We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Night”
Review of John A's

John A's
Ranked #135 of 2,044 Restaurants in Nashville
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A Great Night”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went here on Tuesday 19th March. We were surprised at how small this place looked in view of the good reviews on Tripadvisor. However we were welcomed in by the singer and waiting staff. The food was good value and quality (We shared a full rack of ribs) and attentively served. The singer Dan Schafer was clearly an accomplished performer and made all feel welcome. I was concerned that the "Cowboy Bar" look from the outside would mean an unsuitable for family entertainment well not so. This is a friendly, good value, and happy establishment where you could take anyone. No wonder it's so popular.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank spock_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    181
    111
    29
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Anthony, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Live music, Sports Bar, Great southern food.”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We walked there from our hotel. The place was obviously a favorite of locals, casual with several TVs and a stage with live music. The menu is southern comfort food. We chose the catfish sandwich and it was the best both my wife and I have ever had. The hotel we stayed ar said we HAD to go there, and they were right.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb Food and Free Authentic Country and Western Music”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our second visit in 2 years to this unassuming "house-like" building where John A's is situated. This is a friendly place with prompt service, a huge oval shaped bar, a bandstand, two tiered seating area, complete menu of local favorite foods. In addition our waiter was a genuine comedian. Only a stone's throw from the Grand Old Opry, we stopped in after the show. Live music is offered every night, no cover, no minimum. Our food was properly cooked, and served promply. I will go back again on our next trip to Music City, and the site of the OVC BB tourney.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ewelldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst service I've ever had..and probably ever will!!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Do NOT go to John A's!!! Literally the worst service I've ever had in my life! My husband and I go every year to Nashville to go to the Opry. Our hotel recommended to eat at John A's. This year we went with a group of friends and thought that it would be best if we made reservations in advance. We allowed ourselves 2 hours to eat and get to the show. First we walked in to a very empty restaurant and were seated right away....we waited to have our drink order taken by a very rude waitress, for literally 20 minutes. We didn't even get our drinks until about 20 minutes from that!!! Then our waitress ran off before we could get our food ordered. People then started to come in and fill up the place. We literally waited another 30 minutes before our food order was taken, at the promise from the waitress that our food would be out in time for the show. After another 30 minutes we finally got her attention to ask about our food and she said she hadn't had time to put in our order!!!! We ask for the check for our drinks, that we never had refills for and left! We all were starving and ended up having to eat popcorn at the show!!! Do yourself a favor and DO NOT EAT HERE!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dzebelman@gmail.com
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A slice of Nashville”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We wanted to eat some good local food and hear some music. This place provided it all at a good price and with a smile. A nice immersion in the local scene.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John A's also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to John A's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing