We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have you ever gotten lost in a hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #49 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Glastonbury CT, USA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Have you ever gotten lost in a hotel?”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This place is just huge and very Easy to get lost in. This was my 3rd visit for a conference and I really dread the place. Don't get me wrong the rooms are fine, the restaurants are ok, and the staff are helpful (though on my first visit one of the staff couldn't direct me to my room), it's just god awful huge, kind of like staying in the Mall of America.
If you"re visiting Nashville for fun I think you'd be better of staying downtown.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doons60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,614
    2,656
    1,455
    815
    680
See reviews for
2,191
2,010
178
3,326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,957)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weatherford, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at the Gaylord for a conference. Everything was perfect! We had about 900 or more people and you would have never known it. We never waited in line for our breakfast or lunch. The food was delicious. The rooms were awesome - clean. Shops were convenient and gardens topped off the visit. Orchids were nestled everywhere! They were used to decorate the buffet tables throughout our stay. I would recommend this top notch facility for a conference or for a vacation stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two days. The interior of this hotel is like a botanical garden, filled with lush plants, many waterfalls, a dancing fountain and a river running through it. They were decorating for Christmas so not all the restaurants were open. The room was beautiful with a balcony overlooking the gardens. The staff were very helpful and courteous. It is quite expensive but Any stay in Nashville would not be complete without a visit to this complex.

Room Tip: Make sure you have an interior room overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This place is amazing! I attended a conference and was impressed by the service, room, cleanliness and beauty of the resort. The place is huge! Admittedly, I got lost getting back to my room on several occasions. I actually thought a GPS would be helpful to find my room! The staff was decorating for Christmas during my visit. What a festive and beautiful place! Having a conference there felt like a vacation and a conference at the same time. I want to go back with my family. If you don't stay here, at least tour the hotel. It's worth the trip to experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaBlueAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just spent a week at the Opryland and was thoroughly impressed. Very unique hotel with all the atriums, ate at almost every restaurant in the place and had no complaints about any of them. Very handy location with the convention center as well as Grand Ole Opry and Opry Mills mall all within walking distance. The only minor complaint the entire week was the gym was quite hot and humid.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanuckAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Galyord is a beautiful property where you come to the tropics without nearing the Equator. Its architecture is worth the visit with an indoor island, exuberant foliage and indoor cascades. There are many shops and restaurants within the property so you virtually do not need to go anywhere to have fun-plenty to do in the resort. The food in many of its restaurants was from pretty good to very good, and the prices were fine for most. In terms of attractions, we attended a show at the Grand Ole Opry and we strongly recommend it. After all Nashville is not music city USA for nothing! Great experience there.
The details that need improvement are: Spa-The resort is gigantic and it has only 1 normal size spa. Needless to say, things were booked forever, and I was very disappointed about that. In terms of restaurants, we had prepared ourselves for eating at either the Mexican or the Italian inspired options Sunday evening, and even though the hotel printed information said they were open on Sundays, they were both closed. This is unacceptable to us given the size of the resort and the number of people it must accommodate for dinner every day. Finally, the resort was just purchased by Marriott and their online reservation did not work well for us as I couldn't get a suite nor could I see one in their web-site. Furthermore, it seems odd for Marriott to keep having a daily charge for water, internet, and what not. This should be included silently in the price of the room and make the visitor feel pampered without having to pay for every little thing. For one, pretty much every hotel I have been in recently included free internet at least in their lobby area; a luxurious resort such as the Gaylord should be in line with that.

Room Tip: Choose rooms overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_CG65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my 84 year old mother, so that she may enjoy the gardens. We arrived at the Nashville airport, was able to take a taxi for flat rate of $25 to the hotel. There is also a shuttle that runs from the hotel and back but I found this is the least inexpensive of the two. For our first night, the room type we requested was unavailable to us but the hotel was very good about moving our luggage for us when a room was available the next day while we were out sightseeing. The double queen bed room that we stayed in for remaining 3 nights was great. Our room over looked the Garden Conservatory area with a balcony. The room was equipped with a Coffeemaker, refrigerator, hair dryer & iron. Wi-fi is included in the resort fee. We were able to have room service set up a table for the us on the small balcony. We ate at Stax one night which allows you to build your hamburger. Had some breakfasts in The Cascades restaurant which offers a modest breakfast buffet. We went to the Old Hickory Steakhouse for a wonderful dinner one night. There are a few place throughout the resort that offer coffee, pastries, packaged sandwiches, salads and other snack items. As with any resort, food on site can be pricey. We enjoyed many hours in the gardens, which is under glass so was not affected by changes in the weather conditions during our stay. There is a Fed Ex business center in the convention part of the resort which allows you access to computers and printers 24/7 for a fee. There are certain hours for any printing that needs to be done. There are shuttles to the Grand Ole Opry, Opry Mills, General Jackson Showboat and Downtown Nashville. There is a fee for the shuttle unless you have tickets for the Opry or the Showboat. Downtown drop off is in front of the Wild Horse Saloon, not far from there is the pick up point for the Hop On/Hop Off trolley which will take you around to most of top pick attractions. We also took advantage of the Hertz rental car that is also located at the hotel for one day. There are other places to eat nearby but look to be about a quarter of a mile away from the hotel entrance. This hotel is great for adults who enjoy walking gardens.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank roxybell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#7 of 155 in Nashville
5,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 155 in Nashville
2,808 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#3 of 155 in Nashville
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#35 Business Hotel in Nashville
#37 Family Hotel in Nashville
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2882
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our Nashville hotel's climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover 2,882 guest rooms and 700,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. Near our hotel, take in some of the top attractions in the country like the Grand Ole Opry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing