it is for service. We used it several times to ask questions or to request that our room be made up early and it was always taken care of. Restaurants have generous portions but some are a bit pricey, resort fees can add up and Valet is $26..00 a day but not much different from self parking. The gardens are beautiful day or night, the shops are unique. The food above average most places except we were disappointed in the ribs at Jack Daniels. They looked good but the flavor was flat. They were much better downtown at the Wildhorse Saloon where we at lunch. We took several tours and loved them all.
If you go to Nashville, stay here if you are on vacation and love premium properties.

Room Tip: Request Cascades or Delta to be close to lots of eateries, front desk, shops
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floridagal32571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#12 of 160 in Nashville
3,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#29 Family Hotel in Nashville
#35 Business Hotel in Nashville
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range: $234 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2888
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our Nashville hotel's climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover 2,888 guest rooms and 700,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. Near our hotel, take in some of the top attractions in the country like the Grand Ole Opry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing