We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room but I don't get it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #51 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice room but I don't get it!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

The resort is so big you literally receive a map upon check-in to show you how to get to your room. While I thought it was a nice touch that the map was already printed with the route, I was slightly concerned about being able to get to our room!

Considering the size of the resort, I thought they could have had a few more people at the reception desk, waited in line for about 10 minutes. We got there early and our room was ready which was very nice. The walk from reception to our hotel room was FAR!

The lobby/atrium is very nice. The room itself was also very nice. I especially liked the extra sink/mirror outside the bathroom. The bed was amazing.

Parking is pretty expensive especially considering there is also a resort fee. $18 for self parking and $26 for valet seems a little steep.

There is nothing around the hotel within walking distance although there seemed to be a nice selection of restaurants.

Overall, the rooms and facilities were very nice. In my opinion everything was too spread out, it was hard to get around and not that easy to find your way. I would definitely try a different hotel if I return to the area.

Room Tip: Ask for one near the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alinyc214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,448
    2,549
    1,401
    790
    652
See reviews for
2,082
1,936
172
3,188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,866)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

After years of wanting to stay at the Opryland Hotel....we were very disappointed! The place is beautiful and the rooms clean and decorated tastefully. If you are looking for service forget it. The hotel caters to it's convention business and there were at least four companies holding their conferences there which meant at least 60% of the guests. The Delta Lobby was closed for a private party for one of the companies. This is the center of the hotel and the biggest attraction with it's fountain light show and it's New Orleans replication. This was closed to the guests entirely. Forget getting a dinner reservation!! We got off the road at 5:00 after an 8 hour trip and after checking in none of it's many restaurants had an
open table until 8:30. Breakfast the next morning had to be sent back twice. Been there done that and won't do it again!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rjkruper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

I stay at Gaylord Properties all the time for work (DC,Florida,Nashville, TX). They are overprices traps that feed on the fact that most people do not have a choice to be there. The rooms are overprice, but the food and Drink prices are scandalous. Nashville Fish and Chips $21 and Burger $18. This is crazy! Management is taking advantage of trapped customers. When I see that Gaylord is on my travel plans I do not look forward to the event.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RincenaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

I have stayed here twice, both times for conventions. This is a great venue for that. I liked the fact that this place is so big that you don't run into someone you have to talk to just because you step outside your door into the lobby. It's big enough to get lost in. Lovely grounds. Restaurants great with wonderful service but are pricey. Nothing to do in the local area without a car. Very good workout room that was too small for the size of the hotel but that's not a show stopper. I didn't bring kids here and I wouldn't bring little ones because there isn't much for them to do. A fascinating, gorgeous place to stay for a convention or conference but not for family time.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy33208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Attended a conference at the Gaylord, it is a fabulous 'stay cation'! There is so much to see and do inside you hardly notice you've not left the building for several days. Tennessee can be very hot, but not inside the Gaylord. The gardens, river boat ride, walking paths, and little shops are all fun! Don't forget there are 3 pools to enjoy. Even if you aren't staying there you MUST visit and enjoy the inside gardens. They are worth the visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cndirector1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

I have never been to the Gaylord Opryland Hotel in Nashville, TN, but it is one place I recommend you to visit. It is absolutely unbelievable!!! We stayed there from July 27-31. I can write for days on the splendor of this resort, but you must go there and see it first hand! Waterfalls, aqua fountain show(s), a gondola ride (with history) through the river running through the hotel. A little pricey, but well worth it. It is a must see resort. Also, take the General Jackson riverboat dinner and show cruise!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawgFan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

Hotel is beautiful. Hostess and host-older gentleman-were lovely at the cascades restaurant. Had lunch and dinner there. Food is very good. Rooms are clean-as well as the hotel. Problem? Scheduled blackouts!! Yes...pay a few hundred to go away to a resort that has blackouts? Listen-I get going green and such but scale down in other ways. The resort is massive and I want to love it but not with scheduled blackouts. Also much confusion with our bill-make sure you check it. We had a tough time with some of the front desk staff getting answers.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mbreviews11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Mbreviews11,

Thank you for posting your feedback on your recent stay to Gaylord Opryland! While we do have many GET Green initiatives in place, schedules blackouts are not one of them. We do apologize for any inconvenience that the power outage and confusion with your bill may have caused. If you have any other concerns you would like to address with us, please feel free to contact us at VoiceoftheCustomer@gaylordhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#7 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Music City Hotel
#49 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#35 Business Hotel in Nashville
#37 Family Hotel in Nashville
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2882
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's iconic Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover 2,882 guest rooms and 700,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing