We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TenCon 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #49 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Simi Valley, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TenCon 2012”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The accommodations and staff were excellent. I look forward to goint back soon...The Old Hickory Restaurant is a must. The Jack Daniel Bar had different music groups every night. The staff was very freindly and always willing to guide us when we got lost...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,614
    2,655
    1,455
    815
    680
See reviews for
2,191
2,009
178
3,326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,957)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Had the opportunity to stay in this wonderful resort for business. Absolutely amazing! Waterfalls and beautiful gardens.....plentiful restaurants of multiple variety that, though a little over priced, were delicious and very attentive wait staff. The structures inside the resort from plantation homes to bridges & waterways are fantastic! Would have like more pool/jacuzzi areas, however. You will definitely get your walking exercise as the property is extremely large. The conference center could also have more, accessibly spaced, restroom facilities. The shuttle service is nice with just a little later downtown service appreciated in future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Spent five days at this resort for the annual Sage conference. It is my second visit - the first was also for a conference.
The place is beautiful. The staff are helpful and courteous.
Rooms are clean. I believe they have updated the rooms since my last visit - New flat screens, beds, etc.
You could almost spend a day walking around the resort ground (inside and out) - it is a large property.
Had a chance to go to the Grand Ole Opry - it is only a five minute walk from the resort.
Highly recommend staying at the Gaylord Opryland.

Room Tip: Map sure you keep the map given to you when you check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caribvibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

You can use their shuttle to go to/from the airport - it is cheaper return, more expensive one way than a taxi (it's a fixed price airport/opryland/downtown). When you arrive, the hotel is big - you really do a map to find your way around. It is (10 minute) walking distance to The Opry (would a sign or two kill them?), an average Mall, or the other way to the surprisingly good Willie Nelson Museum.
I can understand staying here if you are attending a conference, and nothing at all wrong with the place, but next time I would stay downtown.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank boy4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Poor sound insulation between rooms and between rooms and hallways. Doors poorly fitted to door frames, hence large gaps between room and hallways. Surprising for an upscale resort. Sales taxes and beverage taxes very high, maybe 25% in total. And then add tip to that!

My room had garbage from previous guest in room.

Room Tip: Request rooms with sealed doors for noise reduction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsleuth1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed here August 11th 2012 for a conference and as usual it has been great. Checking was quick and the rooms are in very good condition. Since this a very large complex the rooms are very far and require a lot of walking. I didn't mind the walking since I was getting some exercise. The first few days can be confusing to get around. Just look at the carpets they are color coded. Red carpets are the Delta wing where I stayed. They have 3 bars on premise which were always lively since this was a conference. The only downside is the bars close early. For me this is a good thing when you need to be up early for the conference, but for those that like to indulge will need to find a place outside the hotel.

Nashville can be fun at nights. The bars downtown have some of the best live music I have ever heard. Taxi is the only option to get there from the Gaylord. Just remember to ask for a flat rate (usually $25 each way) and they will take credit card. You will the driver upfront otherwise they may tell you the credit card machine is broken and they can only take cash.

To get to the Gaylord from the airport you can take shuttle bus which is $30 return trip or Taxi which is $25 flat rate.

Hope you have fun while in Nashville

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3DNA_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot Lake, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel had the most magnificent atriums. Just looking at the plants, flowers and grounds is worth the visit. But this Hotel is huge and difficult to get around for the less mobile unless one wants to rent an electric scooter at extra cost... There is also a $15 a day added to price for such incidentals as internet, water, and hotel shuttle... I believe this should be added to price or eliminated..

Also during our stay , in the middle of the night, we were awakened with the alarm very loudly saying it was all clear and we were never advised why it went off in the first place...

The restaurants are way too expensive but for a one time experience it was great... Would I return, I dont think so, but I did enjoy my stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Cascades section may be more central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravelMazatlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#7 of 155 in Nashville
5,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 155 in Nashville
2,807 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#3 of 155 in Nashville
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#35 Business Hotel in Nashville
#37 Family Hotel in Nashville
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2882
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our Nashville hotel's climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover 2,882 guest rooms and 700,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. Near our hotel, take in some of the top attractions in the country like the Grand Ole Opry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing