We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #48 of 159 Hotels in Nashville
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Recently returned from a trip to Nashville. We traveled with a tour group so I can't comment on the issues of expense because we had a package deal. It was a beautiful place,
it is large, so you have to like to walk. The gardens are breath taking. Everyone was helpful and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maderia70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,317 - 7,323 of 9,565 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

Yes, it IS gorgeous in the big plant-filled atriums; Disneyland with booze. Rooms are average, and quiet. It's a half-mile walk to your car and a long walk to anything in the hotel.

But it's perfect for fat expense account travel, not so good if YOU are paying out of pocket.

Eateries are way overpriced:
- filet dinner for two, without booze or desserts, was $160
- bowl of cereal and a plate of eggs was $36 (OJ at $5 a glass! Usurious!)
- that did it for us, we ate breakfasts at MacDonald's or Waffle House and dinner all over town

I resent that:
- parking is $20/day or $26/day if you use the valet service
- there's a $15/day charge for gym and wi-fi, even if NOT used
- shuttle buses to the Opry House and mall are poorly managed and annoying
- guests essentially are held captive by massive size of the grounds and no sidewalks

Between high food prices and cost for parking / wi-fi, the Gaylord seems a bit of a clip joint.

Sadly, hotels and eats nearby are poor. The MacDonalds, Bob Evans, and Cracker Barrel have so much business that they don't even try to uphold high standards; we found all to be dirty and poorly managed. The nearby hotels get poor ratings too. Stay at the airport or well away from the whole "OPRY" fleece-a-rama part of town. The Opry House was very good in all respects.

We had a GREAT meal (and service) in the Romano's Macaroni Grill at Opry Mills Mall and the Starbucks in the mall is top notch for staff and service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iH8Flying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel is very large, but as your are walking through beautiful gardens with waterfalls, streams & seasonal plantings it is an enjoyable walk. Our rooms was atrium view, as the whole hotel is enclosed we were unaware of the thunderstorm that came through one night. Our room was typical size with 2 queen beds. The bathroom was rather small, but there was another sink just outside the bathroom. We were there for a 4 night get away. Went to the Opry, & General Jackson Showboat, both of which had free shuttle. We purchased a shuttle pass for downtown - all shuttles were on time & made getting downtown very easy. We did use valet parking & they were always prompt. We ate within the hotel a few times, very average & a little pricy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just4fun44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed here for a conference. The resort is just gorgeous with beautiful multilevel tropical gardens, streams, waterfalls, fish and even some ducks. The resort is totally enclosed, with a huge glass dome covering the main portion. There are long walks and lots of stairs to different areas of the hotel and meeting spaces, and it is easy to get lost. Even though there are maps and signs throughout, sometimes they were inadequate. I had a typical convention rate room which was very nice. Some rooms had beautiful balconies overlooking the gardens. The big steakhouse was really nice, but you will pay for it! Very good reasonable Mexican restaurant and lots of little quick food places. There was an hour wait for breakfast at the only nice breakfast restaurant (the falls), so we opted to eat at a little cafeteria which had crappy breakfast sandwiches, but some fairly decent pastries. The meeting rooms were really great. Staff was wonderful. Dress warmly for the meetings--rooms were frigid. Regular taxi service to the airport or downtown Nashville is very reasonable ($25.00 plus a dollar for each extra person). One must go to downtown Nashville--it is so honky tonk! The city is small, so you can pretty much walk around the whole thing in a couple of hours. Even though the Gaylord was taken over by Marriott, they were not giving Marriottrewards points. I was very disappointed about that. I am going to try to get them added retroactively through Marriott--we'll see.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room overlooking the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OCO_Champ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Unless you're staying here for a convention (I wasn't), this would not be a place i would return. While it's close to Opryland, it's far away from other Nashville destinations and downtown clubs.
The place is gigantic, but seems to have built that way for no particular reason. It's an overnight trek to get in and out of the place. The rooms are nice, but the food is just ordinnary.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTraveler55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have stayed here one other time and loved it. Buyer beware if you try to book a Country Christmas Best Value package from their website. One of the advertised pkgs. is 3 nts. $359 dlb occupancy excluding parking, resort fees, etc. When we tried to call and book this package with a traditional advertised room, it was going to be $609.91 per person which did not include the extra parking expense of $21. If their resort fees are $250 per person, that is misleading. Unfortunately, I could not get a straight answer about the additional cost only that they have had complaints. I ask for a break down to be sent to me to view but did not get that either. Needless to say, we cancelled!!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank aduke1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Business trip to Nashville and was lucky to get upgraded to a suite! The botanical gardens are so lovely. Really a nice hotel and service is great! I got lost and Debby who had just started 4 weeks ago took the time to walk with me where I needed to go.

Room Tip: Get a suite with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbeefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#7 of 159 in Nashville
5,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 159 in Nashville
2,930 reviews
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#12 of 159 in Nashville
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#35 Business Hotel in Nashville
#37 Family Hotel in Nashville
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range: $237 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2888
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our Nashville hotel's climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover 2,888 guest rooms and 700,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. Near our hotel, take in some of the top attractions in the country like the Grand Ole Opry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing