We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flood return, one year later for Welcome Back Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #52 of 159 Hotels in Nashville
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We were guests (Wedding Anniversary) last year when the historic flood hit the Opryland Hotel and were there for the evacuation. The Opryland Hotel invited all the flood evacuees back for what was called the 'Welcome Back Weekend'. We were guests of the hotel for two nights and the entire experience could not have been any better! The rooms were extremely nice and all the staff could not have been any more helpful or any more friendly. We were very well cared for from arrival until departure, and of course the entire hotel was as beautiful and as relaxing as always.

Room Tip: Balcony room over one of the beautiful atriums
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2011

Ray034,

We were so happy to host you! Welcome Back Weekend was a very special time for us to show our appreciation for the patience, cooperation, and understanding of our guests during the evacuation last year. We hope to have the opportunity to continue providing memorable (in a positive way!) experiences to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,753 - 8,759 of 9,799 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2011

Would not have chosen this hotel without the Romance package which included Champagne/Strawberries, Self parking fee, Resort fee, Atrium room, Coupon book, and two breakfast meals.

It was a nice location to celebrate our 35th Anniversary.

I highly recommend Ravello and Solario the two new restaurants.

This location will also be better once Opry Mills reopens in 2012.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HurricaneGal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Our family stayed at the Gaylord over Easter and we all felt we had done something heinous and had been sent to Hell! The place is huge and convoluted. You walk and walk and walk and walk just to get to your room. It took us 30 minutes to walk to the pool...just to find out that they hadn't opened it yet for the season (no notice, no signs, nothing). Then we walked another 30 minutes to get to the second pool, by then I needed a drink. There we were told that we couldn't even buy a drink or snack because the computer was down. The place was packed with a Christian youth leadership conference, overbooked in fact. They couldn't give us the rooms we were promised even though I kept checking with them up to the last minute. They didn't have any more roll away beds, and you couldn't even walk down the halls without bumping into a kid or teenager who wasn't looking where they were going. (There were teens sneaking off to smooch in the ice machine rooms too) And the hotel staff just smiled and shrugged their shoulders... The hotel smells like canned green beans. Yuck! Total nightmare!!! I was told they would comp a room because it wasn't what they had confirmed, and then they charged me for it and I spent an hour arguing about it. The hotel is a bad design, bad layout, bad service. The only bright spot was the expensive but very delicious Italian restaurant where we had excellent service and excellent food! Oh yeah, the parking was really expensive and not at all convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank notthatpicky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

We are world wide travellers and this hotel is the most beautiful we have ever been to. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. It is worth a visit!

Room Tip: Talk to the staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLeon40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Probably the most beautiful resort in the country. Beautiful rooms with fabulous view. Food overpriced. No blankets on bed. Initially assigned my party to a single room--I had connecting rooms reserved. Waited an hour and a half for appropriate rooms to become available. Got settled in and suddently another guest walked in who had been given a key and assigned to the same room. Fortunately we were in the room. Be prepared to walk for miles or have assistance available. Even with problems, we will definitely return. This was my 3rd stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBOOPSavannah_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Wow! I've stayed at great hotels in more than 25 states and throughout the Caribbean, and this is tops. Superb, spotless, facilities set in a grand design that makes guests feel invited and comfortable. Room size, design, acoustics (never heard my neighbors), bed quality and bath excellent--from a great sleep to lots of towels to shower curtains that work. Great range of restaurants. Room service shared the best breakfast I've eaten in years. Convention and meeting team and facilities magnificent. And, most important, great people. Every staff member I met was sincerely friendly, positive, knowledgeable, attentive, and helpful. I wanted to share a great speech--their helpfulness and encouragement made it even better.

Room Tip: Be nice. That's the key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredtraveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Oh i am so happy we stayed here! We stayed downtown another night but this place is the best place to stay in Nashville. If you dont stay here, then the Marriott Vanderbilt looked really nice too i must say.

My first room that i was given at The Gaylord Opryland was overlooking a dumpster. I nicely complained and was given room overlooking the beautiful atrium. If i ever get a chance to go back i will definitely want an atrium room.

The hot tub outside next to the pool was great.

I had a very good dinner at Solario, the mexican restaurant. I had the chicken tacos and the empanadas. The sangria was just ok not great. there were only 3 little pieces of fruit. i am used to a lot of fruit in my sangria.

Cascades restaurant for breakfast was good food but too expensive for what you get. The second day we drove to Marche for breakfast and it was fabulous.

The Opry Mills mall is still closed for flood renovations unfortunately. We did go the the Opry and enjoyed it even though it was mostly senior citizens who were performing. Only 1 young person performed. Lee Brice. He was very good.

Overall this really is a beautiful hotel. The rooms are nicely decorated.

Went to the Wildhorse Saloon downtown and got in free with the hotel room key. It was pretty good music. Also another good downtown music spot is the Stage. the Stage has good music and very casual bar but not a total dive like some of the other.

The staff at the hotel were very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: get an atrium room.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank NewYorkBebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#12 of 159 in Nashville
2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omni Nashville Hotel
#7 of 159 in Nashville
6,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#29 Family Hotel in Nashville
#35 Business Hotel in Nashville
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range: $231 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2888
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our Nashville hotel's climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover 2,888 guest rooms and 700,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. Near our hotel, take in some of the top attractions in the country like the Grand Ole Opry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing